:( :pQuote:
Originally Posted by Colm
Printable View
:( :pQuote:
"a couple of heavy challenges" hardly encompasses the number of vicious tackles and the cheating from UCD.Quote:
Originally Posted by pineapple stu
No, City lost a game and a three in a row in large measure because of the ref, you admitting he couldn't do his job is hardly going to make that better.Quote:
There was one point in the second half, a UCD player played the ball forward from the half way line, a City player had put his leg in front of the ball to block it. The UCD player went down like a ton of bricks, though ABSOLUTELY NO CONTACT was made at all.That happened only a few feet from us.Quote:
The "push" in the back, which happened directly in front of us, we were maybe 3 to 4 feet away, was the greatest piece of play-acting since
Rivaldo against Turkey in the world cup. As he was lying in "agony" on the ground, he sneaked a look around with one eye to see waht was going on. Yet you would swear the guy was paralysed.....:rolleyes:
Guthrie was elbowed in the face....nothing happened.
Long got a hand across the face which drew blood from him. Not content with that, the same player then went over and absolutely hacked into Long, badly injuring him, when he was trying to get the ball away....yellow card
I couldn't count the number of niggly little kicks and digs from your defenders, the same guys who all through the first half, were literally throwing themselves down on the pitch at every opportunity.
We had Lally sent off for celebrating the equaliser on the touchline just after he was subbed.....:rolleyes:
The first penalty, as evryone admitted, was justified. Lopez made a late and reckless, (and the worst thing, needless) challenge and we were rightly penalised for that.Quote:
The second penalty was a disgraceful descision. McNulty tried to get the ball, then jumped up in front of the guy to put him off, only for the ball hitting Nults and coming back to him, your player had lost the ball. However, like so many times before,the UCD player went down as if he had been hit with an axe......:rolleyes:
I'm not worried at all, it's you who mentioned "unintelligible diatribe".Quote:
I am quite confident in my own intellectual capacity, the witterings of some student are merely a way to pass the time on a particularly quite day here at work.
Then why did you make such a big deal about me commenting on the ref then? ("YOU still haven't acknowledged, indeed even mentioned...the incredibly bad performance of the ref.")Quote:
Originally Posted by patsh
Let me get this straight. The UCD player was running with the ball, the Cork player blocked the ball with his foot and the UCD player went flying? Could this be because the Cork player TACKLED the UCD player?!?! If the Cork lad blocks the ball and the UCD player tries to kick it, his momentum is going to send him flying! That's neither a foul nor a dive - it's a good tackle!!Quote:
I've ignored your other points - some of which I have even agreed with, though you still see fit to keep bringing them up - on the grounds that you have so many inconsistencies with the game, and even other Cork fans' views of the game, that your anaylsis really isn't worth considering. However, you still haven't even contemplated any of the incidents of Cork players' aggressiveness which I have mentioned, and yet you say that I'm the one not acknowledging things!
Completely ignoring my point. Gannon was sent through the air in the same way as the lad in the incident above. Yet you call one a foul and the other a dive! Make up your mind!Quote:
Now, in all the complaints about the second penalty, nobody has suggested that Sammon dived. The argument is over whether it was accidental or not. If you look at the replay, you will see that - a) The ball did not come off McNulty, it went under him, so you even saw that bit wrong, and b) There most definitely was contact. Maybe it was deliberate, maybe not, but not even the Cork fans are claiming that was a dive.Quote:
I wasn't talking to you, I was talking to Colm! And I'm way past the student stage by now - I've advanced as far as the stage when I know when a post is being addressed to me or not!Quote:
Can you please point out exactly when and how any of the CIty players were aggressive?Quote:
The UCD players were cheating thugs and I think that maybe our lads were intimadated by this.
I hate to say it but maybe we should have adopted the same style of play, as least if we'd broken one of the UCD cheats legs it might have given the City fans something to cheer about. However if we did I don't think the ref would have let us get away with as much as ye did.
There is no doubt in my mind that we were absolutely robbed by the ref, linesman and the behaviour of the UCD players.
Colm, I've posted them in previous posts - I'm not about to hand-walk you through them again. Don't be lazy! :p
The incident with the UCD full back in the second half being 'fouled' by Behan WAS, from where I was standing, acting by the full back. Behan did run across and put his leg out to try block the clearance but from the angle at which I was looking there was no contact made with the kicking foot of the defender yet he went down very heavily.
As for the ins and outs as to who were the dirtiest team I don't think either set of fans is going to back down so I'm not gonna add to the argument only to say that I was disappointed that City did not impose themselves on the game as IMO they were clearly the better side.
From the very start they were just plodding about the pitch as if it was only a matter of turning up to collect the trophy. They were very lacklustre around certain parts of the pitch. Our right full and skipper (don't know his name) has to be one of the slowest defenders I've ever seen in my life!!! Murray and Lopes in the middle of the pitch did not work well together, Lopes did not get stuck in and as for Murray........well ye all know my thoughts on him!!!! I thought Jamie Nolan was poor too and did not really look up for it on the day. Behan and Long up front for us would have won it on their own and UCD knew this and their number 11 cynically took Long out of it and should have been sent off.
In the end I thought it was apoor game which was only made exciting by the shocking performance of the Ref!! :mad:
THE STAR TUESDAY NOVEMBER 23 2004..... TARGET SUPPLEMENT
" TEN MAN CORK SUNK BY SAMMON " UCD Supersub grabs late winner ; UCD3 CORK CITY 2 Rob Cullen Reports
An injury time winner by supersub Conor Sammon handed UCD the Dr. Tony O'Neill Eircom League Under 21 Trophy out in Belfield on Sunday. Making an instant impact after his introduction , Sammon was fouled for the second penalty by Cork keeper Mark McNulty, resulting in the City number one seeing red, and also scored the third goal in the 93rd minute.
It was nothing less than a full-blooded contest with wild tackles from both sides; a typical Dubs versus Rebels encounter.
City opened the scoring on the 23rd minute. Denis Behan played a perfect through ball to Shane Long and the 17 year-old showed great skill to turn the defender and bury the ball past the keeper.
The Rebel's lead lasted only four minutes, however. Brian Gannon broke down the wing skipping inside the defence creating all sorts of problems for Cork. City's midfielder Ossy Lopes ran back to cover but just slid in and took the legs off Gannon, giving the referee no choice but to point to the spot. The Students' captain held his nerve to equalise.
Then just before the break things started to get heated. First of all a bad tackle on Gannon was ignored by the ref, and then seconds later UCD's Stephen Hurley dived in on long resultoing in a free-for-all brawl involving most of the players and management teams. The referee was losing control of the game and the best thing he could have done was blow for half time. Hurley's challenge was wreckless and he was lucky to be given only a yellow card.
The unlucky party was definitely Shane Long who was sent for an x-ray with the worry of a possible broken leg.
Twenty five minutes into the fractious second half College were in front again. Conor Sammon was taken down by City's McNulty who was duly sent off. Gannon stepped up to put away his second penalty placing it past the replacement keeper, winger Stephen O'Flynn.
Ten Men City had a lot of the possession but found it hard to break down the back four.
They got their break ten minutes from the end. A well deserved equaliser came from a deflected free by Behan slipping inside the near post.
At that stage Cork looked like they could go on and win it, but Conor Sammon had other ideas. With seconds remaining, Derek Doyle sprinted down the wing before pulling the ball back to an unmarked Sammon. The sub hit it past the helpless O'Flynn and the title went to the College.
UCD's gaffer Dave Mackey said:" All these lads are on scholarships and their chance to make it big will come. You'll hear a lot more about players like Paul Byrne and Brian Gannon," he added.
"We're really disappointed, we played all the football but just gave away three sloppy goals," said City manager Stuart Ashton in disbelief.
"We were the only team that looked like winning but I have to say the referee was a joke, totally shocking, too one-sided. You never guess he was from Dublin."
UCD:- Neil Gallagher; Brian Gannon, Aaron McEneff, Brian Shorthall, Liam Tiernan, Kieran Harte, Derek Doyle, Stephen Hurley, Darren O'Brien, Paul Byrne, John Brophy,Conor Sammon, Seamus Long, Ryan Coyle, Sean Geoghegan, Stephen Cashin, Tadgh Purcell
CORK CITY: Mark McNulty; Richie Aherne, Ken Kiely, Shane Guthrie, Ray Lally, Aidan Murray, Kevin Murray, Oswald Lopes, Jamie Nolan, Denis Behan, Shane Long, David Freyne,
Stephen O'Flynn, Sean O'Sullivan, Colin O'Shea, David O'Sullivan, Admir Softic
That is about as objective as you are going to get on the subject.
This is a fair and balanced accout of what happened. Hopefully this will stop the disparate versions of what happened because these were the words of the reporter present. Not a UCD view or a City view, a Star view .
You left out the quote from Sammon when he said "maybe a red card was harsh" bout nults being sent off..prob was a peno but no way a straight red
not making excuses for City cos quite frankly they were shocking in the first ahlf but UCD were worse. I have never in my life seen such a performance..they should be nominated for an oscar!!!!they were nothing short of a disgrace. Sticking fingers up at the City supporters!scuts is all they were.supporters were nearly as bad..threatening women with umbrellas..very manly..UCD knew they wouldnt win by fair play so they had to play dirty but like i said city didnt perform until nults was sent off.Stevie Flynn is a LEGEND!fair dues to him for stepping into the goal, although Behan had his jersey half off to go in.Hopefully Shane Long's injury isn't too bad and Ken Kiely's ankle was very swollen also..So they lost the league this year..they are still the best in the country!as meatloaf said two out of three ain't bad
[QUOTE=Citygirl]You left out the quote from Sammon when he said "maybe a red card was harsh" bout nults being sent off..prob was a peno but no way a straight red
[QUOTE]
For the record citygirl I did not leave anything out of the match report proper.
I did not type up the piece on the front of Target under our team photograph, cause it would have taken too long,and it was in that section that the quote was.
And I am very surprised at the assertion that one of our fans attempted to attack one of ye're supporters with a brolly. There must have been more people at the game than I thought cause I missed that bit completely.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
you're right..i apologise..was just a bit hyped up when i was typing it out..sory.
well i can honestly say that this was true because he raised to me then at a group of supporters..it happened as your supporters were walking over to watch the cup being given to your lotQuote:
Well Citygirl, while not disputing your account, I can assure you of one thing that is not a typical response from a UCD supporter to a visiting supporter.Quote:
Originally Posted by Citygirl
Most visiting supporters never have bad experiences of that nature and I am sorry this occurred. I hope if you do decide to return to our home ground that it will be a better experience.
P.S. I had been half hoping to meet a few of you postees but with the way the game went I was not sure what sort of reception I would have got.
Well Colm all I can say to that is what Brendan Behan said to the Begrudgers....Quote:
Keep those blinkers on......:rolleyes:Quote:
It's amazing that these days anytime you disagree with a Dub on foot.ie you automatically become a begrudger! :rolleyes:Quote:
Well considering the confrontation we had with one or two other UCD fans, you probably wouldn't have got a very good reception at all!!!!Quote: