He's quite the comedian actually. Some entertaining stuff on his twitter machine, as far as these things go.
Printable View
He's quite the comedian actually. Some entertaining stuff on his twitter machine, as far as these things go.
Link here. And to Part 2, at the top of Part 1!
http://www.theguardian.com/football/...-fans-part-one
I think it is fair to say that Ryan McLaughlin of Liverpool wants to play for us and that him removing himself from consideration for the North is his first step in doing this. Michael O'Neill has been a bit lousy in how he mentioned us though. The North have picked up a few players from us, so it works both ways.
Having said that, I do have sympathy for the North, even though I think that it is imperative that Nationalist youngsters (Catholic or Protestant) have the right to play for the Republic.
Really thought that Owen Garvan was going to be something really special. I was living in Norwich when he broke into the Ipswich team at about 17, and the Ipswich lads I was working with were raving about him. If I remember, Ipswich were a decent Championship team too...ah well!!
Agreed about the "boy wonder" bit. Football is a tough industry and I truly believe that sometimes the less heralded players (whether it be an Andrews, Whelan, Kevin Philips, Rickie Lambert) learn the skills to make themselves very good pros without the horrible weight of expectation that guys like Noe Baba, Grealish or Alex o'Hanlon (could be great young pros but using them as examples of our current boy wonders) have on their shoulders, while the "boy wonder" gets caught up with agents and all the more negative things in the game.
Indeed, it is petty and mopish of O'Neill to mention possible FAI "targetting" of McLaughlin, but the lad stated in no uncertain terms to O'Neill that he had no intention whatsoever of switching to the FAI, so I'm not sure why you think it's fair to assume he wants to play for us: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23655967
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBC
Hmm, why the sympathy then exactly? They could take responsibility for their own affairs perfectly well if only they'd take the initiative instead of continually whining about being victims of unfair loopholes, sectarian agenda and other such nonsense.Quote:
Having said that, I do have sympathy for the North, even though I think that it is imperative that Nationalist youngsters (Catholic or Protestant) have the right to play for the Republic.
I'm going on the fact that he is clearly a big fan of the Republic, if you judge his twitter. International football improves players, whether you are playing for Germany, the Republic of Ireland or the North. He is not yet a top player, right now he is only one of the best young players at Liverpool. If I was his agent and I'm guessing an extremely talented lad like Ryan has one, I would be encouraging him to play international football. He is a young lad of 18 or 19 and it is only my opinion (might be wrong) that he has been involved with the North for many years and finds the whole process of moving to play for us difficult, especially if he has developed friendships with other players/coaches. He is not an average young player and there have been people talking about him since he is 15. I know from being a father to young lads of a similar age that the truth is often told in a very roundabout manner, so I wouldn't read too much into what O'Neill is saying about him not being interested in playing for us.
I'm inclined to agree. Isn't this the lad who all but kept a running Twitter commentary on Ireland's 'performances' during Euro 2012? I also suspect his insistance to Michael O'Neill that his decision isn't an 'eligibility issue' is an effort to avoid becoming the subject of a contentious headline and to leave certain bridges undamaged by fire, should they need to be crossed again at some point in the future.
All circumstantial speculation on my behalf of course. It could be that he just doesn't appreciate the way the current NI kit accentuates his elbows. Players have retired for less.
If he is thinking of playing for us he's probably trying to avoid the rubbish that McCarthy had to deal with until he was properly capped and tied down. At this stage of his career he's right not to make a public declaration until it's likely he'll be named in the senior squad and capped within a short period.
Perhaps yous are right. I suppose I'm basing my judgment on O'Neill's possibly over-enthusiastic or hopeful interpretation of what McLaughlin told him. We don't know how McLaughlin phrased his reasoning exactly. I could envisage NI fans being pretty livid tough if he does eventually switch after what O'Neill has claimed. O'Neill going public like that can only add pressure for McLaughlin to stick with the IFA.