ok 1 more
suprides onone mentioned this
Athlone cup semi
Hatigan....bang goal..flares going off happy days.magic, 50,000 city fans at least at the game
Printable View
ok 1 more
suprides onone mentioned this
Athlone cup semi
Hatigan....bang goal..flares going off happy days.magic, 50,000 city fans at least at the game
You've got to admire James style!Wearing his moderator hat, he
says that wouldn't work because someone was bound to say
"what about that one..?". Joe starts the poll and the first person
to say "what about that one..." is James himself. The man's got class. :)
merely demonstrating my point Mr yell
don't worry, you get used to him :D
Only just noticed it now (no one ever said i was observant anyway) but big difference between best & favourite goal.
:(
all this and not a mention of Damian O'Connell........ a scandal :D
which only reiterates my lack of enthusiasm for this poll, you will always have pedantic muppets (technical term) like pete who nit pick the wording of such a poll :DQuote:
Originally posted by pete
Only just noticed it now (no one ever said i was observant anyway) but big difference between best & favourite goal.
:(
Having said that James, the exit polls so far are quite definitive
with our very own Davie Boy way out in front. By the way, any anorak know how many goals Gunther scored for city? Maybe I should enter "Gunther" and "goals" into Google and see what pops up.
then add "own" and see what you get :D
Poor old Liam, he just can't win! Now his playing career is being posthumously desecrated...have ye no shame, lads? :)Quote:
Originally posted by joe
then add "own" and see what you get :D
Gerry
who said anything about his playing career :DQuote:
Originally posted by Gerry Desmond
Poor old Liam, he just can't win! Now his playing career is being posthumously desecrated...have ye no shame, lads? :)
Gerry
Go see your shrink, Joe, your head's warping... :DQuote:
Originally posted by joe
who said anything about his playing career
Gerry
it's got to be hartigols one against rovers! Great move, good finish, and I'll never forget the shed going ballisitic! Morley's against pats in the tv game was up there too- i nearly ended up on the pitch- happy days!
Wow, it's certainly a lot closer than I thought! Still Dave has his
nose in front.
yea go Billy Woods, that goal was awesome man..like totally awesome....
you guys have a nice day now :D
Think that Mellon goal you're talking about was V Shels at Tolka. An absolute screamer and the match finished 3-all or something like that.
What about Johnny Glynn's winner V Cwmbran Town in the last ten minutes to steal the tie and send us through to the next round.
Kieran Nagle's first time volley from the edge of the area in front of the shed in the early 90s was also unreal.
For the older among us, could you beat the athmosphere the day Ian Hennesey scored in the quarter final of the cup against Derry (Owen De Gama et al) in 1986 (?) to send City through on a one-nil win.
Speaking of Cup Quarter Finals of hte FAI Cup what about Cormac Cotters clincher Vs Limerick in a 2-0 win at the Cross on the way to the final in 92, He ran clean through with the whole ground willing him to score and then rolled the ball into the corner. He then came over to the Shed to celebrate with his ould pal Moses.
Thats possible my earliest memory of a city goal...! In those days getting 2 goals at the cross was a luxury as we seemed to be masters of the 1-0. Nagles goal from the stand site of the penalty area stood out from the usual dour goals in Noel O'Mahonys days.Quote:
Originally posted by Mutteo
Kieran Nagle's first time volley from the edge of the area in front of the shed in the early 90s was also unreal.
Masters of the 1-0....from what i can remember we were in the relegation dogfight every year!!! we were ****
1990 after leading league all season lost league to McNulty :( goal in last game of the season in front of fullhouse!Quote:
Originally posted by Pablo
Masters of the 1-0....from what i can remember we were in the relegation dogfight every year!!! we were ****
Can't remember why I started going to the cross but that was the first season although may have been due to Cup final appearances in previous year...............