Oh sorry, your right my mistake... that _was_ a big group of longford stewards huddled together in the corner of the ground showering coins onto Seanie Dillon any time he went to take a throw in down in that corner.
Well spotted :eek: :eek:
Printable View
Oh sorry, your right my mistake... that _was_ a big group of longford stewards huddled together in the corner of the ground showering coins onto Seanie Dillon any time he went to take a throw in down in that corner.
Well spotted :eek: :eek:
"sweeping general statements with no basis in fact"
"the disgracful violence/coin throwing/general hooliganism that took place the last rovers match"
Can you see the point I'm trying to make? Is it sinking in? Will I keep repeating it for you? Are you bored yet? Have I asked enough questions? Am I wasting my time?
I have just read some of the posts regarding the security from the rovers game and I have never heard such a load of crap in all my life! :mad: People are talking about this issue as if they know something about it. Max Power blabbing on about 'professional training' should i enlighten you to the fact that we are not talking about the bloodly well special forces! better still we'll ring up the sas to ask for some 'training' tips max.I agree with Macy, there are a number of crazy over zealious stewards at Flancare,dragging down the name of the club.Next time you see something out of line report it, there is no point getting it off your chest on foot.ie Irrespective of this, I do not see the 'cribbers' on this forum willing to lend a diplomatic hand as a steward which they have been referring to anyway! :D This brings me onto my second point regarding the situation. I believe that much of the blame can be apportioned to the Rovers fans and the stewards but most of all to a number of Longford Town 'supporters'. (I normally go into the ground area for the games) One of the last times Rovers came down to Flancare I witnessed first-hand the root of this problem. One Town 'fan' who shall remain unnamed decided that the friendly banter between the two sets of supporters was too friendly. This meglomaniac idiot rose to their feet and proclaimed to the rovers contingent that they were a pack of drugdealing dublin scum and that they should go back home. Obviously this created some hassle and is not an isolated incident. Rovers do NOT have trouble-makers, they have a number of fans who persist in involving themselves in trouble often having been provoked in the first place.
With regard to the people in charge at Flancare, it is senseless having Longford fans passing in front of the rovers fans, as in the many hundreds that pass by the goal nearest the road, there is bound to be one snipe to come of the woodwork; will forget to keep their mouths under control; thereby creating hassle; thereby adopting a "protect-me im an innocent fan" watching a game caught up in hassle with these hooligans from rovers approach. As a result the real innocent town fans get dragged into a preventable mess, with the rest of the ground onlooking at the supposed hooligans in action when in fact, they have more often than not bee provoked.
For all those doubters of what I have just said, count the no. of references, on saturday,u hear that shall refer to the rovers fans as troublemakers etc. Just stop and think that it only takes one fool to provoke these people who are already on edge due to their reputation.Then you have a fight.
here's the story for security on saturday nite. it's been siad that there may be up to thirty guards on duty at the game and also talk of a dog unit (beware) along with longford stewards and possibly some rovers stewards. most stewards have had training so don't be worryin about them and it was not them that caused the trouble at the last rovers game.. as for segregation, if the club could afford it, it would be done. they just haven't the funding at the moment, but it'll be done fairly soon.
i heard that the fai are footing the bill for a security company and the GARDAI will be there with the dogs.....ah the end of the day seems like a drastic measure. if people just keeps calm and dont treat rovers fans like they're all criminals, everything will be grand..........
flea, all people dealing with large crowds should have crowd control training, if only from an insurance point of view. Most of the stewards are ordinary working people who don't deal with situtiuons such as the rovers game, when it occur they haven't a clue what to do.Quote:
Originally Posted by Flea
i reported 25 mins into the rovers game to a steward ( i have his number if u wish to know) that there were peoblems with the rovers fans which could be seen clearly by all, he don't me " to mind my own ****in business and sit down ".....classy act there for a start.
over zealious stewards, yes, if they were trained with how to deal with games like the rovers one, that wouldn't happen. i'll give you the numbers for the company who hold the contract for FAI games in Landsdown ( general security ) and the number of the personal team security if you wish to talk about crowd control etc.
no trouble makers in Rovers, well then the people in rovers jersies setting fire to a car outside my apartment in inchicore must have been a mirage then :rolleyes:
we all agree a simple sitution is to "house away fans on the oppisite side of the ground, but only with the correct facilities inplace for them.
The latest I've heard, as of tonight is that the Rovers fans are going to be located in Sections I, J and K, i.e. either side of the gate at the far side. There will be toilet facilities, shop facilities and a chipper van all provided on that side for them. Also, the FAI stewards are being detailed to that area to take responsibility for the Rovers fans. Ideally, none of our stewards will be near the Rovers fans. The one thing that the club want to make clear is that they are asking all the Rovers fans to stay in their allocated sections and not try and go behind the far goals, much as ye might want to. Dont shoot the messenger on this one thats just what they have decided.
Our fans will be allowed as far as I know on that side but will probably have to go the long way around, i.e round by the stand, to the toilets and shop. There will be no dog unit on duty. Nobody wants or expects trouble but can the Rovers fans that dont want it either please pass along that you are being asked to stay in your allocated sections, anyone who tries to move on down risks being ejected. All the facilities and stewarding from the "trained pros" of the FAI are being provided for you so can we all just concentrate on the game
Great, so attack the poster not the post. Sign of a great debater :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by Cop on
At least we get to the bottom as to why the stewards can do no wrong.
Off the top of my head, clubs fans that have complained about the stewarding in Flancare - Bohs, Galway, Pats, Rovers, Dundalk, Drogheda, Derry. It's been an on going issue, which the club have recognised and it has been largely sorted out. However, mistakes were made against Rovers the last time - which the club admits, but you can't.
Last match of the season before last Rovers beat Longford 3 -2 to qualify for the Inter Toto. When the final whistle went Rovers fans invaded the pitch and one of them charged straight at a Longford player and tried to kick him. This was after winning, what would this guy do if they lost? Of course we acknowledge Rovers incredible and proud history and the fact that it is only a small element of supporters who are causing the trouble. However, it is up to you genuine Rovers fans to put the pressure on the committee to weed out this element. When this happens you will be welcomed with open arms by all clubs, as the additional gate money is badly wanted.
By the way any club who had Seanie Francis can't be all bad. :)
I have to agree with Macy ive been following LOI for along time now and while I have no time for what a certain element of the Rovers fans did in Longford and in other grounds I have to admit that other clubs do complain about our stewards in Flansiro, I also have to say I rarely have found them overly helpful even to home fans, ask them something and I get the impression you are ****ing them off and disturbing them. I went inot Main stand for first time in quite a while for the Uefa match and the seating was all overthe place people seemed to sit where they like because no one could find their proper seats and the stewards wre unable to sort it. I know its not an easy job but other clubs supporters have made the point and I have to agree that sometimes our stewards foget they are there to SERVE the paying public not to act like they are in charge of everyone. :(
Well done Max, I completely agree with you on these issues! You have picked up a dictionary and found out what the words "Free" or "Voluntary" mean - I know some stewards and yes, you've got it, they are ordinary people without training, if they were being paid they would require training as it would be their job. Stop and think for a minute. If you volunteered to 'steward' at the games (not being paid, of course) and somebody came up to you picking a fight,would you react in the same manner as you would if you were being paid to do a job :confused: . Obviously not! :rolleyes: For a start they would be more helpful and courteous to all fans if money was involved. I will gladly take the numbers from you for the security at the fai games and give it to somebody out at Flancare. But it will be a waste of time, the resources are already limited enough without dragging money into it regarding paying at least 20 stewards a game!Quote:
Originally Posted by max power
Secondly, however, I do actually agree with you on this one Max, yes the fans do need to be housed on the opposite side of the ground and if what lonfordian says is true, it will be a good improvement on the last time!
Lastly, yeah lads thats right, all these clubs complained to the town- including the Galway fans. What was up with the Galway fans, were the seats behind the goal not up to their standards. They must have complained about the seats being too weak after a small group of their fans kicked in 7 seats.
The rovers fans will be in sections J, K and L. they will have their own shop and toilets and will have stewards that the FAI are sending down, there will also be Guards down from dublin. Longford fans will not be allowed the far side of the pitch. The stand and goal end will be open to town fans.
if that is true then where do the section o head lads propose to go? what do the section o boyz think?
well i'd rather have yee in full voice for the cup final, but its a pity.....Section O should be left as be.....
its probably for safety reasons. the thing that sparked off the "mini riot" the last time was one loud mouthed longford fan who hadn't the cop on to walk away. another ugly scene like that isn't needed.........
So will the coin throwers be banned from Flancare this time? I take it they was no problem identifying them as there was Gardai beside them at the time..
Or mabye we should heap the blame onto Sean Dillon and completely exonerate the innocent rovers fans, who were rightly very aggrevated by the slickness of his throw ins :rolleyes:
The issue of whether to allow Longford fans on the far side hasnt been 100% decided yet AFAIK, its still up for debate within the club, but either way Rovers fans are going to be going in their own entrance with facilities for them and FAI stewards to look after them. The club is doing its best to avoid any conflict or provocation. Neither set of fans was blameless for the last time so ideally it will be all about each keeping to their own
Two points:
1. Last Saturday, we offended against all moral decency by changing ends not once, but twice - once at kick-off when we saw Pats were playing into the road end, the second at half time when we went back down to the corner where the scoreboard is. No-one said "boo" to us. Consistency?
2. As regards this whole lark of people going around by the stand to get to Section O or wherever...in Dolan's last season in charge of Pats, we played Longford, can't remember the result, ****e game, at full time we went to leave the far end by going around in front of the stand, and what happens? The peace-loving hippie Longford stewards try to batter us for the heinous crime of...going around by the stand. Only for Andy O'Callaghan diving in to calm things down, it would've turned very nasty.
As has already been said, many clubs' fans have complained about the Longford stewards in the last few years. They're probably generally regarded as being worse than Frontline and believe me, that takes some doing. No smoke without fire.
It doesnt make a lot of sense but I think there's just a certain amount of stubborness on behalf of some members of the club, Rovers fans reputation is perhaps unfairly preceding them, either way theres feck all can be done for Saturdays match now, the arrangements are in place. The club or at least some officials are aware that perhaps its stewards have contributed to some problems and have been doing their best to keep them in line, and in fairness there has been few enough incidents in the last couple of seasons. We're a bit hamstrung in that we rely on voluntary people to carry out stewarding which is not ideal..
I tried to make the point earlier (I think), that the stewarding has improved in Flancare over the last few seasons from the height of the problems. All the stewarding incidents that I have read about in the last few seasons have generally involved volunteer stewards - from our own problems, Harps/Derry in the play off, Cork and Drogs the other week in United Park. Ultimately the clubs must make sure there are proper training, but considering the "professional" security options aren't much better (judging on Frontline) I would agree the club are hamstrung to a certain extent.Quote:
Originally Posted by Longfordian