You haven't seen it in a while so... I won't bother talking about Jackman.
Printable View
. . . am I right in thinking nobody has said Shels, Monaghan or Wexford kiddies yet?
A lot of them were tidied up a bit with a lick of paint recently enough, but the majority of the ground is so exposed to the elements it needs a fair bit of maintenance which costs money that we don't really have. The people involved are doing their best to make small improvements as they go along.
There were plans drawn up in the good times to do a lot of work but that would require grant aid firstly and then you have the fact that it's not too easy to raise large amounts of matching funds. Some day maybe.
It has nothing really, you're right!
Anyway, all the seats have been cleaned up, and netting up behind the goals to protect the seats and fans behind the goals. We have new underage dressing rooms, and extra referee dressing rooms. And we have more building coming up, either during the summer break or when the league is finished, and there is work constantly going on underneath the stand.
One thing I will say that is that far end of the seating does not look good at all. But we have no replacement seats so we'll take what we get!
I like the fact that your knees aren't on top of the person in front. You have a nice bit of space. And that there is a good slope too, so you don't have to look into the back of a lads head. To say it is decaying and neglected is just plain wrong.
I agree it's probably next near impossible to keep up grounds like that. Tolka is in the same way and it's not really anyone's fault, fair play for Longford trying to keep the ground respectable.
I think what lim till i die was getting at was more that it's a metaphor for how the league is, everyone has the best intentions, things start out great but find it can be hard along the way to keep things going and sustain certain standards.
Drogheda for me spent a lot of summers up there going up to family I seen Alan shearer first ever goal for blackburn they had some cracking friendlys villa, spurs, etc etc I always hope they do well.
We seem to be a team a lot of people like, I hope we do you proud now and go on to win the league for ye all ;)
You sure that was Drogheda? Seriously i remember Shearer being one of the filthiest players i have ever seen pre-season. Im sure it wasnt in United Park?
Longford fans no need to be touchy I wasn't blaming anyone if the moneys not there its not there, I'm glad to hear ye've sorted under main stand.
I just thought tis a nice methaphor for the reasons jof mentioned
and I personaly find the place depressing with the beiruit car
Longford fans no need to be touchy I wasn't blaming anyone if the moneys not there its not there, I'm glad to hear ye've sorted under main stand.
I just thought tis a nice methaphor for the reasons jof mentioned
and I personaly find the place depressing with the beiruit car park, the wierd hut thing, the faded seats and the condemned end, it just kinda reeks of decay to me. But it's just a personal thing.
Actually never understood why ye didn't just rip out all the seats that aren't in the main stand and have lovely neat terracing!
All those seats was kinda overkill and day one and like Longfordian said it's more or less impossible for ye to maintain
and i dunno what in the name of jaysus happened with that post up there. :confused:
I liked to see Cobh doing well when they were about.
My new soft spot is Athlone because of their new CEO.
Cork and Derry would be my favourite teams. I lived in Cork for a year as I was in college there, so went to a few games in Turners Cross. They have good fans that are passionate about their club. Similarly with Derry, they have a good fan base who are passionate about the club. Anytime they come to Oriel, they show their team good support. I will like Sligo this year if they win the league over Rovers. But like Dundalk Sligo is a good football town.
I love going to Drogheda away. Usually we bring a good crowd down there and it's good craic.