Nedser - thank you for your insight. Crosby87 - in your replies to Nedser you come across like one of the teenagers you referred to in your earlier post. Sarcasm doesn't become you; it would be better to leave it alone.
:ball: PP
Printable View
Nedser - thank you for your insight. Crosby87 - in your replies to Nedser you come across like one of the teenagers you referred to in your earlier post. Sarcasm doesn't become you; it would be better to leave it alone.
:ball: PP
I was in the Belgian end for WC qualifier in Hampden park in 2001 with a couple of Belgian friends when Van Buyten scored an equaliser at the death .. which severely dented Scotland's hopes for qualifying for the 2002 World Cup. (There were a couple of Celtic fans in Belgian jerseys too - supporting that Belgian CB that used to play for them). Final whistle - the scots beside the Belgian end turned around and starting firing scarves at the Belgian fans and applauding them. I could not believe it. Best fans in the world on that evidence - can you imagine us doing the same?
Anyone that has ever lived in Britain will know that the most anti-irish people on the whole over there are the Scots. I think this nonsense of a special relationship must come from the younger generation that grew up during the celtic tiger and never had to emmigrate and work with Scots.
There were so many times when I was working on a building site and the craic would be great between the Irish and lads from the whole of England, Wales, the North (protestant lads) and the scots brought the atmosphere down with sectarianism. From my own experience, the most sectarian lads were scottish (catholic and protestant) as opposed to lads from the North from both sides of the religious divide who actually might have had a reason to be bitter. Many of these Scots came not from Glasgow but from Dundee, Aberdeen and small villages.
Obviously most Scottish people are decent, in the same way that most Iranians and Bolivians are but special relationship...you're having a laugh:D
The only people that I would say the Irish have a special relationship with in Britain is the Scousers. I was working there in 88 when Razor scored against England and the pub that I was in went so mental you might as well have been in Mullingar!90% of the scousers were cheering for us.
It's just a lot of hot air from the Scots, if McGready was at the world cup they would all be secretly cheering him and Ireland on, you know it, I know it
and all the Jocks on that site know it.
I think I will have to post this fact on that site and see if anyone has the guts to admit it :D
Of course we have a special relationship with Scotland... have none of ye ever seen Braveheart? :p
21st century- sources of history - films :cool:
Braveheart must be the most historically unaccurate film ever :p Except maybe the film where the Americans crack the enigma code!
Anyway, let's hope McGeady and McCarthy have an excellent 2012 campaign.
I think this fits in well with the context of this thread.........
although the anti irish thing is a minority, there is imo a mass hatred for anybody who has been brought up in scotland turning their backs on "their country". i dont think most people hate ireland for it but they certainly dont like mcgeady or mccarthy for it though.
Wasn't my experience at all on the sites 20 years back, a good portion of the local London lads had no time for 'Paddies, Sweaty socks or the blacks'. Whereas the non English stuck together. This was the height of the troubles mind but still. When I was travelling round Oz we tended to get on better and have more in common with the likes of the Scots (even Rangers fans) then we did with the English (I know that's a big generalisation, there were obviously exceptions). Have done a couple of music festivals round Europe and still find the same, there's a far more boorish attitude with the English in general in my experience.
Crosby, your attempts at wit, cynicism, whatever are pathetic. Explain the point of it from your end please because all it serves to do is show you up as an intolerable muppet. Now i haven't been a prolific poster on this forum so maybe i'm not qualified make a judgement. But in my humble opinion, from my reading of your posts I struggle to identify any commentary of worth at all. You appear ill-informed on most topics and your arguments (if you could call them that) have very little depth/scope etc. Stop feigning the clever cynic persona as it really doesn't work for you. My advice, don't give up your 'pretty great' day job that you once, bemusingly, announced to the forum that you had.
[QUOTE=Nedser;1325694
Why exactly is it that Irish people think the Scots would have a particular fondness for us?[/QUOTE]
i hhave no idea.
i never had anything against or for scotland. i never would care how they do in tournaments or anything.
if ur from the west there is a great chance u'll feel a bond with scotland but if your from dublin scotland is just a distant far away foreign land.
Neill Sullivan,Matt Elliot etc etc all national side of countries our size have to use the gandparent rule the only reason the Scots are so bitter is because there so ****e and have little else to do than snipe at the 2 players that declared for us...if McGeady wants to improve as a player he has to leave that **** poor league and try himself against some decent defenders on a regular basis.
That's an entirely different issue really. McGeady clearly felt a closer kinship to Ireland and the Irish team then he did to Scotland. He chose the country that best represented his heritage and his culture. He probably does need to move at some point but it has nothing to do with his choosing Ireland.
My only real exerience of the Scots from staying with 3 Rangers fans in a hostel in Brisbane. There were two other Irish lads there as well. There was a great atmosphere amongst us!
Generally speaking, we have a fair bit in common with the Scots - as we do with the English, Welsh and Northern Irish. Culturally speaking, we've got a lot more in common than seperating us.
Personally I wouldn't give a hump if a player was born and raised in Ireland and opted to play for England or any other Brittish nation (or any nation), but I reckon a fair few people would boo him if he played against Ireland and he'd probably be targeted for mindless abuse in general.
I agree with what you say, and just to be clear, my general experience with Scots has been fine too, but the same is true of my general experience with English people (even more so actually) and those of a Unionist/protestant persuasion from the North. That doesn't change the fact that there is a significant amount of hatred between Irish and English people, between (Nationalist) Irish and Ulster Unionists or indeed between Scots and Irish.
I think it partly comes down to the type of people you meet. The most bitter/twisted/bigoted people are generally not the same time of people who go backpacking to the other side of the world. Or if they do, they are likely realise very quickly how moronic it is to be so parochial and insular. You would probably have found that those particular Scottish Rangers fans would have been friendly even if you were a Celtic fan (no idea if you are or not), but obviously that wouldn't mean there is no hatred between Celtic and Rangers fans.