ok lads, its transfer season, heres a question, if your team could sign any player in the league for next season who would you choose???????
Printable View
ok lads, its transfer season, heres a question, if your team could sign any player in the league for next season who would you choose???????
Not to sound too cocky but we already have the majority if the best players in the league.....am,I'd go for Paul breen after that!
Anyone have any updates on any confirmed signings for any clubs yet?? From the Town perspective i think we need a serious replacement for Scully this season...he will be a serious loss. I think we'll be strong enough for the league without him but not too confident about the national and provincial competitions. I know one player doesnt make a team but he has been the pulse of the team for many seasons. Anyway...any info on confirmed signings yet????:ball:
Best of luck to Barry.. like I said, he was a nice fellow, and wish him well... if he decides to change his mind before the season starts.. he'll be very welcome...
Plus.. we've a much bigger fish to fry right now.. will really turn heads if it turns out right for us
ya i heard cashel town were back trainin early aswell.they seem to be takin this premier thing serious.i dont know if they're up for challenging for the league but they have some excellent players. * from a saints point of view richie ryan i heard is comin back.not definite yet but im hearin a few things around the town.he would be excellent to get backvery strong and physical,very fast aswell. * is it true colin bargary is signing for cashel town? * theres a few players i would love to see at micheals.i know it wouldnt happen but tony scully or dwayne burns would be class. theres 2 players i would also love to see come to tipp town.and one used to play for us.andrew fylnn,he was an excellent player.serious left winger,somethin we're missin i think.and david slattery from cashel town aswell.he plays up front or midfield.very fast and good in the air..i grew up with his uncles.davy hogan who is without doubt one of the best players to have played for st micheals along with grace and old hawk
No offense Dr. Robert but Scully or Burns would never leave Town for Saints.! I agree they would be serious additions, to any team, but they are Town players through and through. As for Andrew Flynn, i have seen him play over the years against us and theres no doubt he is a serious left winger. I saw David Slattery play for Cashel a few times during last season and he was there stand-out player. I think he got the 1st Division player of the year! Definitely one to watch out for in the Premier this season.
Careful there Bob.. you're just after naming half of Cashel Town's first team there... but the thing is, they'll be playing for Cashel Town in the season ahead..
Michael's have lost there shine unfortunately.Why would any player bother signing for a team that isn't going to be strong enough to win the league? you guys are a bit like Liverpool for the last few years, you think that because you were the greatest team in the poast, that you still are.
You werent even runners up last year, and this year ye'll be going backwards again. And the league will be better for it. Time to stop poaching players from clubs around ye, and build a Tipp Town team again. That's the way forward.
I agree with you on that one Rock! Only way forward for any club is to focus on the players from their town rather than relying too heavily on outside players. As i said before, i know some of yer cashel players and it is great to see that the club has finally got its act together and got back the majority of the players who are from the town but were playing with other clubs over the years. I do wish ye the best for the season coming..and many more premier seasons thereafter!
i think your being a bit hypocritical to be honest.....every successful team has players from outside their own area....coadys from carrick for example in clonmel town....and your own club according to you are hoping to bring in barry ryan and hes from thurles and you seem fine with that
there's nothing wrong with having 1 or 2 from outside your area but once you start having 5 or 6 that is when you realise a club wants the glory no matter what. Are you telling me that winning a league is better with lots of outsiders in the team or a team which is practically all home grown? I know what I would rather
Michaels have just won the youth league for the first time in how many seasons and how many of those players will get their chance in the 1st team?
to say that St micheals are not a force anymore and to call us poachers is ridiculous and a nothing comment.we have been in the top 5 teams in munster for the last 20 30 years even more..we have always been a top team unlike some teams like cashel for instance.all of a sudden ye make the premier and ye have the cheek to say we're past it..where have ye been all this time??? i hope im wrong about cashel and i hope they do well and i do think ye will be challenging in the next 2 to 3 years but ye need consistency.tis no doubt clonmel are dominating and have been for the last decade,and fair play to them,but tell me who are probably the only teams in tipp can challenge them?? i think at the most 3 and micheals are one of them..
as for your comment about poaching,if a fella feels he is good enough and if micheals feel he is good enough and he plays for a team in the 3rd or 2nd division and has ambition about playin in the top flight then all the best to him.loyalty is looked upon as some sort of badge of honour and that you should be loyal.there is very little loyality in the modern day football.just look at the premier league or championship.its all about bettering yourself and if people feel they can do that at a big club like then all the best to him.
there's a difference as that the Premiership and Championship are professional where players get paid, even though i'm not from a club in the Premier League i know that getting in flavour of the month players for a season or 2 to try and win something is not the way forward. Some players are just glory hunters who have more clubs than Tiger Woods and leave the club at the drop of a hat. Local players who have come through schoolboy ranks get fed up and move on or moved to a clubs B team even though they have as much talent but the reputation of the outsider gives that outsider the advantage
What did Michaels win with all the money they paid Mernagh and Alan Barry? and they didn't last too long, think of how the money could have been used to develop schoolboy facilities in the club to give players proper training and as a result the benefits would be noticeable once these players move onto adult football
Obviously the likes of Cashel and Borris want to feel confident, and you should realise that alot of players from Cashel helped Michaels to be successful and Borris players helped Peake be successful too.
I do hope that the Premier League is competitive this year in Tipp and it was good to see Peake challenging this year and hopefully more teams become involved in deciding the title race
Ridiculous to call you poachers ????
James Walsh, John Walsh, Paul Breen, Kelvin Flanagan just to name 4 players who should have been playing their football at Cashel.. amongst I'd say I could name 15 others... you could go right back to the FAI Cup winning team in 1974 and find Cashel players on the Michaels team for God's sake
Fair enough if Michael's could sign them.. but the biggest problem with Michaels is there habit of poaching players from underage set ups with false promises.
I know for a fact that Cashel threathened to complain Michaels to both the FAI and to Glasgow Celtic Football club in the past twelve months because they were attempting to poach under 14's, with promises of trials with Celtic if the youngsters signed for Michaels
Why can't/don't Michaels develop their own players like they used to do ?
we played peake in a friendly last saturday evening and drew 1-1. both sides were missing a few but all the same it was a fair work out. on another note i find it sickening that on the same night we played barry ryan was playing inside in limerick, i was able to inform the peake management of this as they were none the wiser of the situation. fair enough a lad wants to move on and better himself but at least be a man and be straight up. a small bit of honesty goes a long way and then your old club no where they stand and maight even wish him the best of luck. get some balls in other words.
A 1-1 draw isnt a great result for Villa if they have any idea of winning the title this year. They will need to hit the ground running this season. Villa are back training for the last 4 weeks now and Barry hasnt been at any of the sessions and everyone up their knows that he has signed for Pike. So i dont see how its "sickening" that he was playing with his new club on the same night.
On another note great to see that Richie Ryan is training with Cashel at the moment. He would be a huge addition to our team if he signs.
sorry to correct you but the lads over peake didnt have a clue wat is going on wth barry they were just heaing stories like all of us, all im saying is barry should have told them first imo. like i said both sides were missing a few, why wouldnt a 1-1 draw be a good result. i think you should give us some credit perhaps were a fairly decent side.
villa are back training for the last 3 weeks and he hasnt been at a single session so i think they were fully aware of the fact he was looking at moving on. thats a totally unfair attack on a genuine player and i hope you have the balls and are man enough to realise your wrong on this one,also the villa manager was out of the country and from what i have been told himself and barry ryan have been talking and he may not be playing anywhere else