This is absolutely briliant!
Printable View
This is absolutely briliant!
I was just chattin to someone on the executive committee yesterday afternoon.. we have only sixty tickets sold so far which is not what the club expected.. tickets are on sale tonight at the game in the shoppin centre over the weekend and on sean pruntys website... I was asked on behalf of the committee to appeal to current town fans ex town fans to come out and support the man. and go to the match. the man himself was easily one of my most profile players ever and deserves such a good sent off.. we have so many famous town legends, ireland assistant boss,marco tardelli and ex celtic player johan majalllby playin .. any other supporters of the eircom league are also welcome to attend and if you cant attend you can buy a virtual ticket on www.seanpruntytestimonial.com..
so come on you do want to come dont you??::)
I hope it is a case of people waiting till the day. It is the irish way to leave it until the last moment. I know I have to get my tickets yet and there are few coming along with me. Hope there is a decent turnout as their deserves to be for a great event like this.
Ah I'd say it's people haven't got around to buying them yet. I haven't got mine yet and I'm definitely going. I know a few others in the same position. Any time the Town had a big game at home (God be with the days!) tickets would never be selling too quickly in advance. There's still two weeks to go almost and there'll be no shortage of seats really. I hope to see a decent crowd out there but it's hard to know what to expect any more. Having them on sale in the shopping centre and at the match is a good move however, it keeps up the profile of the game for the public.
i assume that if there is a torrential downpour that they will have to play the match considering all the dignitiries that will be there!!:confused:
Well I'd assume it'd get a little more latitude than an ordinary game but if the pitch is not playable it's not playable. I think we're due a bit of luck weather wise so hopefully it'll be a decent night.
Alot of us going here and none of us have tickets yet. I'd say its the same case for most people
i know loads going and nobody has tickets yet, every1 will get tickets on the night
What's the point of that? I'm breaking my silence on this because it's getting too bloody frustrating.
For the love of God, DO NOT wait til the day of the game to buy tickets. By doing so you're causing a f**k load of headaches for the people organising the event. You have no idea the effort involved in getting this up and running and the logisitics on the day are going to be massive, having to handle a load of cash at the time is not what anyone wants to do.
The sooner you buy your tickets, the easier and cleaner it is for everyone. Then there's the whole aspect of having a better idea in advance of who's going to be there so we have a better idea of how many programmes to print, for example.
By leaving it late YOU ARE HINDERING THE SUCCESS OF THIS EVENT. If you're going to the game, buy early.
Thats is all...
I personally will do it when I'm good and ready to do it and when I know how many I have to buy for. If people are willing to come out and support on the night so be it. Its support Sean wants. Fair enough it takes organising and fair play to ye but that attitude is what will turn people off..."we dont have tickets we wont bother"
I'm not going to get into an argument about this on here, but too many people have invested too much time, effort, mileage and sleeping hours in this for it to be a hit-or-miss event. If my attitude of asking people to show respect for a professionally-run event for an extremely good cause is deemed offensive, then I appologise.
Of course support in any form is crucial, but deliberatley leaving things late is counter productive.
People are going to this to support Prunts and nobody else, people of Longford are used to paying at the gate and they will continue to do so as a force of habit. I doubt anybody is deliberatly not buying tickets and I for one think there will be a decent turnout.
I fully appreciate that believe me and I know and can see what's gone into it but equally you can't force people to buy tickets early. Do you not think as I said previously LTFC would have liked people to buy tickets early for previous events like the League Cup final in 2004, the UEFA Cup games, cup replays and semi finals? Of course they would but the people just didn't. I remember selling tickets for these games in advance and you'd sell 150-200 before the game and everyone else turns up on the night. You're dealing with the exact same people. The League Cup final in 2004 we sold about 800 tickets in advance and almost 4,000 turned up on the night! It's not what anyone wanted but you're not going to turn people away just because you're inconvenienced?. Unless people think that tickets will be sold out they're just not going to buy early.
It is incredibly frustrating but try putting the message across in the local media in particular and see if that helps. As for programmes I wouldn't print more than 1000 personally. If you sell them on the night you'll be doing well and if you don't then local shops can sell them after the event, people might pick them up. I admire what ye're doing and ye are doing a great job, don't be discouraged due to people in Longford's laziness. The word of mouth is good it will be a success from what I'm hearing. Everyone I've spoken to about it seems to want to go.
Touché ;)
The virtual ticket is a great idea for those of us that can't make it - Sean gets the money, we don't have to give ticketmaster money for nothing.
PA announcer at pats v Derry last night read out a decent piece about this at half time last night. “everyone should go along and support it”
Fair play. Sean would have a lot of Pats connections through his uncle.
Not sure if I can make it over or not, if not I'll be getting a virtual ticket but if
I can make the trip across will there be tickets available on the day?
I'd imagine there will alright. Nobody will be turned away I'm sure!.