Thank goodness, he's gone now after being up until 3.52 in the morning defending the Empire against nasty Republicans. It's morning here so I am ready and waiting to defend our Taoiseach from this nasty man! ;)
Printable View
Thank goodness, he's gone now after being up until 3.52 in the morning defending the Empire against nasty Republicans. It's morning here so I am ready and waiting to defend our Taoiseach from this nasty man! ;)
It's not the story they're concerned about, but the disproportionate failure to accept rational explanation, which as geysir's previous definition showed, highlights a fair degree of exaggerated paranoia*.
His version was rather more humorous than one which shows all the signs of being, er, peculiar.Quote:
You're funny. But not in a good way.
So already 17 too many. Unless of course you were just 'seeking attention' ?
To answer the first point, it would be difficult, be it Best, Dougan or Lennon, to be more irrational...Quote:
Do you think ex- NI captains or World Cup veterans are immune from talking baloney then?
You go right ahead give it that rational consideration. Once you've finished Pop Psychology for Dummies.
On the final one, might we suggest tomes for you, that not only deal with the dreaded 'p'-word *, but also that explain irony, not to mention hypocrisy...
On the plus side, in light of the IFA's statement and Gather Round's passionate musings on the subject, we can now be sure that there are at least two people on the island of Ireland who take Enda Kenny seriously.
First, my apologies to Gastric and others for going in two-footed above. Yellow card duly accepted, no hard feelings I hope.
Aye, it's hard being a voice in the wilderness. Lately I've even been hallucinating that Enda got 36% of the voters to take him seriously in the last election.
No, just Bologna and Vienna. The original and best.
Hmm, not what you said about this the other day...
And a different shade of 'yellow' would be rather more apt iterms of cards being played.
Even Enda has a bigger mandate though!
It must be a bi-polar type paranoia, comes on in waves.
'All-Ireland soccer team will never happen – Keith Gillespie': http://thescore.thejournal.ie/all-ir...77185-Nov2013/
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheScore.ie
Slow news day for The Journal?
Probably getting the last bit of mileage out of a dying (dead?) story as part of Gillespie's promotion of his new autobiography. Does that imply he also has an old one? Could Keith Gillespie possibly have enough material to keep the punters buying two autobiographies?
I'm not sure how those statements can be reconciled. Supporting any international side and embracing an identity are inherently political acts, surely? If Gillespie, or anyone else for that matter, was to "admit" that their politics coloured their football-thinking, what'd be the harm in that? Why does "politics" have to be a dirty word, as if this "malign" influence of politics upon our motives renders them impure or something?Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Gillespie
No, it's a sensible of marketing of the book to stress how new it is (in terms of date of issue, rather than content). The latter is the usual, predictable mix of birds, booze and big gambling debts found in most books of its type.
Probably not, he's insufficiently celebrated on the field or badly behaved off it. But nobody's touting volume two, except you.Quote:
Could Keith Gillespie possibly have enough material to keep the punters buying two autobiographies?
Not really. He started supporting NI aged seven or eight, as many of us do, through initial excitement, influence of family and school friends etc. Not because he recognised it as part of the same process as vote transfers in Donaghadee.Quote:
I'm not sure how those statements can be reconciled. Supporting any international side and embracing an identity are inherently political acts, surely?
From Keef's POV, intent on at least a part-time career in football punditry, it might be thought best not to overdo the party politics. Blandness is safer.Quote:
If Gillespie, or anyone else for that matter, was to "admit" that their politics coloured their football-thinking, what'd be the harm in that?
He's not saying it's malign, merely that he's not really interested in it.Quote:
Why does "politics" have to be a dirty word, as if this "malign" influence of politics upon our motives renders them impure or something?
I dunno Danny, I don't think he's being especially coy here. He may genuinely not give a toss about the politics and yet his "default" disposition is Norn Iron much the same as mine is Ireland. He might not care less if loyal wee Ulster is subsumed and consumed by the potatoe-munching papist Republic tomorrow provided the team he cares about and which, from his perspective, so many love and have shared history with keeps going.
I can relate to that and I guess, in a sense, I agree with his analysis. I don't envisage a time when there'll be a single team representing Ireland -not even in the event of a politically agreed all-island, all-Ireland administrative arrangment (Jesus I nearly said 'Final Solution' there! :p). We HAVE an all Ireland team and anyone who wants to from Ireland can play for it. That's enough for me.
By the by, in the equally likely (as far as I can see) event we (grand "we", "royal we" even) rejoin the UK I'd expect to retain our team as well.
I didn't mean it in the narrow sense of party politics. I meant it in the broader sense of an individual coming under the influence of and supporting a certain social structure or order, if you will, never mind an international football team. That's inherently political to me. "Default" dispositions can be political too. Not wanting his identity changed is an explicitly political stance, no? It's not even a passive stance in that it requires a degree of proactive thought. Not that I'm saying it's a bad thing or anything, nor was I accusing Gillespie of coyness at all. I think he just misuses the term, probably unwittingly, in conforming with the received wisdom. It was just the way he dismissed politics with his concerned clarification that caught my attention, lest anyone might think his motives were tainted, God forbid! If he didn't care about it, he wouldn't have mentioned it. If he said he was a die-hard loyalist and that supporting NI was part of such an identity for him, that'd be nothing to be ashamed of.
I'm just being a pedant. :)
I happened to be having a look through the Equatoguinean football team in light of their friendly against Spain last night and found it interesting that only three players of their 25-man squad were actually born in Equatorial Guinea. The remainder of the team hail variously from Spain, Brazil, Colombia and Cameroon with another from Côte d'Ivoire. Those from Spain are generally of Equatoguinean descent whilst the others tend to be naturalised citizens.
I think something might well have been lost in translation here, as the reference is in the Spanish language, but, rather amusingly, the Wikipedia article of one of the Colombian-born players, Jimmy Bermúdez, outlines the following:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wikipedia
I read TheScore.ie's follow-up piece on Gillespie's autobiography yesterday and he described himself as "very patriotic". That's political, isn't it? :)
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/inter...d-new-players/
Might be of interest to some. O'Neill comments on the north's unsuccessful recruitment drive.
Scannell hasn't switched, nor has he expressed any present intention to do so, to the best of my knowledge.
The list of players going the other way is lengthy enough. Just off the top of my head, there's been Alex Bruce, Gerard Doherty, Shane McEleney, Paddy McEleney, Johnny Gorman and Ryan Brobbel. Tony Kane and Michael O'Connor also reverted back after joining up with our set-up for a spell each. Am I missing anyone?
Or more importantly, can we howl that the floodgates have opened yet?
Hands off our boys!
It's a disgrace Joe.