Come on lads, we could have had Pele at his peak in the team tonight and we still would have been trounced.
Printable View
Come on lads, we could have had Pele at his peak in the team tonight and we still would have been trounced.
What I saw of McClean was him receiving the ball twice, gathering pace and running at a Spanish player, only to be easily dispossessed both times.
he did some decent defensive stuff though.
Were Spain really that good tonight though? Yes they played well but basically we gifted them the goals and possession all night so I am struggling to really evaluate how good they were.
Agreed. He had 10 minutes 'fresh' alongside team mates who had ran their legs off for 80 minutes already and against opposition who were strolling it. He had a couple of runs basically down blind alleys from all I can remember
Im too emotinally drained to try and evaluate those two performances now and where we go from here. Just gonna try and enjoy the last game and a bit of craic with the fans and worry about it before the WCQ's begin......
What I saw was McClean receiving the ball from McGeady (?), ran into a couple of Spanish players, blatantly failing to do what he should have done - pass the ball back to McGeady (?) who was waiting to receive it in a good position. The second time was similar, from Ward I think.
He has the capacity to learn - I hope.
I'm not sure what's worse, Trap springing him 76 minutes gone in our second game, or people actually judging him and/or justifying leaving him off for so long, under such circumstances.
It remains to be seen what positives come from McClean and what positives come from being put into that game which was totally lost at that stage.
Duff was thrown in as sub into the cauldron against Turkey in the play-off at Bursa. Afair, he did everything very tidy, it was not difficult to see that he would make the transition which came gradual over the course of the subsequent campaign.
He's tied to us now. Hands off our boys IFA!!!
James McClean dubs his Euros experience a "shambles":
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/c...AQCIAIW_sD.jpg
And no other journalist heard this? And he kept it to himself for 6 days?
Did you notice the Duff: "I can't walk away" at the top?
Also there is a bit more on his blog "Stephen Hunt angry & in tears as he storms out after Italy defeat, Darron Gibson considers future."
Not surprised Hunt was upset, he never got a run out at all.
I have a feeling trap will have to go.
We had a chat with Hunt in Sopot before the Italy game and he told us he was promised that he would get a run. I'm sure there were several other similar cases.
Trappatoni made an absolute balls of this tournament. It's such a pity because I'd love to have seen us have a right go. Only 16 players used and we are getting hammered? You are having a laugh Trap.
Although the article is a bit strange in terms of timing etc, the contents are believable. If this does lead to more withdrawals or omissions then I think Traps position will have become untenable. I personally believe it already is untenable.
I'm beginning to agree with Stu. In fact given Delaney's protestations that the whole set up was professional (I don't mind his socialising tbh) from the start, Rowan's version of events flatly refutes this. There might be implications not just for Trap.
What exactly did McClean say? I can't access twitter at work.
McClean was quoted by Ciarán Ó Raghallaigh on Twitter and in the Sunday Mirror. McClean is using Twitter again, but I don't think he stated anything on there in relation to his Euro 2012 experience.
Maybe the players are under orders not to talk to the press/public?
McClean simply stated it was a shambles right? But does anyone knows if he was talking about the preparation etc or three heavy defeats? Big difference between the two.
I'm holding fire on judgement yet - McClean (sometimes unwisely) shoots from the hip and it's natural players would be annoyed after a very frustrating campaign.
Ó Raghallaigh claims McClean was talking about the "whole experience", but those are Ó Raghallaigh's words.
It was interesting that when O'Shea did a Sky like interview for RTE before the tournament (e.g. who spends longest in the shower, who is the comedian etc etc), for who is the least sociable, he immediately mentioned McLean. It was a settled squad, presumably the players all had their own mates, and it may have been difficult for an apparently shy or introvert McLean to mingle that well for 3 weeks and he didn't enjoy it. I would say it is much ado about nothing. Press digging for non-stories.
Looks like it's fail to prepare, over prepare to fail. Can't win.
Colin Young of the Daily Mail takes a look at the progress of winger James McClean for Sunderland's website: http://www.safc.com/page/FeaturesDet...614188,00.html
Oh dear, the old Good Friday Agreement chestnut again. And Conor Sammon's six months on the bench at the Brandywell appears to have made him into a Premier League striker. I know it was written a few months ago but the Shane Ferguson bit is also outdated. Poor guy.
Have been watching him this morning. Apart from the incorrect spelling of his name on his jersey, he's been more solid than I expected. He had a decent chance (very similar to a goal he scored last year) that the keeper blocked. A few stray passes but nothing shocking. I still expect him to struggle a good bit this season...
Anonymous 2nd half. On the few occasions he got the ball in attacking positions his touch and passing was below par but in fairness O'Neill had set the stalls out to defend.
Did they really get his name wrong? That's shocking!! I'd like to see a picture of that.
Good result thought. I see Meyler came on late second half.
Saw a bit of the second half but not a great game.
O Neil will be happier than Wenger.
Sunderland linked with Adam Johnson apparently, who'd be a possible replacement for McClean?
How long did meyler play for? Enough to make an impression?
No, he'd probably alternate flanks with McClean with Larson probably moving into the centre.
About 15 minutes I think? He made a big impression but he'll still be a sub next time out - Cattermole and Gardner played very well too.
Are you asked who would be? As in they are replacing both wingers? Or saying he could be a replacement?
As city fans found out, Johnson cant play left at all, hes one of those wingers who can only play on the wing he can cut onto his good foot (left foot)...put in one or two horrible performances for city on the left.
Although he may try him out there, Sunderlands midfield is very, very weak, could probably see Larsson moving central of a 5 man midfield in the long run, wouldn't see it as direct competition for the place.
Johnson has signed now, will be interesting to see what that means for McCleans place. Most the Sunderland fans seem to want an attacking 3 of Johnson, Sess and McClean behind Fletcher but I don't know how MON will handle it.
I've seen Johnson play on the right of a 4-2-3-1 a good few times for Man City and England, I assume it'll be him on the right, Sessegnon behind the striker, and McClean on the left. Sunderland have been playing with Larsson on the right of midfield, so I'd imagine he'll move into CM, which might be bad news for David Meyler, who'll go further down the pecking order.
Jimbob McClean scores for Sunderland...
Quote:
Adam Johnson makes an early impact for his new club, swinging in a corner which James McClean heads in at the near post. Not the best start to Morecambe's attempts to reach the third round for just the second time. Happy days for the Black Cats.