Gonna get to see Glenbuck and all the mount massive out in the sticks this Sunday for the Beamish cup game? Come on down lads, we'll look after ye in an ould country kind a way.
Printable View
Gonna get to see Glenbuck and all the mount massive out in the sticks this Sunday for the Beamish cup game? Come on down lads, we'll look after ye in an ould country kind a way.
Always bright and sunny down here lad. If ya do come down come over and say hi. It's been a while.
If we're 5-0 up even better again. Arf!!
Everton v avondale should be a cracker sunday. I think everton will have the say in this one..??
i don't think it even matters at this stage boiled egg i cant see the dale losing 4 out of 7 games and rockmount or the hall winning there last 6 esp when they both have to play each other and avondale .we might as well just worry about who is going to win the intermediate cup and all the local cups
Everton 0-2 Avondale
After Bishopstown yesterday I was fully prepared for the cold but it was the most glorious of mornings up there, pitch a bit heavy but same for both teams.
Fermoy 1 Rockmount 2. Beamish cup. Nice morning on the banks of the Blackwater. Not a great game. Could have gone anyway. Questions over Mounts equaliser. Chris Butt with first one, Gary O Riordan off bench for winner. PS No cup of coffee at half time for me Clifford.
Yeah, heavy pitch made it hard work for the lads getting it down and playing. A lot of huff and puff from both sides. While having a lot of possession at 1-2 we didn't creat enough chances, with only one really good chance to level it up coming our way.
Enjoyable morning all the same and as usual nice to test ourselves against the best. Great to meet up with all the old Rockmount faces and no GlenB, no coffee for you. Our tea lady scored last night with Mick Flatley so there was no way she was hoppin out of his scratcher to come and make you milky coffee. :cool2:
Only got up there for the second half but comfortable from what I saw.
When I arrived i was told the first goal was a double og off both Byrne brothers with Everton also complaining they should have had a spotter.
Only a matter of time before they got the second.
2 more wins should seal the league.
was at the game and thought it was poor. 2 avondale goals came from nothing, although everton never created a clear chance. everton lack a bit of quality up front. avondales so called superstar team were no great shakes, i think they get credit where its not due, they are very average.
If they are average it doesn't say much for the rest of the senior teams in the country, so your comment is a tad bit unfair. Avondale could have scored at least 2 more before they scored the second. They were very rarely threatened and Podge had very little to do. A two nil win, job done whether it was pretty or not.
Passage Away tomorrow night in the Munster Senior Cup 1st round and then Douglas Hall Friday in the Donie Forde semi. Think it’s the first time Kev Mul and Graham McCarthy are playing against their old club so it might be fiesty :p
i dont think its unfair at all. if everton had offered more up front it would have been a different outcome. ya the hall game should kick up some nice battles on and off the pitch. Cotter gets a bit to excited at times i think, the referees let him off with a lot..
Used to hear the same comments when Billy Cronin was winning everything with Rockmount , Cotter is top Dog now so he'l be given the same breaks & we'll just come on here complaining about how he's been treated differently to the other managers in the league . The successful will always be treated differently , wrongly IMO but thats just the way it is .
Nutter is right too when he says it doesnt say much for the rest of the league if Avondale arent more than average , they could have the league wrapped up before we reach Paddys Day , in fact they probably will so I think they are more than average . Not sure what my points were , just needed to comment :-) hate mondays.
avondale are flying, fair play to them but what happened to rockmount, mayfield and douglas?? gang on here a few months ago saying douglas should be praised for their new found battling qualities.... think they much rather be top of the league like last year instead of been cut adrift like every one else! as for rockmount, what a difference a manager can make!! after mayfield beat avondale they seemed to think they could walk the league.. what went wrong there??
nothing wrong with battling qualities , hall at least battling on the pitch this year , but as you say theyd rather be top of the league as opposed to also rans this season . Rockmount , I think Billy saw the end of the road with the squad & alan was left with a poor squad in the end , its up to him to bring his own players in of course but I dont see many being drawn up there now ,if you look at it for years the nucleus of that rockmount team was based around slatts ,keane , howey , ross , willy byrne , beechinor , serious players there but all of em are really finished or at the end of their career , even Howey although hes still playing the injuries are taking their toll now , look at the replacements that signed for those players , I dont want to mention them as its unfair on them but you only need to look at that rockmount side now to see their not a shade on what they were & you have to wonder if they can turn that around & draw the best players again . I think that will be really difficult , dale are the top team now cos theyve done what rockmount did for years & drawn all the best players in the league & beyond & it doesnt look like it will change any time soon , success will mean more will want to go there . As for Mayfield , I would have commented on a post that I felt they had their strongest side in a few years & I stand by that , no way they were or are good enough to win a league tho .