Couldnt disagree with you more!!
Poles apart with everything you said littleman! Game defo wasnt all grattan and we could of and should of had one or two ourselves. I would go as far to say that aside from the penalty that the first half was even!:eek:. Second half ye came more to the fore with the hill as is expected.
In regards the sending off?! The first yellow was for a header which he won fairly in my opinion - as he was doing all day! Both players with their hands up - i dont know anyone who doesnt jump any other way. He got up higher and won the ball, simple as. Bad decision. Second yellow with the game petering out and nothing of note happening was a ridiculous decision. A grattan player had kicked the ball away about 2 minutes earlier when Mongo tried to take a quick free kick and nothing was done. Similar crime? I just feel it was so unnecessary.
Anywho we'll get over it. Cant wait for friday night now.
The right side an the wrong side,which is which
There seems to be a few very different versions of the game between us an Kinsale an the sending off.A few very interesting points have been put out there for us to mull over.
Tizz you first " was it who was watching" that made his mind up or was it "the right thing to do would be to give him a final warning" .
Most players would deem a yellow card enough of a warning to watch them selves,yes or no
Parkboy,,"Another point i have to make is what if there were some spectators from Park up there watching the game and Tom failed to show the red card? Im sure he would have come under critiscim from us then!"
Would have it been fair to let him on the pitch in light of the final or would it have been unfair to Park.
Its grand for me sittin on the fence but I think think in general Tom had a good game on the day.The decisions he had to make in the context of the game were brave.The majority of the refs we have in this league would not have had the balls to call a peno like the one he did as close as it was.If Kinsale an ourselves were neck an neck comin into the game an we were chasin the game when the 2nd yellow came along an the ref shiit the course I'd be goin mental,an vice versa if Kinsale were in the position.
As much as it can be said that it was harsh to send the lad off in hindsight to say the ref did what he wanted to do rather than to say he did what was right,no matter how harsh it seemed is equally wrong of us.Do we want refs to do whats best for our own team or do we want them to do whats best for the game.If Kinsale had the lad available for the AOH an say he scored the winner,who says thats fair to Park.The ref at the end of the day is either right or wrong dependin on what side your on.We may all agree it seems a heavy price to pay but its we as players who force the refs in general into the situations in which they have to make the call.No one asked the player to do what he did, certainly not the ref so why should we give him all the blame.Just some food for thought but then it dosent matter now anyway dose it.
Last one "marky aint your biggest player so a well timed tackle (in the air) can see him knocked over easily, i'm not having a go at mark but he stayed down for quite a while, which if he was injured then fair enuf "
Mark O'Sullivan or Cans as he is better known is a rare breed which I'm sorry to say is a dyin breed.He turns his eyes up to heaven an it makes his blood boil when he hears lads say they have hamstring or little knocks or there feelin a bit off an cant play.He lives breathes football an especially with Grattan.He is the heart an soul of this side.Hes captain because nobody gives more for the team.If blood aint gushin out or if bones aint stickin out then he sees no reason why you cant play.No matter who takes lumps out of him an he takes an awful lot of punismant he just gets on with it when a lot bigger an so called tuffer lie there waitin for a fcukn sponge an take a few weeks off.He dosent hobble around after gettin up because he couldnt be bothered his ares,to him pain is just something you get on with while your tryin to win a game.If I had a euro for every lad who seein Cans trot onto the pitch thought they were goin to have a royaler because of the size of him,well we wouldnt need much off the Lotto for the dressin room.I'v known him since he was 15 an the only time I've seen that player stay on the ground is when another player intentionally goes out of his way to put him there,tis as simple as that,other wise you wouldnt get him down.
Cans is old stock , an I would'nt say no to a few more like him .
New rules for next season
Players can only transfer in either November or Jan,thats it.
Maximum of only 20 players allowed on each team.
A walk over will cost ya 150 euro an the second one will see ya gone.
There could be some sence in the old Aul dog yet,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
All changes are across the board
Your club secretary should already be aware of these changes.Premier to division 3 it dosent matter.20 signed players per squad.I am presuming that if a player jacks a team in of his own accord then the club would have to cancel his registration before they are allowed sign another player.Your club secretary will or should ask all these questions next Tue night at the Aul AGM.;)
Overall marks on the Aul Agm
I arrived to hear disco music from the upstairs venue the Agm is ususlly held in an thought to meself they jumped into bed
with the Msl an are havin a party..Mores the pity but up stairs was booked for a party an the rest of us special people were crammed into what looked like the parlor in O'Connors downstairs.
When we were all squased in the fun started.The commitee itself looks alot like DADS ARMY if anyone can remember the programe.The chairman especially akin to Capt Mannering trying to control his crew .they gave a few things a go ie, mainly listening to clubs but never really looked comfortable when asked to explain what was bein discussed.All farts an aches an pains from the top table.Laugh of the night came when Capt Mannering asked for the mobiles to be turned off in the middle of a particularlly impotant question.It rang an rang again ,he got very miffed until on of his fellow platoon realised it was his phone.Cue uncontroled laughter.
For proposed changes , youth players have to be registered with the Aul if they are to be used at junior level an are only allowed 5 games with the Aor B side,6th game with who ever makes them an A or B player if you follow my drift.Apparently clubs were usin there youth players when ever they wanted too an it was totally illegal because the Aul an Youths league are not connected.There were a few very red faces amoungst the floor when that was said I can tell ya when they realised they could have been thrown out of whatever competition they were in league or cup.Passed on the night..
Only 2 windows for transfers.November an January.Passed on the night as well.
A player can only register for 2 junior clubs in any one season. Not passed.Sorry lads but even though the majority of clubs in the Aul might not agree with it an wouldnt pass the rule the Fai will be bringin this one on board before Christmas so its comin whether it was passed or not.For the record I agree with it.Secondly as there are only 2 chances to transfer each season an considering how long it takes to transfer it amounts to the same thing anyway.
Big fines for walkovers,possible expulsion.Passed on the night.No more caves or driveways to tog off in,,,,pardon me if I giggle but cant see much of a change to this one.
Balls again were on the agenda with heated debate on why Umbro were trying to get us to handle there expensive balls,hehehe.When they had perfectly good cheap ones available in your local Statoil with every 5 euro of petrol.No but honestly they are pawning off balls on us for between 40 an 50 euro an they also have a ball for 25 but they neglected to tell the Aul that before the Aul purchesed 150 of the expensive ones.Umbro an quality,sorry but it dosent work for me..
The debeate which got everyone hotunder the colar was the venue.The biggest turnout in years an we were in a front room,no jokin 60 people in a room 30 by 30.I played against some of the lads that were there on the night in my younger years an I didnt get this near to them on the pitch when they were markin me.
All jokes aside it was good to see the Aul are tryin to improve,all be it slowly but its still a step forward.So of the proposals were just a bit beyond the ability of our league to impose.Good ideas just a bit to much to move forward so quickly but again it was impressive to see that they are actually tryin.I just hope the clubs react in the right manner an become more of a help than a hindrence.Some of the questions an answers that came from the floor just went to show all that was backward about the teams in the Aul rather than the league itself.You hear clubs complaing about fixture pile ups because they have good runs in the cups an are forced to play lots of games late on.My advice,go out in the first round of all the cups an be finished your season in January.Mayfield an Blarney all weathers are there to be used now.We for one will no longer be callin any games whatso ever off if the weather is bad.League or cup.We played every weekend of the season an we still finished up basically one of the last to finish.Teams call off games because there short a few of there regulars or the lads are away ect ect,only foolin your self lads an then ye whinge about a backlog of fixtures.
Only 2 sour notes :(, that Richie Browne is steping down as Fixture Secretary.I thought Richie was bang on in fairness to deal with an a nicer gent you will never meet.For those of ye who complain prepare for things to get a lot worse because of whats on the commitee now I cant see anyone doin as good a job.
Jp got a mention for winning his Junior caps in last seasons AGM minutes ,but him an Pa Connors also played out in the Cross with the Amatures against the USA close season an Pa was also selected for the Trianglular Competition in the Isle of Man this season,yet nothin said.When was the last time the Aul had 2 players capped at Junior level,let alone Amature level.:mad: