Only a few hours to go..... back to Gatwick for 2nd time in a week, few beers, a yotel.....and then 630am flight to Sofia .....bring it on...
Printable View
Only a few hours to go..... back to Gatwick for 2nd time in a week, few beers, a yotel.....and then 630am flight to Sofia .....bring it on...
Have my alarm set for 4:45am:)
Cant bleeding wait
Hope you all have a great journey and arrive safley.See you on Friday night in macs.:D
i had my alarm set to, in the end i didnt need it, was out playing a game Gaelic yesterday stiff as fcuk and couldn't sleep at all last night. going to be asleep by about 7 this evening!!!wrecked tired :(
anybody know where abouts the arm-wrestling championships are going on? would be funny if you could enter on the day.............
Got the following e-mail yesterday;
As you know Ireland come to Sofia to play Bulgaria this Saturday, 6
June, in an important World Cup qualifying match. We're expecting
around 2,500 fans to travel here for the game, so it will be a busy weekend. I wanted to let you know of two things that you might be interested in if you're in Sofia this weekend: 1. A fanzone area will be set up on Saturday from 12 noon in the park with the Russian monument beside the Vasil Levski National Stadium in the city centre. The idea is to have somewhere big enough for the Irish fans to congregate before the match and then be escorted safely into the ground. Beer, soft drinks and food will be available all day and everyone is welcome.
2. The Embassy and Tullamore Dew are organising a mini-tournament on Saturday morning in Borissov Gradina sports complex, just behind the Vasil Levski National Stadium. There will be an Ireland team, a Bulgaria team, an Irish journalists team and a Bulgarian journalists team playing each other for the Tullamore Dew Cup. Some famous faces from Bulgaria will probably be making an appearance and it is sure to be a good way of getting Irish and Bulgarians together for some fun before the serious sport gets underway later in the day. Everyone is welcome to come along and cheer on their team - it kicks off at 9.45am.
Just love the idea of a fan zone , six more hours of work then I am out of here and heading to the airport ....................
5 more hours left in work then off to catch the Ryanair to Luton, and Wizzair to Sofia! Cant wait. One of the lads is in the airport suppin on pints as we speak. :)
Heading off tonight, can not wait. Love the fanzone idea. Don't think i'll be up at 9.45am for the kickabout though :D
Sofia report
Weather great, not too many on the ground so far but there were plenty on the BA flight this morning.
Car fueled up and ready to go. Flying out to London tomorrow at 6.30am and then onwards to Sofia. Cant wait.
Well I am back , some trip I would say that everyone will agree on .
Bars that ran out of Beer , and change .
Police closing down bars and so on , you have to laugh .
There was even hookers that picked up an extra bit of change from lads!
I could not make this trip due to Rovers playing in Europe in a few weeks time, was it a good trip lads? What was the craic like?
Police have improved since I was there in 1987. This time I didn't get electrocuted by these cattle prod type truncheons they had back then. :eek: :eek:
Fantastic trip, i think everyone will agree.
The fanzone was brilliant craic, the only thing i would complain about was the length of time it took to get a drink there.
Yes it was indeed another great trip. A few downpours on Friday night, but otherwise the weather was blazing hot the whole time. Bars didn't jack up their prices by too much (if at all).
Locals were a wary bunch, but once you broke the ice and said hello they opened up. The girls were gorgeous and dressed for the heat, but mostly on the arms of a stubbled macho boyfriend.
It ws a tense game. Bulgaria dominated in the second half, but I thought MeGeady was gonna win it for us at the death. Still, happy enough with the point.
Most surreal moment was during half time when, for no apparent reason, they played Africa by Toto over the tannoy. A group of Irish fans down at the front got up to dance and sing along! They wouldn't have been born when it was a hit 26 years ago.
Only disappointment was the lack of match programmes. Though apparently some were being passed around one of the Irish bars?
yer man in the 1st video,"12 pints" :D
fantastic time there. Have to say very nice city and the locals seemed frriendly enough, usual craic from taxi men but apart from that it was alright.
I went to the best nightclub ever on saturday, stayed in there on me own, just watching everyone dancing on the tables and bar tops. Unreal. The price of JD got dearer everytime i had one. Eventully 6.30 came and i started getting sleepy i noticed the bouncer coming over towards me saying come on, i just started laughing and i said, ya you are right, i do need to go home. Great banter. Thursday night was the same, some bouncer made a beeline towards me and said you have to leave, hadnt a clue what i did but there ye go.
Fantastic trip.We had a great time .The holiday Inn was super and the result was what i think most of us expected. Have to agree about the locals not being able to keep up with our beer intake.Fanszone was good craic as well ,love the way they turned the lights off as we left the stadium. Our flight to Zurich was delayed last night and we missed our connection to london,and had to stay at the Zurich Hilton courtsey of Swiss Air . Hope they haven`t checked the mini bar yet.:D
Great trip and great result:)
JJ murphys was a disgrace. We went in on Friday night and we left after 1 gargle!!! The staff were *****s.
Hotel Downtown was a nice hotel in a great location. We ended up spending most of the time with a few characters, mad things:)
The Fanzone was a great spot aswel, except for the drink.
another great trip overall.
agree that JJ Murphy's was a disgrace. charging Irish prices and one barman was a ******. great craic there Friday night all the same.
the craic never really got goin in Flannagan's match day i didn't think but once we got to the stadium the atmosphere was deadly.
Another great trip. Hit some retro club on Saturday. They only played music from 1992 & before! Gas. Thought the stadium buzz was better than in Bari coz we were all together & I think we worked bloody great. Fair play all; went at the singing non stop. Crokers is such a let down after the trips!!
we didnt though, we sang for the first half hour and before the game, and that was it, once they scored ppl stopped singing. Thought it could have been a lot better.
I must say - where we were, everyone seemed to be singing throughout - i suppose it depends where you are as if it's only a couple of hundred around you it probably sounds like everyone ....
Great trip apart from the Radisson fc uking up our rooms so that all the journo's could stay there.
I don't think my voice will be right for a week !!!!
Good trip all in all. I had great fun with so many of the usual suspects thurs-Sun morning. No voice left and Im wrecked, but its all worth it. A huge thank you also to all of the people who made a point of speaking to me about the article in YBIG. It really did mean alot so thank you. Great craic at the fanfest and the singing in the ground was good I thought.
Yep same as us as we got bumped also for the one night . I must say thanks to the Bohs lad who gave us a lift to the Raddison as he was mailed about been bumped and they picked him up at the airport and gave him a free night at the Kaplinski hotel . When we got to the Raddison they said we had to pay for the the night in another hotel which was the same as above , hearing that Mrs Claret said , you gave yer man the a free night we want the same so in the end we only paid for one night :) hey sometimes things just work out for you .
Cheers to JT for organizing the taxi from/to the Airport in Sofia!! Great trip. did you see some of your gang in the youtube clips I posted?
JT, yer a great Irish dancer btw. I was going to get up and join you, but i didnt want to outdo you after your display ;) :p