I don't see a heavy touch.
Printable View
The finish was absolutely perfect. Like a chip to the green on Augusta. I think it was a slightly heavier touch than he was wanting but the recovery was spot on. Maybe similar to Idah’s goal against Everton in that respect (so might get away with it in the Premier League, Stu!). Nothing to be sniffed at.
I grabbed the last 15/20 minutes of the Dons/Wednesday game yesterday actually and he was really involved and had an air of quality about him when he was on the ball. Had a shot from outside the box in the last minute of injury time which the keeper saved that he might have wanted back. All in all, though, Parrot had that look about him.
I wasn’t trying to suggest otherwise.
sorry I meant to quote seanfhear’s post! I was only trying to say the goal would only have been more pleasing had he taken it with his left, but it was a classy goal all the same. Yeah a more alert or quicker keeper might have made a difference but I actually think THAT touch was what made the goal. Without it he was still in a contest with the defender and wasn’t suddenly 1-on-1 with a keeper unsure what to do. I mean yeah, the touch might have taken the ball a metre further than he’d have liked but to actually see the first touch as something he got away with just amazes me.
Thing is guys.. we're talking about 4 young.. really young lads.. if even one of them became the next Robbie Keane, we'd be over the moon
Having seen criticism of Parrott’s touch from this goal and criticism of Idah’s touch on a goal vs Everton I suspect there’s a bit of a misunderstanding of what these guys are doing — not every touch from a striker should be aimed at total control.
The aim is to redirect the ball in a way that will set you up for your shot and/or make it difficult for defenders to react. A very frustrating thing from some forwards is a predisposition to control the ball in the final third rather than aim to set up a shot through deliberate redirection.
Hold up play has value of course but deliberate redirections, even when not perfectly executed, are destabilizing and difficult to defend against.
Play the ball, not the man. Trolling is against forum rules.
I don't agree with Stutts - I think a better keeper would have gotten to that - but he has my respect for disagreeing with the opinion instead of whining about it like a spoiled child.
This one I agree with. Parrott knew what he was doing there, and if he maybe slightly overhit it, he got away with it and finished sweetly.
This is a good point. Something I've been trying to do playing football as I get older and slower is to try to intentionally take a first touch that puts the ball about a yard away from where I am if a defender is closing me down hard. The idea being that I don't have the pace to take them on and run around them from a standing start any more, so doing that gives me a head start and a better chance to get a shot or forward pass away.
Not that anything I do should be compared to professional players but the principle is the same I think.
(Having said all that I still think Idah's one might have been a slightly heavy touch.)
I had to go back an look at the goal again because I was surprised to see the heavy touch comments here. I honestly dont see it. It looks like he was fully in control of what he wanted to do. The touch to bring the ball away from the defender was far enough that it gave the defender no hope.
Dont disagree that a higher standard keeper might have done better, but I also think the way he finished with the right foot would have caught a lot of good keeper out too
I agree totally that the purpose of the first touch is to make the second touch easier. One that really stands out for me was Serge Gnabry for Munich at Spurs in 2019(?). The ball came over his head and it’d have been a hard one for most players to take down but his first touch was so perfect it meant he could hardly miss afterwards. It was a thing of raw beauty!
I think Parrott’s was a pretty good first touch here. I think Idah’s first touch at Everton was a fluke tbh, I just don’t think he intended it at all even if it worked out perfectly.
There’s a lot of debate over whether Shane Long’s touch with his knee against Germany was deliberate or afluke. I personally think he knew what he was doing. It was improvised and maybe came off better than he could have wished for but I think he was trying to push the ball into a spot where his next touch was a shot.
Nice finish against an international keeper although the defender didn't cover himself in glory. He had a chance to draw the game in the 10th minute of injury time but snatched at it (thank God, sorry). Great goal by Bannan in the same game https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQeWPsL-DaA There is an Irish flag among the MK Dons behind the goal.
A 5-0 win for MK Dons to finish the (regular) season - four goals for Parrott's strike partner but none for Troy. I know it's a team game and Parrott may have picked up an assist or two, but you imagine that has to smart!
Looks like they're going to miss out on automatic promotion by a point behind Rotherham, so into the play-offs.
It's great they are in playoffs. High pressure hight profile 2 legged semi and then hopefully big day at Wembley Nd keep troy playing football for a few more weeks so in good shape for june
I'd say they are delighted with the way the playoff draw has worked out. a derby is never great, but they should have too much for Wycombe. Regardless of who they face in the final, they'll be underdogs, and their opponents will be under incredible pressure (Weds or Sunderland)
Shodipo got a run a few weeks ago but didn't do much, has disappeared from the team sheets again lately. Brennan came in when they were missing a few centre backs but is well down the order now. I doubt we'll see much if any Irish involvement for Sheffield Wednesday.
Same at Sunderland, just McGeady who is coming back from injury. And Wycombe have Horgan obviously but that's it. So really it would be good to see MK Dons go up from an Irish perspective, regardless of what you might think of that club.
There was a long article on Parrott in The Athletic last week
https://theathletic.com/3275505/2022...e-way-it-goes/
Disappointing performance for MK Dons against Wycombe tonight. While MK Dons dominated the first 30-35 minutes and Troy acquitted himself well in that time with some nice touches, runs and a pot shot or two, he was largely anonymous for the remainder - but no worse than anyone else on the team. They'll be disappointed that they came out so flat after a great performance at the weekend.
Conor Coventry and Warren O'Hora were also outplayed by a pretty physical and pacey Wycombe attack.
Scored the only goal this evening but MK Dons lost on aggregate and his league season is over.
10 goals in 47 appearances isn't great, but it's definitely a solid breakthrough season, and prospective new clubs may be swayed by 5 goals in his last 10 (plus the goal v Lithuania of course).
I'm not convinced he has it in him to hit double figures in the Championship next season, but he could do quite well given another go in L1. An interesting summer ahead I think.
Edit - I see Scott Twine was top scorer with 20, but three years ago he scored just one goal in a half-season at Waterford, and that in a 4-1 defeat away against UCD!
I don't see why he should try League One again next season. He's had a great last few months and I'm sure MK Dons would love to have him back. But he really should be using the momentum he has gained from the last few months and test himself at the Championship or an equivalent level. He has almost 60 League One games now over 18 months and while he has toiled for a good portion of 12 months of that, he was 19 throughout it.
Oh I think he should try to jump up alright. It's a question of will there be a reasonable offer. (ie regular starter, and preferably not fighting relegation cos he'd probably develop better in a team where goal chances weren't at a relative premium)
But if you were a Championship club, would you look at the 20-year-old who struggled at the start of the season but certainly came good after Christmas, and in the last two months in particular, or would you be looking at the 22-year-old at the same club who scored 20 league goals, assisted another 13, and was named in the team of the season?
I'd say there's a good chance MK Dons manager Liam Manning will be on his way to a championship club - currently favourite for the QPR job - I'd say he'd go for both, and maybe Coventry also.
Having Parrott, Idah and Obafemi all playing regularly in the Championship next season would be very interesting.
Let's face it, the championship is a decent league and given the concentration of pretty much all the best players in the world in the English Premier league..its still the 6th highest supported division in Europe. Standards in England have definitely risen.
Twine has had a great year and has really shown huge maturity in game play. He's bound to move up. He's 24 I think. I don't think any club at that level has room for more than 1 main man so stands to reason troy would appear to be second fiddle. I'd say his background stats will looks good though.
Twine also proof that the right man in the right place with the right manager is the formula. Even lukaku struggled at Chelsea this year. I don't envy troy. The next move is going to be interesting. I hope he has a good agent.
his numbers were decent enough this season especially when you take into account the non performance from nov-jan ish. i think championship clubs will definitely look at him. i just hope spurs make the right move for him with a team who'll suit how he plays. mk dons were one, i dont think his 2 previous loans were good at all. he obviously was poor at both clubs but style of play has a huge impact. his attitude seems completely different in comparison to when he made those 2 loan moves too, i think that'll only help him when he steps up
Also the Wycombe keeper seems to have played a blinder. Mk dons have been a revelation in terms of style. Troy made the best of that. He clearly learned a lot. I was worried about him myself but I have to say, fair play.
I notice no one is commenting on young horgan in the Wycombe side...🤔
Wycombe hardly attacked all game so Horgan didn't get a sniff. Wycombe is about his level, if they ever aspired to be more than a Championship/League 1 yo-yo club he'd be the sort of play they would need to move on.
When you look at the attacking talent coming through now - Parrott, Idah, Ogbene, hopefully Obafemi as well as more established types like Robinson and the attacking midfielders like Knight it's hard to justify Horgan taking up a squad place any more. He's a decent enough sort or player but a bit below the level we need and he's unlikely to improve at this stage.
Well you can't really say "He played well except for that three-month spell when he didn't play well"
Will a Championship club look at him and think "Hm - he took until after Christmas to really get up to speed with L1; we can't risk that he'll take that long to get up to speed with the Championship"?
Any champiosnhip team that is looking at him for next season has probably been scouting his games over last couple of months, where he has done well. There will be more importance placed on that than the drop off in form a young player experienced. Nations league games could be important for him is he gets a run.
Is there even an outside chance he could make the bench for Spurs before the end of the season? Unlikely to do so against Arsenal on Thursday, but their final two games are Burnley on Sunday, and Norwich on Sunday week.
Possibly the last game if it's a dead rubber, but they might prefer some other young player that has been there all season and hasn't had much or any senior game time instead of him.
Incidentally I think I read that it's back to five subs in the EPL next season, so hopefully that gives more opportunities to fringe players who make the bench but rarely if ever play. The likes of Okoflex, Costelloe, Ferry, Ferguson etc.
That I certainly agree with (and have said as much before).
Hopefully he'll get a move up a division and do well. But I wouldn't have it as a sure thing, and if he did have another season in L1 next year and showed significant improvement (like Bazunu this year), then that wouldn't be a bad outcome either I think.