16 games 0 goals ........10 attempts on goal 0 goals .......
Printable View
16 games 0 goals ........10 attempts on goal 0 goals .......
granted you see more at the actual game but what i will say is this....
just cos you go to a game doesnt mean you understand it more than someone watching on tv. (why do managers watch video footage?)
you obviously dont understand the game overly well...(dunno if youve played the game much but thats a different matter). on paper crouch looks useless. on the pitch hes been a different story and is playing well. hes also in the england squad.
giles and brady see this. i would rate their opinion a hell of a lot higher than your single minded slag liverpool agenda. crouchs goals will come. in fact lets hope he gets the winner against your lot...in fact your lot are so ****e right now he may get a hat-trick.
10 shots no goals. much better than no shots no goals. come in drunken duncan.
as for the "real" fans. again just cos they pay money and go to games doesnt mean they know it all about the football theyre watching. if i lived in liverpool i would go to the home games but i live in cork/limerick so i go to all the cork/limerick home games instead.
Thomkins writes by FAR the best articles on LFC. No one else comes closeQuote:
Originally Posted by d f x-
He has been writting excellent articles since 2000 on LFC matters on different fans sites (including that poisonous koktalk) and thats why the official site have recently employed him.
well i know more about the game than most by that i dont mean ive learnt off a load of names and dates but about how the game is played .Quote:
Originally Posted by declan hide
did i play yes i did , but does that make a difference i know people that have played semi pro and still dont have a clue what there talking about .
the very fact you are trying to argue crouch's case explains a lot, what excuse is it today "we didnt buy a striker to score goals" , or other such jems.
id go to cork/limerick games if it was worth the tenner , its not . so i dont go .
surely you as a EL fan dont support a english team ??;)
The fact he got man of the match means we dont have to explain anything to people who THINK they know the game.....:rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by anto1208
that could just mean the rest of the team were rubbish , no way he deserved mom 2 open goals from inside the 6 yard box and he misses , 10 attempts on goal no goal ... gerrard was much better than crouch was last night he set up pratically every chance he had .Quote:
Originally Posted by jockser
i rest my case......:D :DQuote:
he got a man of the match award in a game in which liverpool were terrible ,playing a poor side and didnt score ... thats what your resting your arguement on :eek: :eek:Quote:
but i didnt expect you to make a point, why break with habit :rolleyes:
can i see the reports where it says we were terrible please.....or is that your analysis coz you are a REAL fan who KNOWS how to read a game???:DQuote:
Quote:
thank you !!
the first intelligent thing you ve said :p
its blindingly obvious that other posters to this "discussion" have stopped responding to antos moronics. from this point forward i shall so the same.
Quote:
Originally Posted by declan hide
what are you like , cant win an arguement so you quit "im taking my ball and going home" .what moranic statement done it, was it the one where i said season ticket holders are better fans than some one you goes to the pub to watch a game ? thats just common sence .
Grow up FFS .
I think its easy for anto and other evertonians to dish out the abuse at Crouch as a way of masking the troubles at their own club. The current fad among the media and other suporters is to bash Crouch at every opportunity. The goals haven't arrived yet but how many other clubs would take Liverpool's position of last 16 in the champions league playing a striker who contributes enormously to the team, but has yet to score himself? Yes, he cost 7 million and is a striker. So what? The stats somebody else mentioned don't lie and as much as I'd like to see Crouchy scoring asap I couldn't care less if Liverpool keep winning and he picks up the man of the match award every time(without scoring). I know the bluenoses would love a current English international striker in their ranks and it must irk them that a goalless striker across town is getting the nod ahead of their 5m bloated brute from Blackburn who has the sum total of 2 goals himself, and f**k all else to his game. Which of the two will go to the World Cup and who'll be getting fatter next summer? We all know the answer to that one, provided injury doesn't set in along the way. Eriksson, McClaren and Benitez can't all be wrong and time will prove their judgements 100% correct, if it hasn't already done so.
Great post Joe, sensible comments as always. I'm becoming a fan of the likeable Crouchy. The lad is a breath of fresh air in a sport that is bursting with large egos. His commitment and hard work illustrate his merits. He contributes so much to the team. His first touch and technique are rare, if not unheard of in a player of his size. He's still a young man, a little similar in stature to a young Niall Quinn. If he becomes physically stronger in the same way as Quinn did, he has a big future ahead of him. Crounch had 8/9 attempts on goal on Wednesday night. That shows character from a player that is undergoing a goal-scoring drought. The likes of Lineker, Shearer and Owen have all suffered droughts in front of goal. It's only a matter of time before Crouch gets on the scoresheet and the goals begin to flow. In the meantime, he will continue to help Liverpool win tricky away games against the likes of Villa. Any Liverpool fan will be happy that Crouch is an excellent acquisition.Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSemi
Couldn't have put it better myself. That's the difference between the two.Quote:
Hopefully Crouch, on both counts! :DQuote:
Everton are officially the lowest scorers out of all the teams in the five major European leagues with an astounding figure of 5 goals:p Thats the whole Everton team with 5 goals more than Peter Crouch. I think it may be wise for certain evertonians to look at getting their own house in order before slagging off any other club or player.;)
Quote:
In fairness Crouchy wouldn't put on weight if ya had him on bull nuts for 9 months. Sure there's not a pick on the lanky string! :rolleyes: A strikers role is to score goals and crouchy hasn't broke the duck in 17 games! Morientes has as much pace as me granny and the less said about Cisse the better. Typical of you though JoeSemi- i've never once heard you run down a Liverpool player. You're namesake Josemi was the spanish Carragher up to no length ago sure! :p
Things are beginning to look rosy again on the blue side though. Big Joe Yobo came up trumps today and made up for recent shaky performances with a fine header to send that pr!ck souness home pointless. The toffees are at last out of the bottom three and will make that expected surge up the table in the coming weeks.
They're still gonna finish higher than Liverpool this season!:p.Quote:
Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
Well over at the Red Half, things are improving for a change. :) No surprise really, as European Champions are expected to beat the likes of West Ham, Aston Villa, Man City, and Portsmouth on a regular basis. :rolleyes:
As for Peter Crouch, this bloke continues to defy belief, as the score after 4,5 months of the season is still: Jamie Carragher 1-0 Peter Crouch!! :eek:
...........he is back!!!Quote:
Nice touch out of a section of the liverpool fans to boo the minutes' silence for the Great Georgie Best. the referee was warned that this might happen and (of course) it duely did, in the scouse end.. the minute turned into 19 seconds..
A disgrace if ever there was one.
It was an absolute disgrace. I hope these pr!cks are found out and never set foot in another ground again. There's always the potential for a few morons to mar a minutes silence and the alternative of a minutes applause that was used at most grounds is more fitting and sensible. What mustn't be allowed to snowball is a campaign against LFC,as all it takes is a few idiots to lower the name of all Liverpool fans.Quote:
Originally Posted by HuRya
as ye all know ill grab any chance to slate liverpool fans with both hands , but in relation to the booing it wasnt actually the liverpool fans at all but the city fans , i know it was reported other wise and if there was any truth in it at all id be all over it , but fair is fair thats too scummy even for the red****e .
now back to this beattie crouch comparrison being made .
crouch 17 games no goals 0% strike rate
beattie 9 games 3 goals 33% strike rate
of those 9 game he started 6 and even the utd game he came off injured after 20 mins so really thats 5 !! and he has been making his come back from injury .
yet another 1 nil win this weekend and only for given having a stormer it should have been 3 or 4 -1 ( it was a peno faddy saved on the line with his hand .~)
I was at anfield the weekend Matt busby Died and we Played man city
they booe'd that minute silence too so it came as a surprize to me when i heard that it was been blamed on liverpool fans as I assumed it was the same city lowlifes
at least what anto say's backs up my suspicion
Fair play for clarifying that anto. I was baffled when it was blamed on Reds fans after all the tragedies that have beset the club before. Where did you hear otherwise, as all the papers are pointing the finger at Liverpool?Quote:
You can't dismiss the stats on Crouch v Beattie that you've pointed out, but the fact remains that one is a current international, held in high esteem by many a top manager, playing with the current European champions. I hate saying it because it could be taken out of context, but he's a more rounded footballer than Beattie:p
i was watching it live in a pub in liverpool ,the comentator even said that booing is coming from the opposite end to where the liverpool fans are , the camera zoomed in on the liverpool fans i didnt see any booing (but there could have been off camera )but the city fans were clear as day,Quote:
sven does pick the squad though so i would nt read to much into crouchs england carrer
the latest rumour is that cisse is on his way out in jan and with robbie keane coming in .
I wouldn't sign Robbie Keane if he was the last striker on the planet. I've more brain power in my left testicle......watching him frustrate the hell out of me for Ireland is enough thanks very much!
Apparently Simao is on his way, Benitez prefers him to Jaoquin as he's two footed and about £3m/£4m cheaper. He's also bid £4.5m for some centre half from one of the Moscow clubs, but Fiorentina are also in for him. The man I'd sign is Dirk Kuyt from Feynoord - the mans an animal in front of goal, awesome potential......pull the finger out Rafa!
So why waste all that by joining Liverpool?:confused: :p.Quote:
Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
Cisse for Keane...one big moaner for another...
Another quiet weeke for Liverpool begrudgers - at this rate they'll explode having to keep all that tripe (that they usually come out with) locked inside them all they need is for one minor slip-up..:cool: :p
Sunderland v Liverpool
We are at Sunderland tonight, and as we were the last team they beat in the league at home, this game is a revenge mission for us. We have had to wait 3 years since the defeat for an opportunity to put them, in their place!!
Quote:
oh dear.....:rolleyes:Quote:
oh dear, oh dear, oh dear ...:rolleyes:Quote:
let me explain me being an everton fan i hold a season ticket to Goodison park .
this might go someway to explaining why i was nt at the man city v liverpool game but rather watching it on tv in a pub liverpool while the missus went shopping ( btw the everton game was on the following day ).
Hook line .....and sinker!!!! :D :D :DQuote:
anyway 4th now and climbing.....der der der der der der der deerrrrrrrr!!!!!
does +12 in november mean anything to you !?!?! :D .......ill give you a clue its not the temperature outside!!!
I'm getting worried about the Liverpool begrudgers now...I hope they're not choking on their own statistics because they are worryingly quiet..
Now about Liverpool being in 12th place, mypost...........Code:P TEAM P W D L F A GD PTS
1 Chelsea 14 12 1 1 33 7 26 37
2 Manchester United 13 8 3 2 21 13 8 27
3 Arsenal 13 8 2 3 22 10 12 26
4 Liverpool 13 7 4 2 15 8 7 25
5 Wigan Athletic 13 8 1 4 16 10 6 25
6 Tottenham Hotspur 14 6 6 2 16 10 6 24
7 Bolton Wanderers 13 7 2 4 15 13 2 23
8 Manchester City 14 6 3 5 15 12 3 21
9 West Ham United 13 5 4 4 17 13 4 19
10 Middlesbrough 14 5 4 5 20 20 0 19
11 Charlton Athletic 13 6 1 6 17 18 -1 19
12 Newcastle United 14 5 3 6 12 14 -2 18
13 Blackburn Rovers 14 5 3 6 15 18 -3 18
14 Fulham 14 4 3 7 16 20 -4 15
15 Aston Villa 14 4 3 7 14 22 -8 15
16 Everton 13 4 1 8 5 16 -11 13
17 West Bromwich Albion 14 3 3 8 15 24 -9 12
18 Portsmouth 14 2 4 8 11 20 -9 10
19 Birmingham City 13 2 3 8 8 17 -9 9
20 Sunderland 15 1 2 12 12 30 -18 5
Michael Owen is really proving his worth to whoever he went to isn't he...? They must be doing well after spending €25m on such a prolific striker....;) ;)
Imagine if we had bought and spent all that money on Owen - he'd hardly have played a handful of games by now, cos guess what, he's injured all the time. All that bench warming in Madrid must have done his posture! :D And we'd have no money for a Simao/Jaoquin in January. Amazing the way Owen is always fit for England though, isn't it? :rolleyes:
Where are you going with your begrudgers crap?? I don't begrudge the club anything. When things are going well, there's no need to criticise. When they aren't however...Quote:
Originally Posted by d f x-
We're 4th now, great. How did we get there? By beating decent opposition? Er, no. :( We got there by overcoming the mighty challenges of West Ham, Sunderland, and Portsmouth. No disrespect to the above teams, but a club with our resources should demand, sorry expect, to beat those sides every week. Pity we weren't fourth in August.
Re: Owen. Michael Owen was bought expensively by a rival club, and scores goals when he plays. On the other hand, we spend €10 milion on a yoke who cannot score, from headers, sitters, set-pieces, penalties, you name it, he misses it. For €10 million, I expect more output from a striker than the ground-breaking skill of winning headers, and holding the ball up for team mates. :rolleyes: The odd goal or two wouldn't go amiss, you know. That's what he is at the club to do.
absolute boll*x coz you were the very person who said we wouldnt get half the points from the above teams!!!for the last 10 years we would have got maximum 10 points from the last 15 we won. now Rafa wins all 5 games and you still say "well its expected"......including beating a 15 year clean shhet record. you talk absolute cr*p i dont consider you a liverpool supporter coz a supporter SUPPORTS his team through thick and thin not whinges and moan at EVERY opportunity.......go follow michael owen FC:rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by mypost
"pity we weren't 4th in August"....what the f*ck has that got to do with anything!!!!! when has the league ever been won in august?!?!?! you havent a clue!!!!
So your a fair weather supporter then? You stick with the team through both good and bad spells and that goes for players aswell. Its all well and good preaching your a diehard fan when the trophies flood in, but its when things slip a bit that a supporter will show his true worth i.e see the positives and trust in the manager and players.Quote:
Originally Posted by mypost
There has been an improvement on every corresponding result from last year so far except Chelsea and Fulham, if that says anything about the progress the team is making. They are comfortably into the last 16 of the Champions Lge unlike last year, when faced with a make or break game with Olympiakos to decide their fate. There's is still a game in hand over Chavski and if they happen to win that they will be a disastrous 9 points behind them. That good enough for you?:rolleyes:
Take a look back at any of Rafa's past Valencia teams and there was never a striker who was an out and out goalscorer. He mainly had Carew or Mista as the fulcrum with Angulo, Aimar, Vicente and Baraja all chipping in behind. Yes, Peter Crouch is a striker and should have scored by now but he has contributed his fair share to recent victories despite not scoring. Is there not a similar pattern emerging in Liverpool's play to that of Valencia's, with Gerrard and Garcia getting their fair share of goals from behind the front man? I think so.
This Michael Owen issue will never stop when people like you are constantly whinging and making comparisons. Throw him into Rafa's preferred formation and Liverpool wouldn't have got the results they achieved recently. You can only play one way to Owen and that is to suit him by getting balls in behind. With Crouch you have plenty of variety and at the moment other players are benefiting.