In the 92nd min he allowed a throw that went out on the half way line to be taken about 20 yards further up. Due to the heavy wind this allowed the thrower to aim for the centre of the box.
It was clearly giving Waterford an advantage.
Printable View
Yeah he did that deliberately to give us an advantage alright.
Funny, then, that he didn't realise that not awarding ye a penalty earlier might have offered us even more of an advantage!
Bit of a lapse out of him there.
To be honest, that's the kind of referee favouritism we, or Dundalk, could do without. :D
(Not saying it wasn't a penalty BTW, it was, I saw the replay at half time.)
What about ever other throw in and free kick Shelbourne and Waterford got through out the match ref was poor at insuring that throw in and free kicks where taken from where meant to be from for 90+ plus mins was it ok then or just when Waterford where given the advantage cause Shelbourne took plenty advantage of his slackness on this as well
Higgins, don't even bother gettin' involved. The fact of the matter is....when the pressure was on, the players showed a fantastic hunger for the fight, the support was second to none and we got the reward we deserved. I'm not saying it's over, far from it. But some of the comments in this thread are petty in the extreme. I don't know why so many people dislike Shels (St. Pats being the exception), at least we took our (deserved) punishment with some dignity and are trying to re-build within our means. This thread smacks of jealousy and pettiness in my opinion, sad really when you consider what we have brought to this division this year.
Why not get involved cause someone made a rational point? Several Shels fans on here think everybody is out to get them I was merely stating a fact that the ref was not exactly strict throughout 90 mins about where free kicks and throws in where taken from and both teams took advantage of this
I have made no extreme comments I merely stated what I saw at the game yes some people do make extreme comments but to be perfectly honest I could care less who wins yes it would be nice to get rid of Thursday night trip to Dundalk but if not so be it. If (I say if as not over yet but fully expect them to win) Shels win the first division then will have deserved to.
Congratulations Dundalk. Hope you do well next year in the top flight.
Shels:p
Dundalks going up going up...dundalks going uuuuuuuuuppppppp!!shels who???
Congrats Limerick agus thank you!!hearts in your mouth stuff!!!
And another note....shels fans...radio reports suggested a good few car windows smashed in round drumcongrath...care to explain????
Yeah we knew that already....most of whom are 10 year olds who have mothers who....ill let you finish that!!
On another note....MNS...app had cameras at tolka...cant wait to see all those shels fans at the side of the picth getin ready to invade the pitch...and then the goal goes in...cant wait to see those lil faces drop!!!!mwah ha ha!!!!:D
Oh and jsut another point....where do kildare get off charging 15 euro into the game tonight...not for me...student card but seriously...for a team with no supporters...bottom of the first divison and facing a relegation playoff next week....YE ARE NOT CHALLENDING FOR THE FIRST DIVISON...so stop dreaming ye scabby *****!!!!
What a night, I still can't quite believe it, the celebration and outpouring of emotion when news came through from Tolka was like nothing I've experienced in all the years I've supported Dundalk (with the exception, maybe, of McNulty's late goal which won us the league down in Cork in '91), just utter relief and joy at finally being out of the f*cking Graveyard. Unreal. Many thanks to Limerick, Colin Scanlon: Lilywhite legend. Hard luck Shels.
Didn't see a camera in Station Road, there's a surprise.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kildare County FC
:D Sorry about that. Most shambolic league presentation ever, where did that cup appear from? I take it it was a replica.
Well done to Dundalk, feel very sorry for Shels supporters though.
I dont!!!!:D
The reason for the increase in the charge from 10 the 15 euro was to pay for all of the extra security that we were forced in to having last night. This was as a result of a request by the FAI which we had to comply with. All told, I think that the Dundalk fans where treated fairly and with respect by the Kildare stewards, throughout the game, and specially in the celebrations afterwards. I think that an extra fiver is a small price to pay for that, and if thats really bothering you after a night like you just had, then you are a really sad man.
On another matter and seeing as the season is over ( well for everybody else), could we now have a a tally of those clubs that have not been paying their palyers wages? I was told last night that their are two clubs in the first division that owe 12 weeks and 8 weeks wages to their players respectively. Has anybody else got any more concrete evidence?
Take it easy lads! Twas an amazing night regardless. Any issue is that Kildare were charging 15euro for tickets that had 10euro printed on them. As Dundalk fans were designated a seating area County were entitled to charge extra. Those standing should/could not be charged the same. I for one would have been willing to pay a great deal more for last nights entertainment! I do feel sorry for shels fans. I think i might have experienced what its like to be bi-polar for a bit last night - hope to depression to euphoria to bad hangover :p
Someone posted this on OrielWeb:
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-ec927fff.html
It's the commentary from LMFM of injury time from Tolka Park last night.
Interviews with Flanagan and Farrell first and then the commentary from about 5 and a half minutes in.
Any plans for tonight holiday?? App the palyers are going round a few of the pubs tonight!
I have to say for one I was appalled at our tratment by stewards. I don't take kind to being told to f*** off at the ticket office when I question that the tickets where 15 and said 10.
I don't take too kindly either to being frisked. Ok I'd nothing to hide but I'm too effin old for that as well.
Anyway congrats to the team and I want Gar Scanlon Address as I've a magnum of Champange to UPS to the fella
Just send it to Limerick FC for the attention of Colin Scanlon, they'll get it to him :D
Ah go on!!you headin to that then holiday...is it all ticket or what?? What time ye stroll outa oriel last night or should i say this morning??
I didnt much like that there was frisking either, but that was as a result of the previous visit of Dundalk where your supporters tried to bring a lot of cans in with them.
Anyway, I am glad that ye won the league. Yis certainly palyed the best football.
well done to Dundalk
Firstly, congrats to Dundalk on winning the league and fair paly to you. The league table never lies and they are deserving champions.
Im still gutted over saturday night as are all true Shels fans. But next season cannot start quick enough and hopefully if we can keep a good few of the squad we may just be celebrating this time next year.
I have to admire Limericks performance as well cos as I know myself if you cant win the league it is a great feeling to stop someone else from doing it but it was disappointing to hear how they continued celebrating in the dressing rooms after the final whistle like they had won the league, it was certainly ungracious to say the least.
Now I'm off to lie down in a dark room and ignore football until next March!!
I have genuine sympathy for fans like you. To be fair to the Limerick players Dermot Keely made no friends in our camp over the season and I would imagine that played a part in the players joy.
I'd recommend your away toilets. ;)
First of all, the players were making there way down to the Limerick end to thank them for the support at the end of the season etc etc.. but they couldn't because they were attacked by Shels fans running onto the pitch. They all had to be escorted off the pitch.
Get a grip, if Limerick came up to Tolka and rolled over and didn't give two fecks everyone else would be complaining aswell. It showed great character to play like that in a so called nothing game for us.
We had the responsibility to Dundalk to play to the best of our ability. Many other teams would roll over and settle with the loss.
At least we get to go to Tolka again next season :p:D
Limerick to win the First Division next season? Is Shehan(sp?) signed up for next season?
Based on the performances on Saturday, and in the 2 games at Jackman, I wouldn't expect much of a push from Limerick for it. They were good the first time at Tolka though. Very good.