In that eventuality Nesta, the European spot goes to fourth placed team in the league.
Printable View
In that eventuality Nesta, the European spot goes to fourth placed team in the league.
Yup. Probably doesn't help that season tickets/guestlists are cut down on quite strictly.
The one advantage we have over the English game, strangely, is little money. Maybe we could use that to help.
Let season tickets cover cup games. Share the (reduced) gate anyway. Then give prize money. Something like -
Knocked out in the first round = €1,500
Win first round = €2,500
Knocked out in the second round = €2,500 (this guarantees all teams some prize money)
Win second round = €5k
Win each subsequent round = €5k
That's a total prize fund of €227k I think. So for example, Bray getting to the quarters would have earned €10k prize money so far - €5k for each of their two wins. And if they beat Killester, that'd be another €5k. Killester would have earned €12.5k because they also won in the first round.
But where the FAI would come up with €227k from is another question - not as if their turnover is up €30m in the past decade or anything.
Oh, wait...
I don't have a source but I was of the belief that if the cup was won by the team already qualified for the Champions League then the runner up got the Europa League spot if they hadn't already qualified for it but if the cup winners were already qualified for the Europa League then the spot would go to the 4th place team.
Same for other countries though...
Though that said, how often has the Cup runners-up actually qualified?
We qualified in 2001 due to Bohs winning the double. Probably our most respectable showing to be honest!
I assume they had yous in the shed then?
A few intrepid ( and quite elderly) souls found their way to the Connaught Street terrace, either seeking a decent view or perhaps it was 20 years since they've been in Dalymount. In any case a dozen security guards made sure they moved to the Des Kelly shed.
As opposed to watching 3/4 s of the pitch from the away facilities in oriEl.
Probably 300 Dundalk fans at a stretch.Lots of freebies from Dlk in the Directors box.all carrying a bit of weight.
Undeserved draw for Dlk they celebrated their plucky draw to excess, bless them
Ah were they wearing colours? Always plenty of Rovers fans in the Jodi when we play there, but then again stewards are no match for rowdy Rovers fans.
This feels a bit like dragging the thread off-topic, but 2,518 at City v Galway.
We didn't celebrate the point.One draw and one win is a poor return this season against a very ordinary Dundalk team in a very poor quality league.
Leinster cup is the real competition this season
Pats v Derry 926
Good Harps crowd at Cabinteely last night. Around 100, which is mental seeing as we had no buses running.
Awful how their home crowds have completely fallen away. Max of 250 in the ground.
Here we go again, the predictable and jaded comment that we see every year from a fan of a side having a mediocre season, out of the cup and probably out of contention for Europe. 'It's a poor league'
Very ordinary side, tell that to Pats after 45 mins last Monday night.
LOL. It's always a **** year in the league and Cup when you're not involved at the latter stages of either!!
Seen the photos Oriel,Des kelly was well packed up with Dlk fans and the lads on the radio said there was a good crowd sitting beside them in the Jodi.
Well we are pretty crap for the.most part but comfortably in fifth place.We were still good enough to give Dundalk a spanking in Oriel and have the luxury of missing a Peno
Should also have won last night in what was a nothing game for us.
In my time I can think if three or four better Dundalk teams in the last thirty years better than this crop.
In any event good to have a bit of raw rivalry with someone other than Rovers!!
Great atmosphere last night.
732 at Shelbourne v UCD
2,178 at Sligo v Shamrock Rovers
Any estimates on the Drogs attendance last night? I hear it was a shocker :( 400
No team has gone through a season without losing a game or having a bogey side. This year for Dundalk it is bohs that doesn't make Dundalk ordinary it just means you've seen them at their worst so your opinion is unbalanced. And the line about the league being poor is just lazy.
I hate to rain on your parade but their is currently no rivalry between the two clubs, not from our side anyway. Bohs have certainly put it up to us this season and put in two of the best performances against us that I've seen but once the final whistle went on Friday bohs were forgotten and we turned our attention to teams who can challenge us.
Oh and your estimate of the away crowd is a good bit out. Between the Des Kelly and the Jodi I would have said 500
Need the star power of Pat Flynn back on the field. Crowds suffering without him.