No point answering to your comments, you don't seem to understand.
Printable View
Yeah what swedish and polish teams have qualified for the group stages of the champions league in the last 4 years. How many of their squads play in the supposed best league in the world compared to ours? Have they got better squads than us? yes or no
Oh...sorry you mean top quality scottish players like darren fletcher, stephen McManus, Kenny Miller, and James McFadden and barry ferguson...what was i thinking? We didnt have the manager, but isnt that half the point!! to get the best possible preformance from the group of players at their disposal.!!
Also i dont shout abuse at them, but iam entitled to be unhappy and jump around like a leprachaun when we lose...I wont stop goin, and i wont stop complaining either..because ill follow the team through Thick and thin..unlike alot of other irish fans!!
Point 3= Someone payed for the performances namely Stephen Staunton. By god did pay dearly publically humiliated and broken down as a man. We have a good 15 players thats all. If we have a few injuries we are up the proverbial creek without a paddle. The Irish team need your support not your abuse.[/QUOTE] I think youl find it was the fai who paid, 800,000 to be exact..he was on 400,000 grand a year, no one forced him to take the job,,the abuse was harsh and over the top..but he made a hash of it...plus stan is the most over-rate player ever he was never a 'great' player for us!
Steve finnan has now retired , served us pretty well and so deserves his chance to give out to the media. But the fact is that we were utter toilet in the last campaign and everyone involved should be ashamed of themselves except Hunt , Doyle , Given and Dunne , maybe andy reid( apologies if i have left anyone out but thats about it for me , S. Ireland outwith grannygate and carsely for turning up but not for his play). We need committed individuals. if the players dont like going on international duty then get lost. retire if you like. we will support the eleven lads who are on the pitch. If we dotn agree with the management then we will let them know. With a decent manager we could be close to challenging regardless of who we get in the group with and we could be going to every second or third tournament. we have been to 1 in the last 7 tournaments. i think we should have gone to more , certainly the year we were seeded first was a poor performance. we have outstanding fans , committed in a way that the french bandwagon jumpers and the germans who expect to win every game will never know.
Impatient? My arse!
Qualification for tournaments has relatively little to do with it. Irish supporters expect the team to be competetive. They expect the team to still be in contention to qualify for a tournament with three games to go. Looking around Europe at comparatively sized nations, their player pools and general standard ...that's not asking too much.
I, and I suspect the great majority on here, fully agree with you in relation to the media. We now have an element in our media that bring Kermit the Frog dolls to Irish training sessions. Now personally I'd like that element rounded up and gassed like rats but my legal advice is that, if I were to do so, my position before the courts and in the eyes of the law is at best uncertain and perhaps even actionable.
I think youl find it was the fai who paid, 800,000 to be exact..he was on 400,000 grand a year, no one forced him to take the job,,the abuse was harsh and over the top..but he made a hash of it...plus stan is the most over-rate player ever he was never a 'great' player for us![/QUOTE]
102 caps seem to say otherwise. No he wasn't forced to do the job. But he got it he had to go grand i can except that. Humiliating him publically is not exceptable.
Scotlands first 11 was far ahead of ours throughout the qualifying campaign. I Will admit that if we have everyone fit our first 11 is good enough to qualify after that any injury and we are fecked. Scotland had their preferred first 11 available most of the time in the qualifying.
agree 100% Roger well said...
And maybe because Wales beat them 5-2 the same week, same place.
jebus, just because the fans are wrong doesn't make the players right. They underperformed in the last campaign.
Its doubtless that some do endorse this approach, similarly there are some in Germany who fully endorse facism, but they are the minority in the extreme. The vast majority feel that the media have a serious problem but this should not distract us from the fact that our team has underachieved in recent years.
Your problem appears to be that you cannot accept anyone's opinion but your own. Numerous posters on this board have made extremely valid and relevant points on this topic yet you have chosen to simply ignore them and continue to argue a side issue.
Not to the point that some of you think. They came third, albeit with a lower points total then should be expected, which is their natural level in a group including the Czechs and Germany, and I'm sure the players were taken back with the absolute **** that was spouted against Staunton in particular, and them all in general, by the media and the ordinary fan. Once again some of ye seem to think that if your country wants you then it's national duty to uphold the standards the fans set for you. It isn't, you don't pay their wages, they are there by choice, and so when they don't want to be they should be allowed leave without any fuss, or in the case of footballers like Finnan, to a round of applause, not to a bunch of 'I'm more Irish than you' lunacy for a bunch of no-marks
And those valid points that I haven't argued would be?
By the by The Sun has one of the highest readerships in Ireland, first or second if I remember correctly, the majority of which are males, and on an assumption, sports loving males, so they obviously found something in the Kermit the Frog nonsense that they enjoyed, so I don't think its as small a majority as you think
If I took the Ireland job and did an atrocious job (which is what Staunton did) then I would be expecting abuse. What about the **** that he spouted when he was in charge of the team and the **** that he spouted to a newspaper the other day? And anyway, what exactly did the ordinary fan do to Staunton that was so bad? The team got booed a few times, big WOW, this happens in football stadiums all over the world.
If I was taking the Ireland job then I would expect nothing else from the national tabloids. I suggest you go into a newsagents and have a look at the front page of the tabloids as what happened to Staunton is nothing new. Why are you blaming the ordinary fan for these things? Again, what exactly did the ordinary fan do to Staunton that was so bad?
They verbally abused the guy from the stands, they bought the tabloids that sought to make his life a misery, and they tuned in to the show that made him seem mentally disabled. That and they talked endlessly about how much of a disgrace he is, both to each other and on the national airwaves, when he is anything but.
Finnan says that type of personal criticism is too much. I agree.
I think it's sad that tabloid culture has taken hold in Ireland, not to mention the hypocrisy of the likes of The Mail having an Irish edition given their utter contempt for the Irish in the parent edition.
Not having tabloids used to be one of the best things about "old Ireland". The fans' outlook has changed. They've become spoilt and think Ireland is a good substitute for a Premiership team. Shame, though there are still great fans in among the support.
This is what gets to me Jebus fans come on here with the opinin they are always right, the players are always wrong, Stan was on a hiding to nothing as soon as he got the job. John Delaney being the fault of that. Why would Steve Finnan, Steven Ireland etc want to play for Ireland when as soon as they play badly the fans will slate them.
Which one of the Irish players was it that said that is easier to stay in England and play for your club and fans that love you than come over here and be shot at by the media and slated by fans...
Steve Finnan will be 34 by the time the end of the next campaign, He felt that other lads could give Ireland more. I think he is right, he is suffering with injuries. I will always remember the cross for Jayo against holland. God knows it was one of the happiest days of my life. I respect Steves decision and wish him all the best. Thank you for holding your hand up and admitting it.
Try have a good look through this thread....http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=80806
I didn't hear any personal insults but there was undoubtedly booing. But you can hear people booing in practically every stadium in the world if the result doesn't go their teams way. I really don't think that's enough to slaughter the crowd for or for Finnan to retire. He can hear booing after most games at Anfield these days.
heaven forbid and how dare us that we the fans expect our team to beat nations such as Cyprus home and away. I very much doubt that the majority of our fans demanded we qualify for Euro 2008 - we just didn't expect to be the laughing stock of international football on three occasions (Cyprus home and away, San Marino).
Why can't we all just be friends??????????
I agree 100% Jebus. Well put.
The fans have changed drastically. Even from the McCarthy/ Kerr campaign to the Cyprus game. If the whole squad told the fans, & consequently the international scene, to fuch off they'd be well within their rights. I said it after the last campaign & I'll say it again now; shame on you booboys.
Brilliant