Mooney's on trial with Birmingham City according to todays paper. David Beckham and Michael Owen's agent arranged it apparently.
Printable View
Mooney's on trial with Birmingham City according to todays paper. David Beckham and Michael Owen's agent arranged it apparently.
Sorry, I meant 'token local lad' as Sean being one of the few locals in the squad. It did sound bad though, I agree. Mooney on trial at Birmingham. That's an interesting one, I can see why he turned down Palace now. Agree there should be a few more locals in the squad though.
Right for us to be even competitive next year we need a manager and quick:(:(
Two mates of mine, both decent players, one a former Ireland underage player are hopefully gona goto us for some pre season training. Hopefully they will be taken aboard. A very competent right back and an attacking midfielder.
Kevin Doherty (Bray Wanderers)
Damien Brennan (Shelbourne)
Dessie Baker (Shamrock Rovers)
Robbie Martin (Dundalk)
Shay Kelly (Out of Contract)
Michael Dempsey (Out of Contract)
Sean Prunty (Out of Contract)
Ian Wexler (Out of Contract)
Dave Mooney (Out of Contract)
David Freeman (Out of Contract)
Pat Sullivan (Out of Contract)
Mark Rutherford (Out of Contract)
John Reilly (Out of Contract)
Colm James (Out of Contract)
Gary Deegan (Out of Contract)
Sean Kelly (Out of Contract)
Eoin Lynch (Out of Contract):eek::eek:
For goodness sake surely John Reilly will stay with us who else is going to want him and sean Kelly for that matter!! And Wexler and dempssey too god will anybody be around next year apart from Daire Doyle.
it all depends on who becomes manager, i think things needed to be sorted out manager wise before christmas, and the right man put in place. God knows january will be tough trying to put a squad together, and then start pre-season training
Dempsey retired from football at the end of the season.
This thread is getting to be a bit of a joke. Its named transfer rumours and all we have heard about is players leaving! Sort out a manager and quick for goodness sake.
Incorrect. If he signs for an Irish club we get money. Not sure how much but it could be up to 60k. He was always paid in full, but you have to miss three consecutive weeks as far as I know anyhow to lose your rights. Probably irrelevant since he looks to be going to Birmingham after impressing on trial according to today's Times
Saw that alright but saw 60k a few days ago somewhere else. Still as you say whatever it is is better than nothing should he stay in Ireland
Honestly can't see him staying in Ireland though
He's just gone 23 and the club have confirmed with the league that if he stays in Ireland we get compensation.The ruling is 23 and under I believe. As I said its unlikely that he will stay in any event but I do know that we would get something. All the newpsaper artciles have also said we would get a fee. Estimates ranging from €26,500 in one (very specific figure for some reason) to €60,000 in another. Not that that means a lot on its own but it is circumstancial back up!
Any news about possible new players yet
heard from a close source that we are being heavily linked with two athlone town players that are currently out of contract. one a young centre half 6 foot 4' the other a right winger. no names confirmed. any athlone town fans (ASH!) care to clarify who these players are???
thats stevie gavin back so!!??
Havent heard any rumours ... but then again Athlone Town is a wall of
silence at the moment :o
Centre half sounds like Brian McCarthy ... no offence, well, plenty of offence :p,
but he's better than Longford. Still a bit raw but a great emerging talent.
Winger could be Colm Heffernan ... depends on what money ye have I'd imagine though
Stevie Gavin retired due to other committments . He got married during the season so
dunno if he'll be back playing. Absolute legend and a gent.
PS
Happy New Year Longford ... See ye soon!
Interesting. Young emerging players are definitely the way he wants to go and probably has to go coupled with a spine of senior players. The recruitment process should be kicking off in the next week or two I'd say. He has a lot of players in mind but whether he gets them or not we'll have to see. Shay Kelly is more than likely staying with us apparently and as was said Gary Murphy is coming back too
Actually just heard that McCarthy and indeed Stevie G are the players in question.
Eric looking for a way back to ye too!
Eric is indeed looking for any way back he can possibly get. Not for the first time. Do we want him back? No. Although we do need a kit man.He'd probably take it too. Paul Kelly is as far as I know a part of the plans for next year. He was playing with the Under 21s last season for a while and did very well
A guy I work with is mates with Collie and he told him over Christmas that he is planning on staying. Says he knew relegation was on the cards when he joined anyway and is prepared to play on.
Heard Sulli and Deego might be staying on aswell. Any truth in that?
Aaron was to get in touch with all the players from last year who hadn't signed for anyone else and he had said that was a priority after he was appointed so I presume he has been in touch with them at this stage. Haven't heard any further than that. Would be good if we could keep those lads and build around them.
What about Vinny? I suppose Aaron wouldn't want the guy who wanted his job playing hanging around, but he's only 31. Would he want to come back now? He had officially retired this time last year before Gill persuaded him to play on.
Vinny, lavine, stevie gavin? They were great servants when they were here before but as far as now is concerned its madness talkin bout bringin these players back.. We need to move on stop liven in the past. If we can keep the players from last year that havent signed for other clubs yet and mix it with youth we will have a competitive team.. All this talk of past players comin back is ridiculous.. They are past players for a reason we need to move on from them.. We have already taken 1 step back into the 1st division lets not take a second step back by becoming an average mid table 1st division club
No one is seriously talking about eric, while the Gavin rumours appear to be coming from management and not fans. As for Vinny, he was in the first division winning side two years ago and played in the team that finished third last season. He's hardly over the hill or anything.
It's fine having hungry young fellas, but you need a few old heads too. Did Stephen Kenny not bring Richie Parsons back?
So we would settle for third then? 9 appearances and 8 as a sub for dundalk last year.. Not exactly a big season.. Its just am opinion that we should be showing a bit more ambition.. Biggest signin we can make this season is gary deegan. Getting him to stay would be a massive boost
Agreed. Would be a real statement of intent on the club's behalf.
Well considering Shels and Dundalk have done a lot of strengthening and we've still only one player under contract at this minute I'd say yes. Aaron said himself in a Daily Mail interview a couple of weeks back that 2008 is more about consolidation that promotion.
I hear ye have signed/will be signing Ian Rossiter :eek:
Dont forget Mooney still hasnt signed for anyone else! Well youd never know:D:D
Apparently Vinny is returning to his spiritual home! Aaron is bringing him in as his assistant. He will also be registered as a player. Good news I reckon. It'll be good to have Vincent back around the place.