Three reasons why I would wish them good luck
1)My national flag symbolises peace between Green and Orange.
2)They are a fiesty underdog
3)I am a wishy washy liberal.
Printable View
Three reasons why I would wish them good luck
1)My national flag symbolises peace between Green and Orange.
2)They are a fiesty underdog
3)I am a wishy washy liberal.
The crowd that you get at Ireland games is generally very civilised in my opinion. The crowd at Croke Park games is arguably a bit too civilised IMO in the sense that it's all event junkies and there's no atmosphere. Besides, most people wouldn't want trouble at a stadium like Croke Park. You say that everyone would come out of the woodwork, but that anyone who wanted to protest that badly against England could have got tickets to the game.
I just lied, I think. I was hoping they would beat Spain last night, so ya I would support them I think, not as a proper fan but id be happy for them and for them to do well. Does that constitute support? I dont know! I support ROIreland, I dont really support anyone else. So I stilll think it means I wouldnt support them. Support is about going through thick and thin ( or go to their matches, although had they qualified and I was going to EURO 08 I would go and cheer them on, convenience more than anything I think though )and helping something/someone out, and I dont feel the need toward NI for that, just because they got into a WC or EC I dont think that should change.
So, as I categorise it, I dont think anyone here would actually support them. Happy to see them do well, but support no.
I wouldn't support them. I wouldn't take delight in their defeat either. Basically i'd be indifferent.
Btw Reder: I dare you to write a post on this site that doesn't have any anti-GAA insinuations. Go on. I dare ya!
One word,
No.
No i wouldnt support them, i was up for Spain last night. Its not hate or anything and im not really all that into the ra nonsense but im set on default to want them to lose.
We really have a lot to worry about in life dont we.:p
yes, I would. I'd be keen for them to do well, but not too bothered of they didn't. A kind of half-support really.
I admire the northern ireland teams perfomances since sanchez.
I am jealous of their recent results especially against England.
I like the banter on this site with their supporters.
I would never cheer for them.
I hope they lose every game they play!!
Roger, in a word.............Ditto!!!:D
Not me POS
GAA Fanatic. Hill 16 Dub all the way. Never miss a league or championship game despite having to drive the 150 miles each way but thats commitment!
It has nothing to do with where I was born and some of my family are fanatical about it. I can think of more pubs in Liverpool city centre that show their games on a weekly basis than Dublin ones. It is down to the way I was treated growing up in school here by the fraternity associated with them. To put it mildly, I wasnt exactly made welcome!!! :)
True football people were incredibly welcoming and friendly.
I really dont care about Norn Iron but the fact of matter is most there hard support hate us simply really.
And I dont have to be from Derry or from the North to understand that either. I have seen enough from down here to make my own judgement and also have had relatives who lived there for years and they have told me enough about the place
I had a feeling that was it, along with most, id say unfortunately thats the case. You would have been "english" to them....butQuote:
It has nothing to do with where I was born and some of my family are fanatical about it. I can think of more pubs in Liverpool city centre that show their games on a weekly basis than Dublin ones. It is down to the way I was treated growing up in school here by the fraternity associated with them. To put it mildly, I wasnt exactly made welcome!!!
....to them you would have been the class english lad at soccer. Pick him first!Quote:
True football people were incredibly welcoming and friendly.
I remember a Dr saying to my mother ( when i was a young fella of 16 ah no 8 or 9 :D), i hate needles still do, ye have to get them used to them before they grow up or they will never lose the fear. LIke anything as a child it shapes ye, and you wont be able change that when you get older, so its completely understandable how it has blackened you and fair enough too.
Absolutely I would. :)
Always have been and always will be quite happy to see Norn Iron do well. :ball:
Indifferent to them now. Hated them throughout the 90's. But it was different in the 80's when they had so many Catholics playing for them, they couldn't exactly barrack the majority of their team like they did with Lennon. Pat Jennings, Martin O Neill, Mal Donaghy, Gerry Armstrong all turned up in Derry at various times and I met them all as a kid.
Fair play to the guys who have made the effort to clean up their mess since the Lennon affair though. I'm sure it wasn't too easy to do that. In saying that I still wouldn't go and watch them as I wouldn't feel safe amongst their support.
If they had qualified I'd have hoped they'd have done well.
The team did brilliantly in qualifiying.
Some of the supporters are still in the dark ages and a lot of comments on internet forums would drive you mad (u could say that about any group of supporters) but the IFA are trying their best to reduce sectarian chanting etc at internationals.
Would certainly have preferred NI to do well in Euro 08 rather then Germany/Italy/France/usual suspects.
I would support them no problem.
I'd never support them, Viva Espana, Tak Sweden
I would have supported them. During the 1990 and 1994 World Cups , the Northern Ireland Supporters club at their HQ in Belfast were watching our games and rooting for us. I was delighted each and every team they beat England in my lifetime.
Anyone who can say England over Northern Ireland after 1995 in Dublin, is insane. For all the problems there has been with certain elements of the support in the wee North, they have behaved themselves any time they have travelled down to play us.
I make no apologies. If Linfield played Rangers in the European Cup I'd support Linfield too! I think if we were to have an Irish manager , at some future point, for the Republic we could do worse than see if there are some decent Northern candidates available. They are deservedly ahead of us in the World rankings at the moment cause they are a well organised team who deliver more often than they disappoint at international level. Which is more than can be said for some of our lot!
Afaia, their fans came down in '78, and caused mayhem in Dublin. :confused: From '89 onwards, they behaved themselves very well. Part of this was down to the fact they were banned from travelling in the first place. ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
NI, better than us?? Not a hope. We have a team full of PL players, they don't. Both countries have just gone through flukey campaigns. The natural order will restore itself soon, after we've hired a qualified coach.
I certainly wish them well. i couldn't support anyone the way I support our team but would like NI to beat anybody else.
I am going to Euro2008 (well 1 or maybe 2 games) and if NI had qualified and I had one of their tickets I'd definitely have gone to support them.
Any sources on this as it's the very first I've ever heard of it.
As for their fans being "banned" I believe there was a reciprocal agreement between our FA and theirs that away allocations wouldn't be taken up to try and keep everyone safe. Probably sensible enough back in the day and hardly a "ban".
I was at the game in 1978 as a kid and don't remember any trouble. anyway they came down in 89, 93, 95 & 99 without any bother (they still travelled and went in the home end as we did to WP for the 1st 3).
Even if there was trouble in 78 it was a long time ago and hardly enough reason to hate them. I've been to a couple of recent NI home games - Azerbaijan and Spain and the atmosphere was fantastic.
Are you calling Noely a liar? :)
I was at the game in 78. Nasty atmosphere. Big fight on the Rugby training pitch behind the East stand between NI "fans" and the Gardai. Nowhere near as bad as the England game in 95 though.
Links from 1978 are you serious?
Check out the Irish Times archive from 1978 sept 21.
nice picture of our Gardai pumping skulls on the front page.
Report on the inside.
I was on Landsdowne road when the first train of NI fans came in. There was 3 "bootboys" slightly in front of the mob. One was carrying a full flagstaff with a Union Jack on it and was swinging it at any ROI fans within range (Que giggles). All chanting Ulster over and over again. A surreal situation because Trevor McDonald was standing in the middle of the road doing a report for ITV as they came down the road. The big mill happened at the end of the game when the NI fans tried to break through the Gardai line which was holding them back inside the ground.