And no surprise to see a Northerner wanting the rules changed to suit themselves. If you drew Manchester United in Europe would you move your home leg to Old Trafford to make more money and have a better spectacle?
Printable View
That's what Setanta led us to believe when they requested we move games in the League to facilitate TV coverage for them earlier in this season (which we did - despite taking a hit on attendance figures) - something along the lines of:
"Ah lads, we love coming to Dalymount as it's so good for us to cover games at - ground is perfect for broadcasting from. Move these matches and we'll basically guarantee you'll have the League Cup Final at Dalymount should you get there this season..."
RRS by the TV lot...
How much of this 6,000 capacity is the standng area behind that bus shelter of yers in the terraced end?
As for the viewing of the game, at least you are close enough to the pitch at FP, to make out the players.
Anywhoo, If its in Ballybofey, Derry or Cobh, the home team won the draw/ coin toss, so this sh!te aint goin to change a thing.
Well the thing about Finn Park is that on tv you can see the crowd in the stand as well as behind the goals, especially the town end, which has been packed for the last nuber of games. In he Brandywell, you can not see any of the crowd because they are so far from the pitch, so I honestly think Finn Park looks better if anyhting
Ok Harps and Derry fans neither of your grounds is so crap that it couldn't be hidden by a capacity crowd.. satisfied? :D
Well stuff the joint wherever the playoff is held :D
Our day will come......soon.:)
Proper derbies are more than 25 years old
Sure lets just play it in Croker. That way then there will be at least one decent soccer game that will have been played there this year :)
It's only one defeat in c. 43 or 44 competitive games. That's right - we've only lost to Harps once in 22 years - feck knows how they even managed that win - and we play them pretty much every year thanks to the League Cup. I doubt there is any other win statistic in the league for regular competitiors that comes close to that.
I'll be generous and accept your completely arbitrary and nonesensical view here Dodge, as we have only 3 more years to go before we get anointed by your good self. I'm looking forward to the year 2027 when Rovers are in Tallaght and you poor ignored souls can finally have a proper west/south-west Dublin derby for yourselves..... :p
It's a run that has to end some time :)Quote:
How many is it then ?
If Harps get promoted the derbies give everyone something to look forward to next year.Good for the bank accounts of both clubs as well.
Way too big, and not often enough :)Quote:
Remind me of how big that run is though Mr A - and how many times it's been broken in competitive fixtures......?
I know we definitely beat you in "The Irish News Cup". Do you remember that? Wat a quality competition that was :)
Derry City have played Harps 55 times. Harps won 5 times, twice in the Irish News Cup. twice in the League cup and once in the League when they won 1-0 at home.
Pretty abysmal record for Harps.
I don't think you can count the annual friendly "Ulster Tyre Cup" as a competitive fixture. We've played competitive fixtures 48 times - the League, FAI Cup, League Cup and Irish News Cup.
You may very well want to have counted the Ulster Tyre Cupe games if you had won any of them.
But just take the three premier competitions
LC you played Derry City 15 times. WINS 0
FAI Cup you played Derry City 3 times. WINS 0
eL you played Derry City 24 times. WINS 1 at home.
No matter how you twist it, it's still a very abysmal record for Harps.
Maybe I was hallucinating but I remember Nesovic scoring against you in the League Cup in Finn Park to beat you 1-0 and Sammy Johnston scoring a couple against you in the Brandywell to beat you in the same competition. I was at both games so unless it was October and I was off my chops on the magic mushies I stand to be corrected. :p
The graveyard should be kept as far away from TV screens as possible.
Anybody think this could be slight advantage to Ramblers, bit of pressure being on tele. Could **** the course if ever like.
Except that you're totally wrong.
2 wins in the LC, including our first ever, with Sammy Johnston, still a legend, stick 2 past yisin the Brandywell.
No Harps fans will deny the record is brutal, but at least get your facts right.
Plus it will be all the sweeter when we knock yis outa the Setanta!! :D