Cant wait.
This is going to be great!
Printable View
Cant wait.
This is going to be great!
Attachment 873
new stand ready for decking
decking is in the ground and should be installed this week, they have a load of seats ready to be installed, so by the next home game real progress will be there for all to see, these builders are doin a great job, will get more pictures during the week, but am only able to throw one up, due to limited upload space on this site,
no it foalts on air, no need for concrete,:D
all the supports will be in place to hold the stand up, do you really think the builder want to be sued for the death of 900 people, these builder have built stands before, they know what there doin,
the seats in the old stand seem to be holding up pretty wel so far still look great , youll never be able to protect them form the weather, unless you actually get a cover for them when there not being used,
i have no doubt that this stand will give us trouble in the future and i have heard this from somebody who works in the industry!
i think we should reserve judgement until the bloody thing is built.
ha true... hows the tyre ja get it fixed ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
no i didnt respinde to soon, if anybody out there says they know better get them to get onto the club, that is if you supprt the club, and get them to tell the engineer on the project, no point sayin it here, you complain its at a standstill, and your complainin when it being built what exactly do people expect, if you want old trafford then just raise a few hundred million and the club can build it, agiain people havin a go at he club when there doing something, i dont see a problem so i dont need to talk to the chairman, so anyone who does, call to him and say it, you cant get your point through on the forum.
you think ever stand in the world is full of concrete behind it, were not sitting inside it will never see it again
progress is being made lads,as BM says..'reserve judement until the bloody thing is built'..
Dead right,how many structural engineers are posting on this thread as everybody seems to know what they are talking about in relation to the new stand. I for one have not got a clue about building stands and think it should be left to the professionals.Let it go until its finished and then we can all club in a few pound to get an engineer to give us his opinion about its structural integrity.
It seems to me that it's like a big itch to some people,just itching and itching,lets keep it positive and keep posting photos of each stage don ramo,good work..;)
thanks Gaffer, i have more of the ones i took the weekend, but not enough space here to show more(2mp pics take up a lot of space:)), i will however be putting them on my bebo page when i get the chance, youll find my page by typeing don-ramo into a search, there are a good few there already, if anyone wants to check them out.
Cheers for the photos Don Ramo. I'm no expert (like the rest of us here), but I imagine that it must be goddamn difficult to build a stand on a slope which is wider at the top end than the bottom. Most clubs get a nice big level area to work with! There's also lot of building regs and stuff to think about. Fair play to anyone who can work it out...
Looking at the pics, the steelwork looks massive compared to other grounds I've been to, so I can't see how the stand is going to cause problems later on. Probably just MojoPin stirring it up again...
i dont have a clue about the stand but a person i know does and it was he who said it to me
That's great, just a wishy-washy comment saying there's a problem, but no specifics on what the problem is and who your expert advisor might be. :mad:
The stand must be a huge investment for the club, so why not show that you have the club's best interests at heart? (which I've absolutely no doubt you do!!). Maybe either contact Barry directly or post up details of the 'problem' here so that someone involved with the club can be made aware of it. Common sense...
Not structural engineer but ....
1.roof sloping the wrong way..to let alll the rain in...All newer stands have got roof sloping other way to keep fans dry.
2.Hight of stand also way to high as no seats anywhere near top due to limit on number of rows...will leave lots of rain in also. Will be usefull to keep balls in ground though..
3.plus problems could develop under seats later but I guess we are better off saying nothing like mojo said or we will be negative.what would we know...pro's on the job.
BTW only reliased this late on from talking to someone who knows.That why was posting on foundation below seats while we have a chance to do something about it to see if anyone agreed with me. If they did, was going to bring it to someones attention, but obviously not an issue from response.Too late for rest of issues above.
not all stands cork city slopes backwards just like ours, if your in teh first 6-7 rows you wil get soaked in the rain, the height does look high but im sure there is a reason for it, as you said you friend is not a structual eingineer, the stand might have to be that high to support itself for all we know (expanding and compression forces and the likes), it could also be that its that high as the seats up by the old stand have a god height to them there i think six rows, so the stand was proably built at that height to accomadate that area, and people are on about the slope on the seats being a big deal, id say one the the stand itself would be a lot worse so by the clubhouse end it does look hugh as the seats will be low cause it to narrrow, they more than likely designed the stand around the ground and not the other way round, under th eseats the stand is made of metal not cardboard and it will all be sealed off,
its like i said before the builder know what there are doing, and i highly doubth they wanna be sued when someone dies due to there neglegence,
but dont bother putting off asking barry due to us, if you do felll its a major problem say something,
just up-loaded more photos to my bebo, should have more on thursday
Nice one Ramo. Take your point about the roof, it has to be high enough at the top end to stop anyone swingin' from the rafters, makes it well high at the bottom end. Guess its just something to put up with because of the odd shape of the ground...
Btw, who's dat Michelle? Looks like she's hunting you down boy... :D:cool:
i cant find the bebo page at all.
go into bebo,search for friends,type in don-ramo,search wil bring up his site,click on this and go into photos..
Do you have to be registered?
Ah thanks gaffer33 got onto it there,
Now lets spiral unbelievably off topic for a moment, don ramo you dirtbag, Michlle cant get enough of the don huh?
just a friend lads but thanks anyway,:cool::p
stay focused back on topic
Ya well...time will tell I guess whether they were good points, open for a discussion, or just someone trying to stir and complain as has been mentioned here.
I personally dont like knocking anyones efforts as any and every effort has to be a step forward for the club but sometimes a discussion aint so bad either if its constructive.
I had the very same thoughts as a lot of people regarding the stand, but at least its getting there. and about the shelter provided by the roof, it looks as if the rain would get in but lets be honest most modern stadiums/stands dont keep people dry unless their in the back. im not comparing st.colemans to it but just take a look at croke park, great stadium and one of the best but the roof parts dont stop the rain coming in, they dont come out far enough.:confused:
You're dead right. And next time anyone is in Athlone, have a look at their place, the roof doesn't even come over the front 10 rows of seats! To me, the stand looks as though it'll be dead-on at the top end (where most of the seats are anyways), but coz of our wonky ground the bottom end is gonna seem a bit odd. We'll get use to it soon enough. Along with the sloping pitch and long journeys for most visiting sides, its all part of what makes Cobh an awkward place to come to...
The main thing is that with the existing East Stand and maybe a few extra temporary ones, we'll have the 1500 seats needed to play Premier Div footy next year (please god). :ball:
i thought it was 500 for premier division, when did that change, not sayin its bad its very good but didnt know it changed, sure well only be out by 50 maybe 100 dont think theyll mind, plus we should have the next phase of development under way by the time we need to aquire a licence,
You're probably right, DR. I think 1500 seats are needed for Premier Div (500 for First Div), but relaxations are given so long as firm plans are in place to provide the extra seats. Would be great to stick in something temporary behind the other goal though (like Wexford's?), until we get round to building something proper there. Would really round the place off nicely for the big games next year.
Attachment 878
some of decking has gone on, and it looks good, id say the stand will look great when complete.
not a bad idea, but it would be a waste of money its grand when your overheads are low and you owner is a millionare, but we cant be wasteing money on tempory seating when well be short 50 seats for the licence, by the end of the year we should know of we are building the next stand and that will give us the licence, just the knowledge taht it wil be done.
Watched youths game there the other night, have to say the view is unreal, was shocked, seriously just wait till your sitting there, deckings a great job, lets get seats in asap.