Im mortified for you!
Printable View
Some right whoppers on here :D
Yeah, sorry for not giving the important topic of bags of tayto's my full attention, oh well.
Might ruin my style though.
And ver little comment about winning away from home and in the last 16??
I have to admit Wexford are not great but are getting better and the Blues tried to play a bit ,mind you ,you couldnt but try on the billiard table pitch.
is there goin to be any work done behind the dug outs like there is behind the goals the high grass looks terrible?plus decent toilets would not go a miss good work done so far already ps is the ldmc stopping work being done
hi dazzler
hand towels and moisturising creams are being installed in the toilets today and shall remain there for the remainder of the season. gael will also be refreshing the pot pourri on a regular basis.
thanks for you interest.:D
Any more news on this?
http://www2.limerickpost.ie/fullnews...&category=news This appeared in The Post this week. Fantastic if it is to be believed, but I've heard it all before......hopefully there's truth in it though
Although never set foot in Jackman or Market's I've checked both areas out. Great for Limerick football if they got back to playing there. Good location too.
Can someone clarify exactly why The Markets Field becoming qavailable is good for L37.Besides being the original home of Limerick football.
As far as I know :
There are no dressing rooms,while not unsurmountable still a cost.
The pitch would have to be re laid?
It is further from the centre of town
Further from the train station
Has limited space at some sides
Is in the middle of a housing estate
It would have the be leased and might have no long term future if the site might be deemed too valuable in the future?
If I am wrong about this what are the advantages???
Just to reply to you there:
1. If it's being leased to the FAI I'm sure they'd build a stadium there. The FAI would then lease it to us.
2. See no. 1
3. It's about an extra 5/10 mins walk. No big deal really
4. So what? The train station is still very near it.
5. And Jackman is better is it?
6. And Jackman isn't?
7. If you read the article, it is zoned for recreational and sporting use. Previous rezoning attempts have been blocked as will all future attempts. So the value of the property is a lot less than what you would expect. The majority of it cannot be used for commercial/residential development, so it's not that valuable with that in mind. It looks like any developer who wants to develop on it, cos there's also the telecoms building, will basically have to build a stadium as part of any deal.
Would be great I think. All years away though development wise...
All good points.
Just hoped it wasnt another of these "football in Limerick wont thrive unless its in the Markets Field".Normally put foweard by people who have not been at a match since Limerick last won the league and invariably suffer from poor memory of the times the Markets Field was empty for games.
I'd rather stay and have concrete plans for developing Jackman than spend another few years ****ing after the Market's Field lads, its gotten nowhere in the past, and probably won't in the near future
While im all in favour of going back to the Markets field as it has a larger development potential then the Jacks, i dont think it could be a success unless all strands of football go there. This would mean the LDMC selling off jackman (and making a fair penny for themselves) schoolboy, ladies and junior leagues comming to The markets field, but the move is at least 4/5 years away so ongoing development work at jackman park can continue till then. Btw remember the FAI in getting rid of the DD bid for rathbane did make a promise to develop rathbane as a regional center of football so with this center and markets field with all eliments of football on board i see it as being stronger then any combination with the jacks on board.
Markets field has huge potential IMO providing they get the building on Mulgrave st as part of the deal, this could prove expensive. The ground hs limited scope for development...if u leave the dog track there. remove the dog track and you could build a 25/30,000 seater no problem. The markets field is twice the size of jackman... its along way off though and i hope all strands of football stick together in the interm
The money is in Limerick to build a quality communal stadium. Some of those 25,000/30,000 seater Dutch stadiums are class and they cost relative peanuts to build. You'd need major investors and a number of sporting bodies on board to do it, but it's possible. Limerick 37 would be the obvious candidates for anchor tenants. But as you said, its years away. Doesn't mean we can't develop Jackman to a decent standard in the meantime....
Is this the same run down markets field that cant hold greyhound meetings without patrons having there cars robbed and smashed up? didnt the fire brigade get attacked after an owners van was set on fire there a few weeks back? People were very quick to critacise Hogan park for simular things last year. Just wondering why the FAI would invest a fortune into the place?
Exactely. The last thing we need now is another F**king move :mad:
If we develop Jackman it will be a grand home for us IMHO
John
And your point is ???:confused:
Smallmindedness John...it's part of the inferiority complex some junior soccer supporters suffer from. Not all, just some.
It's just my opinion but I get the impression that the new LDMC committee are not as openly minded to senior soccer in Jackman Park as the previous committee that gave the go ahead.
Is smallmindedness the new phrase that is used instead of "FACT". Limerick37 are only tenants in Jackman Park.
Nobody ever denied L37 were only tenants at Jackman Park. But what about the whole ethos of trying to broaden the horizons of the game across the entire city and county?
Smallmindedness is when people like you make petty remarks about the fact that the club are only tenants in Jackman. Get a grip.
I wouldn't mind seeing us staying in Jackman Park, and I never said Limerick 37 would be buying the Markets Field. If it'll happen it'll be a stadium/facility built either by the FAI or another group of bodies/investors. It would have nothing to do with Limerick 37 until they would be invited to play there. So if it reached that stage, why not move? It would be years away anyway.
It's only a matter of time too before something kicks off with the LDMC, as you can see by the attitudes of some who support or are linked with them :rolleyes: It's all just bubbling under the surface. Wouldn't surprise me one bit that they're only allowing L37 play there so they can get the ground developed to a decent standard......I like Jackman alot but I've no confidence in the LDMC.
So what? Anyone that will be released will be players who are not good enough. And no surprise that the majority should be from the junior ranks, i.e. players who couldn't make the step up.... It would be the norm that there would be more players failing to make the jump from junior to senior, than players suceeding in making that jump.
Its very short-termist to look at the players who made the step up this year that didn't make it as evidence that players should not try. Okay, some players will be released but there are still a lot of L37 players who came through junior scene e.g Robbie Kelliher, Derek McCarthy, Tommy Barrett, Brian Buckley, Tierny (?) as well as practically all of the prospects in the 21s.
If 2 or 3 make the step up that would be a good return for them and the club.
If moving (again!!!) is being seriously discussed I believe the viability, pros and cons of moving to Thomond Park should be on the table as well.
It'd be a big, big ground for sure but so what? We should be thinking big and thinking long term.
Wouldn't happen
The FAI would eat them alive
It's the Junior geniuses after getting the $hitty end of this stick. They just don't realise it (Quelle Suprise) :rolleyes:
Not unless they move Thomond Park to the Southside :eek: ;)Quote:
If moving (again!!!) is being seriously discussed I believe the viability, pros and cons of moving to Thomond Park should be on the table as well.