the last time an english team won it was in 2001....6 years ago!
Printable View
the last time an english team won it was in 2001....6 years ago!
same bullshi*t been posted here i see ''overrated'' ''not as good against the big teams''..... 1st'ly the same can be said about thierry henry and thats off the top of my head and 2nd'ly when united play chelsea,liverpoorl,arsenal etc..... or liverpool play chelsea etc.... no player stands out its the best of the best against each other, dosent say much for say ashley cole if ronaldo makes bits of him does it, dosnt happen does it, no caz he is deemed the best left back going and when you counter that with best right winger your hardly gonna see him wipe the ground with him??,
u want to talk about ''overrated players'' ''RRROONEY'' is terrible against ALL teams IMO he scores a goal here and there and performances are wrote off had he choose to play for ireland he wouldnt have even have cost 28 odd million, btw i support man utd so im not having a go at the players because i support another team im giving an honest opinion!. switch ronaldo with rooney(nationality) and with all the hype in papers etc... ronaldo's ability wouldnt be questioned!.
rte panel past its sell by date back in the early 90's their all full of sh*t....houghton especially talks like he wrote the book on faultless football, as for the rest their all roy keane blojo*ers(no offense roy) dull, miserable sods anyway
Can anybody understand that.
Dunphy tonight:
"Gerrard, a nothing player"
Classic.
right after Dunphy called Gerrard a nothing player Andy Townsend was talking about how he was immense :rolleyes: English football coverage, it's just terrible
Of course he's spot on.
Brilliant stuff as always. Compared to Andy Townsend and Robbie "Jamaican World Cup Star" Earle on the sideline. What a joke ITV are. Bring back Gabby Yorath and Big Ron.
Oh and did anyone hear Charlie Nicholas after Mancini's 2nd goal(where he does about 8 stepovers) for Roma tonight.
"That's just fabulous skill, wonderful. I'm out on the town wi this boy tonight!!!
Anybody who thinks Gerrard is a "nothing player" is letting their hatred of the Premiership cloud their opinion. Ridiculous comment.
I've come to the conclusion that the RTE lads don't actually like football. They like the mythical, never-happened Superfootball that their drug-addled (in Dunphy's case) minds misremember from when they were young.
Quote:
It's all a far cry from small boys in the park, jumpers for goalposts. Isn't it? Mmmmm. Marvellous.
Dunphy's change in attitude from half time to full time was hillarious.
I thought Dunphy said rubbish twice about Gerrard.
Giles can be seriously depressed, at times nothing can spark some joy in the man. If Barca were as great as Brady claims then it follows that either they are not so great or Liverpool outplayed them, by any measurement Liverpool deserved it unreservedly last night.
Probably it was the most out of tune post match analysis I have seen. Bill should have thrown a tantrum at them.
The old Liverpool would have been 2 up and closed down the game. So what about this shaky performance, any analysis of the game would show that it was by some freak that they hadn't scored by half time and Barca could conjure a goal at any time out of nothing.
Finnan is class.
Would the Liverpool fans not let their blind love for this defence minded team cloud what they are saying.
Brady said that if you enjoy free flowing attacking football than you would have wanted Barcelona to go through. This is correct.
Giles said Liverpool can't attack to save their lives. This is correct.
They all said Sissoko is good at winning the ball, but is one of the worst passers of the ball at this level. This is correct.
Dunphy said Gerrard is a nothing player. While this is going over the top Gerrard certainly is a liability, the guy is only out to get headlines for himself, he won't track back, and goes missing in lots of games.
I'm not a United, Everton, Chelsea or Arsenal fan incase you were going to ask
In the context of last nights game he was worse than useless
This is spot on the sooner Liverpool collect their 40 million and sign a genuine playmaker to partner Alonso the betterQuote:
Gerrard certainly is a liability, the guy is only out to get headlines for himself, he won't track back, and goes missing in lots of games.
Barcelona coach Frank Rijkaard
"It is necessary to congratulate Liverpool," said the Dutchman.
"They have played, forcefully, very hard, direct and with a lot of mental strength.
"They have made a great team, organised well at the back and with a lot of depth.
"The result was correct. We gained 0-1, but with some luck. They had chances and were a team with a lot of emotion and at a superior level."
Gerrard is the most over-rated player in the history of the professional game - and that's saying something in the context of English media hype of average players.
I'd have lampard ahead of Gerrard but only slightly (Lampard was superb v Barca this season, Gerrard anonymous twice). The media hype on both of them is disgusting.
That was a good summary of the game. ITV were correct. Liverpool created more chances and were the better team. Not beautiful to watch but more effective.
Brady is a begrudger and Dunphy just tries to jeer and mock just for the sake of it because it's controversial and attracts those people who like that sort of thing. Why could he not praise an average Liverpool side for deservedly knocking out the holders made up of a team of superstars. No, he prefers to mock Gerrard and Liverpool, ignoring the fact that they overall were the better team on the night. Giles for a change disagreed with him.
Some people thinking sneering makes for a good pundit and "speaking the truth". I don't.
I'd have Lampard as number 1 but Gerrard a close 2nd in the most hyped/over rated players of the modern era!
Gerrard is a nothing player who just happens to score amazing goals - ie he doesnt excel at the meat and drink of a midfielder - making play for his team with consistent passing to the right areas and retaining the ball etc etc
but he does score great goals, undeniably so
ps Alonso was equally merdre last night - woefully over rated as well in my opinion - its a real Irish thing to carp at Gerrard's anonymity in a game whilst letting Alonso off the hook
I can only presume its the old minnowistic anti-english attitude which persists to this day among the self hating leprechaun army
pps barca's utter woefulness has been flagged up weeks in advance - Seville did them with 9 men ffs - useless at the back and with several superstars who havent given a t'upeeny fck after winning the CL last season - in that context Giles was right - they were there for the taking - Liverpool taking the game on its merits would have hammered them off the park - yet Liverpool and benitez played as if they were facing LAST SEASONS Barcelona team!
I hadn't watched RTE's football coverage in ages, did someone melt Dunphy's face in the meantime?
On the contrary, I rate Alonso as a better player than Gerrard, but will admit he's having an indifferant season. That said the real reason we're flagging up Gerrard is that we are constantly told by the British media that he is probably the best player in the world, well either himself, Rooney or Lampard anyway, so hence when there is a game that shows him up for the mediocre player he is we jump on it. Bet the papers go on about him being immense this morning too
The Premiership is the most entertaining league in Europe but it is not the best. The ability to pass the ball & retain possession is almost non-existent in the Premiership which is partially why England not good enough at International level.
Liverpool deserved to win as they are effective team.
I could not listen to Ray Houghton on RTE so listened to ITV instead. He may always be correct but David Pleat is the best "summariser" on football commentary.
The Premiership is the most entertaining league in Europe???
Are you having a laugh?
You should watch some Bundesliga. Real competition over here.
This is the "free-flowing attacking football" that produced less than 50% of the shots at goal against us at Anfield. :rolleyes: This is the shower of would be world-beaters, that would wipe the floor off everyone this season, yet when they had 20 minutes to save rescue their European Cup hopes, couldn't even manage a shot on target to do it.Quote:
Originally Posted by jebus
The "great" Barcelona side, have failed to get stuck in when the chips were down at Seville, Valencia, Real Madrid, Chelsea, and Liverpool. Says a lot for World football that that bunch of gutless, hopeless, spineless showponies are European champions. They only turn on the free-flowing attacking football when 3-0 up at home to Malaga, Mallorca, and Getafe.
The RTE panel meanwhile, are a bunch of Man-Ure lovers, who were whinging that the hated Liverpool had the temerity to beat the Nou Camp blokes, again.
And yes, Stevie G is one of the best players in the world. He'd walk into any other side's first team. Would John Obi Mikel?? :D
BTW Fabregas is yonger than Mikel and is already the best midfielder in England. His performance against real madrid last year was the best seen by any midfielder in years
Oh and Gerrard wouldn't get into Barcelona's midfield ahead of Deco, Xavi or Iniesta.