RUgby fans are completely false.
Iwas talking about the ones i have experienced in my life.
Printable View
RUgby fans are completely false.
Iwas talking about the ones i have experienced in my life.
Yank's view: I've spent twenty-someodd summers in Ireland mostly in Monaghan and Limerick, and the hatred of Rugby people in Dublin is fairly well justified, they are an awful bunch of snobs with non-accents (a bit like Bono, when he's in the states). I have to speak in defence of the Limerick rugby people though, I have always found them to be a genuine bunch and a lot of the people who play down there are fair poor and don't share the megalomaniacal tendancies that the Dublin rugby people (and most of Ireland, for that matter) have acquired.
Big changes in Ireland over the years, but as long as there's a pub with no taps in scotstown, I'll know im home.
The world is Broken, BONO make it better :DQuote:
non-accents (a bit like Bono, when he's in the states).
lads, the Leinster rugars act like they dont want to be an irish man, and refer to anything irish as 'bog' this and 'bog' that in their disgusting O.C type accents..
The fact Leinster vs Munster became, media wise, southside dubs vs culchies was bizarre and sums up the amazing splits in that sport that we should try to keep out of ours. For one thing Limerick and Cork are obv cities themselves and also Leinster comprises more than just Dublin let alone south Dublin. You end up with a situation that non-Dub (or even north Dub) Leinster people feel they can't support the team for all the reasons given in previous posts and the country based ones actually have more affection for Munster (and not just because of their success) especially when the bogger stuff comes out.
I think its true that Limerick rugby and D4/Blackrock rugby are culturally different, shown with hilarious affect in Alone It Stands. As is common with a lot of Irish organisations the IRFU it is Dublin centric but thats nothing unusual. The Leinster branch can't even garner potential support from their own province cos of their myopia (don't train in schools/clubs down the country etc.) resulting in attendances that could be much bigger for run of the mill matches. So what do you expect from their fans when they play an opposing province contain an alternative capital (not getting into all that !) and also a city that has massive spiritual rugby history. By the way in contrast I think the emergence of Irish footballers from non-traditional areas in recent years is a welcome trend and long may it continue, got to get most out of our small population and in turn encourage more participation.
But I have to say that Cork Munster heads are every bit as egotistical as any rugger bugger though. Have nothing against Dublin, Cork or Limerick, quite the opposite I (maybe unusually) like them all. Just my observations on rugby culture.
.....as an aside you get a lot of women at the Croker rugger matches (fit at that). Are much bigger on the tickets for the girlfriend front. Interesting to see if the FAI "extras debacle" will have a similiar effect.
from another thread.....again the media, but generally when it comes to garda operations they are the first to get wind. this is exactly what i was worried about....Quote:
GARDAI advice could lead to the postponement of the March 23 clash of Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers due to concerns about Welsh football hooligans arriving for the following day's international with Ireland at Croke Park.
Bohs and Rovers officials will meet with the FAI and Gardai today to discuss a possible re-arrangement of the first meeting between the Dublin rivals after the Hoops return to the top flight.
The Gardai are believed to want to channel their energies into the Welsh match that weekend after discussions with their counterparts in Cardiff provided evidence that known trouble makers are planning to make the journey to Dublin.
Football in Wales has traditionally suffered problems with hooligan elements. Supporters of Cardiff City were recently banned from attending Championship games away to Wolves after the Midlands' club cited trouble with Bluebirds supporters in previous fixtures at Molineux.
The Dublin derby is likely to be moved back by three days until Monday 26th March. There is normally a large police presence for the fixture and there were disturbances prior to an FAI Cup match between the sides last year