Actually a few. They've said its more real here watching football. Point remains however.
Printable View
http://www.barmyflags.com/getthumb.p...0112214721.jpg
It's not the end of the world is it,stop moaning and whinging,people can do what they want.I don't follow Liverpool btw but think the flag in the link looks good,and if it makes the owner happy well so be it.Stop being so pc and serious.
Ironicaly there is a stall down at arsenal which sells tricolours with the arsenal crest on the middle of it. Although I've never felt the need to buy one.
How would we feel about 'Chelsea' fans objecting to a tricolour being hung out at stamford bridge? I personally would feel that they were being racist.
Good for goose, good for gander, no?
It's nothing to do with 'PC', infact if anything you are being politically correct.
Peadar is right.I remember reading how the 'soul crew' bumped into a coachload of fools call themselves the 'Welsh Reds', with loads of Welsh flags defaced (not that it already isn't with the dragon on it).
Needless to say, the 'Reds' were given some souveneirs of the meeting.
has anyone noticed now at chelsea games some **** can be seen waving the irish falg behind the goals
i think no british teams should be on the flag, its ireland your should be supporting, not some bloody british team that you have no connections with
There's always a Ukraine flag beside it too.
The word Chelsea on an Irish flag? Devo would turn in his grave. Surely this should be a capital offence.
I'm going to get some Union Jacks and write the Mun, the Bock, Tallah and the Queen's German on them and fly them at the next England game.
well lads i have read some tripe on some forums in my time but this beats all.
Davy Keogh goes to every ireland game home and away and has done so for years , as irish supporters go he is a legend. This is a very poor thread started by psuedo-patriots.
These flags add to the colour and atmosphere at the games. Anyone who would insult the people who bring them is a begrudger of ther highest order.
as for the chelsea fella , in fairness i thought that was a bit daft and I cannot accept his premises that it is the area not the team as he has the club crest on the flag.
Its very disappointing to see so few flags with EL teams on them.From now on we should have an independent arbitrator to decide which team has the most flags at Ireland matches.My monies on The mighty Harps :p
we are rovers , i'm sure you are happy there in your "anyone who isnt an EL supporter is irrelevant" ivory tower .
i accept your nomination for post of the decade as it says more about you than all your 1500 posts before
I think we should all chip in for a "davey keogh is a muppet" flag
both of your senses of exclusionism amaze me. I will bow out of this one as i have no reserves of vitriol and bitterness that you lads obviously posess in bucketfuls.
"I think we should all chip in for a "davey keogh is a muppet" flag "
"I reckon you should stick it on a tricolour, then watch as some arteries pop"
ah feck , you made me laugh there !!
Next time I'm at an international, I'll deface a few tricolours for the sake of the league
Guy I know went to the Kop in his Ireland jersey, couldn't understand for the life of him why people were giving him abuse. :rolleyes: Got into loads of rows but lucky not to be on the receiving end of a few beatings I reckon. :)
There was some idiotic bird trying to find the Chelsea flag at the match, being directed by some mates back home in the boozer. Don't know who's worse. Suppose now isn't the time to admit to nicking an Everton tricolour in Basle a few years back and dumping it in a bin. :ball:
Flag with "Davy Keogh says give us a lift from San Marino"
heh heh :D
are YOU davy keogh?
i thought he himself was the only person on the planet who thought he was a legend!!
anyway,
as for names on flags, english club supporters were the first to do it in the 70's, AFAIK, when supporting their club. liverpool fans would write 'Liverpool' on a jack...etc. then the supporters would bring these flags to the international games. started a kind of fashion.
why or why does someone need to write an english club name on an irish flag? what is the purpose?
why even bring a tricolour to stamford bridge, old trafford, highbury...etc the clubs are in no way irish and do not identify themselves with irishness.
and as for bringing a flag with an english club crest or name to an irish international?? :o
i personally don't agree with the tricolour being defaced at all but i can understand it when an eL club is represented or if the place you are from is identified. but as for the chelsea,l'pool, man u tricolours :rolleyes:
With Spain, they put the same stuff on but do it to flags without the crest. Best one of the World Cup was the big Spanish badgeless flag with 'Bilbao' on it. It's like the tricolour at Euro 88 with 'Coleraine'. :D
I think it's an Ivory Coast flag too. Makes some sense. Bit dangerous bringing either to a Chelsea game I'd have thought.
B*ll*cks. He wasn't in the Faroes. :D
I've heard he has a little clique goes around with him. In Macedonia '99 - a game he did make - someone interuppted him, and his bodyguard said: 'Shuddoop....Davy's tarkin''.
I didnt read all of the thread, but im sure its just for the craic lads, having your own flag made, and it looks better on the irish flag than on a plain white one.......
But yes, i do agree it is disrespectful.
Whatever about Chelsea, there is always an Irish flag at Spuds matches.