Ehmm i dont get your point ! PP afaik has never really expressed his dissillusionment at his continued (and of course inexplicable) absence from the Ireland squad .Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
Printable View
Ehmm i dont get your point ! PP afaik has never really expressed his dissillusionment at his continued (and of course inexplicable) absence from the Ireland squad .Quote:
the call up will mean nothing unless the EL lads get a proper game at the highest level
He called Gamble's call up a joke because he plays in the EL - yet mods a forum about Irish football. Do you not see the contradiction? Is there reason to debate with a little boy that knows nothing of the wider world outside his´' bubble?Quote:
Originally Posted by gustavo
My point is that some people progress and move up from their lowly status. Others don't. Therefore, it's ridiculous to use his past as a reason to deny him an opportunity now.Quote:
Classic .... that is pure gold !! :p :DQuote:
Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
I'm also a mod on the board here and I dont agree with PP on that point but I dont call him a little boy , You can try to influence and maybe peoples opinions by making good debate and elequantly phrasing your point rather than name calling
Gentlemen and ifk101, if you can't see the wind-up for what it is then I suggest you spend some more time out there amongst the people. Honestly! And FWIW I'm shocked that the king of the wind-ups should fall for his own trick. Peadar, I'm genuinely surprised at you.
IFK, spend some time posting here first before you chuck the shît around. Cuss me all you like but I ask that you at least spend some time building up some on-board credibility first.
And as for the rest of you Corkie hot-heads... you should try some self-love before you all start spouting off to a straightforward wind-up. It might save an awful lot of tension! :D (I bet some sheep are fair copping it down Bandon way the night...)
:ball: PP
There's a difference. Doyle was hugely impressive when he was in the EL and with the Ireland under-21s. In my opinion, Gamble is a mucker with nothing to offer the Ireland squad.Quote:
On this forum, the LoI is to me what diaspora is to you. ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
Alright lads ... can you all calm down on the mod thing .... Just because PP is a mod, doesn't mean he isn't entitled to an opinion. To be fair, if you're attacking him with that as part of your argument then it aint much of an argument.Quote:
Originally Posted by ifk101
Can we all just keep it football please ..... for the record, PP .... your opinion is cráp !! :p
Touché! Peadar 1-1 PP (aet). We each win an Intertoto Cup! ;)Quote:
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=475981&postcount=24 (the second part... ;) )Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
Are you open minded though ?? ..... if Gamble has a stormer, if he has an unreal game .... with you change your opinion accordingly ??Quote:
To be honest, anyone that leads their argument "if he is an eL player ... " ... its complete cráp, if the guy is good enough then he is good enough, no matter where he is. You can do all the comparisons you want but it wont change the fact.
And one question, why is he getting called up so late if it is tokenism?
Fair enough so !! :DQuote:
Okay. So its a wind-up now. He digged himself too big a hole that is less than normal sized body (formerly called "little") realised that there was no climbing out. Classic!
As a mod, I don't know why I never thought of using that quote.:DQuote:
Staunton gambles on Cork City star
Republic of Ireland senior international manger Stephen Staunton has called Cork City's Joe Gamble into his squad for the training camp in Portugal and the friendly international against Chile on May 24.
Gamble will join up with the squad on Sunday May 21 following Cork City's eircom League game against Derry City next Saturday night in the Brandywell.
Read more at www.rte.ie
If the lad plays a stormer then fair play to him. Of course I will change my mind. I want the best players playing for Ireland. But that is the reason why I'm not happy with his call-up. I don't think he's good enough.Quote:
I didn't say that his call-up can be attributed to tokenism. However, I do think there are better players available to Stan.
To you I concede nothing. You should notice that my concessionary point on Gamble was made before you started this high-horse rodeo. :rolleyes:Quote:
When I said fair play to Joe he deserves it, it was not a dig at you. Your entitled to your opinion!! You are being a bit over sensitive.Quote:
Apoligise? I stand by what I said - who does give a s**t if your a mod?
Answer: nobody - except for you
In fairness Gamble was my player of the season last year in the league. Its obvious Staunton only picked him to deflect from the embarressment of picking Jason ByrneQuote:
There are plenty of examples of players that didn't make it in the English game that have gone on to prove themselves in the international game. I'll take some Swedish examples - Alexandersson and Linderroth (both Everton), Teddy Lucic (Leeds), Anders Svensson (Southampton) and Mattias Jonsson (Norwich). All the above names were no great shakes in English football yet all are regulars in Sweden's starting eleven for the world cup. And what does this say. Simple. Just because a foreign player doesn't make it in English football doesn't mean there is no future for them and that there're "not good enough". Be honest. Your opinion about Gamble is based solely on the fact that he is playing EL football - and put kindly, is inaccurate and misguided.Quote:
Fairly sure the players above all had success at a much better level than the el though....
You're right Joe, I'm just sticking up for myself. Apologies for the over-spikiness; it's been a long day... :oQuote:
Originally Posted by joema
Your opinion of Gamble is built on what you think you saw two years ago in the Conference - you think his call up is a joke.Quote:
"Concessionary point". Please. You hope he does well - well done in pointing out what every genuine fan of the national team wants.
Deep down you want him to fail because that would justify your "joke" opinion.
No bother! Tis just a bit of fun anyway;)Quote:
Read what you like into my response - I speak as an FA-qualified coach so I know well what "I thought" I saw. :rolleyes:Quote:
Let it go. Notice the trend - I conceded on this to everyone but you. Take your time in figuring out just why that might be. :rolleyes:
Look up which teams all of the players I mentioned are playing for now. Please pay special attention to Teddy Lucic and, I'll give you this one, his current club Häcken. Please also take note of Cork's exploits against Swedish opposition in recent years because it wasn't a fluke, rather a true reflection of where EL football is at.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge
Man ... i wouldn't even debate it .... truth be told ... Jamaican PM and his ilk are happy when they completely rely on English clubs and scouts and coaches to do the work of the FAI and the national team, if someone slips through and they dont 'make it' then Jamaican PM and the like are completely happy and trusting of the situation, even though there are a million parameters and metrics that hinge on a player 'making it' they are completely trusting of clubs in a different country to make the decision for them.Quote:
And you'll never hear of them referring to that ratio of Irish young players that 'make it' across the water compared to those who dont, because they didn't make they were obviously not good enough and that can be the only reason that can be considered, nothing else would effect it, managers changing, clubs going down, injuries ... none of that is taken into account because it has nothing to do with it, its clearly because the guy just wasn't good enough. They know best, Johnny Giles said so.
My opinion is based on having seen Gamble play a number of games in the EL. He's not good enough to be anywhere near the international set-up. I think you'll find that I haven't complained about Jason Byrne's inclusion. That's because I think that Byrne might be able to offer something to the squad. Therefore, my opinion on Gamble is not based on prejudice towards the EL.Quote:
As for the list of Swedes you provided, I think you'll find that there's a difference between not being able to make it in the Premiership, as opposed to not being able to make it in the lower leagues cross channel.
Also, iirc that Johnson lad (who used to play for Norwich) was playing for Djurgarden against Cork last yearQuote:
Look your responses are long past embarrassing now. First it was "I'm a mod" and now its "I'm a FA-qualified coach". Give it a break.Quote:
Can you actually describe what Joe Gamble looks like?
Ugly.Quote:
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/playerprofiles/gamble.htm
Here he is !!Quote:
Face, your suggestion is completely false in terms of my interest in Irish football. I follow young Irish players that are coming through, whether it be in England or the EL. I know that its a thin line between success and failure and I know that most dont make it.Quote:
However, you're making an assumption based on the fact that I don't want Joe Gamble in the squad. It has nothing to do with him being an EL player. He's just not good enough. If he was with a Championship team I'd say the same. I said earlier in this thread that Darren Potter is not good enough for the Ireland squad. However, you didn't query my motive for that statement.
If he dyed that mohawk to resemble a tricolour, he would look very like Christian Ziege.Quote:
Interesting. Are you saying that Stan is incompetent in picking Gamble?Quote:
And I'll think you'll find that if you ask the fans of Everton, Southampton and Norwich if the previously mentioned Swedish players would get a game with their local pub sides, the answer would be an emphatic no. But hey - there're probably mods of an Irish football forum and have a foreign coaching badge of some sort so there opinion is misguided.
I certainly don't think Stan is incompetent just because he has a different opinion on player to me.Quote:
I think your arguing on PP (who's a good moderator) is pathetic. Frankly, its the attitude of you and fans like you that turns people away from the EL.
So its not the substanderd football or facilities? Alot of people on this thread would want to grow up. Fast...Quote:
Quote:
Is that an indictment? Didn't you know the FA coaching system is not well regarded outside of England?:D