But Lanky Cork blokes only go to matches when they are lanky in Cork like :DQuote:
Originally Posted by BohDiddley
Printable View
But Lanky Cork blokes only go to matches when they are lanky in Cork like :DQuote:
Anyone see the poster for the production of the "Taming of the Shrew"?Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhamish
They have it set in Ireland apparently and your man the actor Owen Roe looks like one of Athlone's former( if not still a current) directors!
Anyway I heard that Dublin GAA are trying to sign up one of the Chinese community ... a certain Win Sam Soon ! :D
Good idea by Bohs.Don't mind the knockers.Even if it gets only an extra 50 fans to a game its extra money for the club and new supporters. Waterford United have 2 Polish players and a Nigerian in their squad for this season so maybe some of their fellow nationals might come out to the RSC this season.
This is feckin' Working there was at least 100 non-Irish born supporters in the new Phoenix Bar after the match. And just as I predicted quite a few Bohemians Praha Scarfs.
After last night's dross, they probably won't be back. What's 'Patience, we are STILL in transition' in Czech?
Bohemians Praha nearly folded last Spring and have been saved by their fans.Quote:
Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
Fans like that won't abandon ye overnight. Did you like their green and white scarves? :D
Im seeing a connection to another Dublin club here ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
so do I
accentuate the positive
all this because yourself and bohsfans got laughed at when you tried to pin the riots on rovers? :rolleyes:Quote:
your right, everyone else is wrong.
heaven forbid rovers and bozos, harps and derry, cork and waterford etc will slag each other off. imagine that. hell in a handcart. :eek:
you need to grow up or find a new hobby.
to the bozos who exist on planet earth, let us know how this initiative pans out over the coming months.
What the feck ??? There's 120m Nigerians in Nigeria - yet apart from a brief stint in the sun a few years back, their national team has hardly set the footballing world alight.Quote:
Originally Posted by Shimokita
The UK has a massive Nigerian population - and has done for years now. Name me one English international footballer of Nigerian extraction ?
So why then would you expect a few tens of thousands of kids born and bred in Ireland - in amongst an island-wide population of c.5.6m - to launch Irish football onto an entirely new and successful trajectory, purely because they happen to be of Nigerian decent ?? :confused:
In other words - your friend was talking out of his arse. Racial stereotyping in a seemingly positive way is still racial stereotyping.
John Salako springs to mind , however your basic point is valid. As against that the Nigerians claimed English born Efan Ekoku about 10 years ago or so. Where Ireland might benefit would be in terms of the odd sprinter might emerge.Quote:
Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
Closer to home we have had Italian immigrants in Ireland since the Second World War. Apart from Terry Mancini and Tony Cascarino ( both born in England) Can anyone name one other Italian/Irish international soccer players.. and I would ask anyone to find me another defender or goalkeeper( Italian specialities)?
Irish people have inferiority complex and always think foreigners automatically better than their own. For years eL teams brought in foreigners to play & just because they of a different colour some people think they look like footballers.
It can seen a little in current granny rule craze.
Hopefully a load of them will make it to the Showgies next Saturday so:).Quote:
Originally Posted by sonofstan
I don't know 80 years of international forwards who rarely score might have something to do with it.:DQuote:
Originally Posted by pete
John Salako was Nigerian born himself - not an English-born son of Nigerian immigrant(s).Quote:
Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
Good point about the Italians. Sure - we've had hundreds of thousands of Kerry people wandering around the country for millenia now, and they've hardly made much of a contribution towards Irish soccer either....! :D
just look at national cup results over the last 5 years to see kerrys contribution to irish soccer.ranked in the top 3or4 in the country and certainely ahead of derry clubs.oh sorry yere clubs are not in it;)Quote:
Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
BORING. Why not PM each other with your childish behaviour?Quote:
Originally Posted by Roverstillidie