Roddy Collins just blew Rovers 'no pressure' fixation with his stupid remarks in the press, saying he had no doubts of a win and how he never lost in the Brandywell which is rubbish, mmmm, manager of Bohs when Jamie Hughes scored the winner for us.
Printable View
Roddy Collins just blew Rovers 'no pressure' fixation with his stupid remarks in the press, saying he had no doubts of a win and how he never lost in the Brandywell which is rubbish, mmmm, manager of Bohs when Jamie Hughes scored the winner for us.
You [awk lads have really got to look beyond yourselves, WOW your top of the table, so that dont make you a massive club, yee play the best football in your division, so we play the best football in our division but that dont make us a massive club, and your on a run in the cup, europe and the league and you think its an achievement getting 6000 or so fans in the x. Our last glory year was 94 and we won the cup and the First divison, yes the graveyard but you know something we still got crowds up on 7000, does that make us a massive club, no. Also the poplutation of Cork is in the hundred of thousands sligos is 20000. Ahh sure im only winding ya up ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by RedX
:D :DQuote:
Originally Posted by RedX
thats just mental.
wait a few years until the locals lose interest AGAIN and you are back to where you were 10 years ago, ie nowhere.
one good season and they think they are 70's brazil. you havent won anything yet langers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
The way i see it is we wouldn't have a league without Cork.Now that they are kings of Europe and the finest footballing team ever to grace the league with the greatest ever fans and the most amazing ground they should release a DVD all about their success of the past few years......i just remembered they have won nothing for a long time now.
its actually quite frustrating reading this.
even as a die hard hoop i appreciate the need for (cliche) provencial teams to be strong.
but some of the inane gabage from the c awk fans actually irritates me so much i now hope they fail. and then the mods come in to close any row they lose.
im officially cheering for derry in the league.
i would say that ca wk are bad winners, but they have yet to actually win anything.
LOL So many people feel the same it's unreal.Even if they do win it Rico will have won it with Pat Dolan's team.I always rooted for Cork but some of their fans are so arrogant it's put me right off them.Credit where credit is due they have been fantastic so far this season but so have Derry and i don't see Derry fans on here spouting crap about who are the best team in the league.Derry are team of the season because they have come from along way back to get where they are.Quote:
Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
The jealousy on here is unreal.
We are top of the league, the only Irish team left in Europe (take note small club Longford fans), by far biggest crowds, biggest and best away support (only Rovers come even a little bit close). We have every right to be blowing our own trumpet at the moment.
Maybe ye should all try sorting out the mess your own clubs are in (Rovers fans exempt here, they actually give a sh!t) before ye start begrudging us our status.
You're really clutching at straws now bitter small club boy!Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiseguy
Pat Dolan built the team, Rico is now doing a great job with it. So what? It's still a Cork City team and we're still top of the league.
I really fail to see the point you are trying to make?
Are you taking the ****? Cork fans are starting to sound like $hels lads when they spout their pompous ****. Your claim of jealousy goes out the window as there is no dislike of City on here despite us being only 3 points behind you and after giving you's a good beating a few weeks ago. Get real there is no reason to be jealous of Cork!
There's no jealousy whatsoever coming from Derry fans. I think there is a mutual respect between the Rebel Army and the Derry fans.Quote:
Originally Posted by Speranza
However, what I am referring to is the rubbish being spouted by a couple of Rovers fans and in particluar by a few fans of small little Longford.
The Longford lads appear to be bona fide WUM's and the Rover's fans bitter that they aren't the colossus they used to be. Don't think anyone else is jealous though.
It's a pity some many small club fans tyake everything so seriously.
Of course, years of wandering homeless or being subjected to aimless hoofball tends to rob you of whatever little bit of humour you might have possessed in the first place......
If we're in a "mess" at the minute, then I for one am happy to wallow in it.Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm
Lets wait to the end of the season before we start talking about begruding status, there's a lot of football to be played yet.
SOme our best First Division League Crowds historically have been against Bray.(The home game with Derry in December 1986 excepted of course which was THE biggest crowd ever in Belfield Park)Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrank
I'll say again that I was definately NOT referring to Derry City.Quote:
Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
I came on here to post last night to say i was CLEARLY winding a Sligo fan up...still 24 hrs later and i read all the very serious messages saying Cork City fans are this and that...do i have to explain myself AGAIN..surprised to see some Derry fans taking it so serious considering the great time our fans shared recently after Derry WON our league game..FFS lads grow up...
P.S looking forward to tomorrow nights posts already... :D
One red army..you took one word out of Colms post and thought he was criticising Derry when its clear to see he was not..chill out.. :confused:
Cop on...what could i say about someone that is seriously JEALOUS of Cork City FC..your posts over the last few months talk more about our club than your own.. ;)
Speranza...your comments are well over the top..no-one here ever mentioned Derry as being jealous of anyone... :confused:
And the the Rovers fan/s..for you to be cheering for Derry over us makes me truly very very sad... :D
And a few hundred to Sweden the week before that, a few hundred to Lithuania, and a few hundred to every league game every second week.Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
Fair pay to you though, nothing that comes near to the massive travelling dozen from Sligo....:D
Quote:
That's one of the most hilarious things someone has come out with on here in a while!
Cork City easily have the BEST travelling support in the league. We bring 200-300 to every game in Dublin. We always have 1000 or so in Waterford. We've brought 300 to Galway this season, 150 to Derry and Harps. 200+ to Lithuania and Sweden. We'll have 500+ in Prague.
No club apart from Rovers has brought even 100 to Turners Cross this season yet we seem to be able to bring big numbers away with us every second week.
But sure don't let the facts get in the way of your jealousy!
City don't travel to Sligo very much, we are after all, and always have been a top division club.
But you get back to your abacus, some day you might learn to use it properly.....:p
btw, I really hope you lot come up, I would much prefer to be going up to the Showgrounds again, rather than wherever CHFDCFC will be playing nxt year.
Quote:
I don't doubt what you are saying at all but the examples you're giving are very very out of date.
I will admit that up until 3 or 4 years ago our away support was poor, very poor in fact but it's grown ever since and in the past 2 years we have shown that we have the best away support in the league. Rovers and Derry are also good but everyone else's travelling numbers are pathetic quite frankly.
because most people were only just back from Sweden and couldn't afford more time off work, thats why!Quote:
wouldn't bet on it.Quote:
Our away support was, to put it mildly, absolutely pathetic until about 3 years ago. Its grown every year since then to the extent that it is IMO as good as anyone else in the league. You wouldn't have seen a decent City support at the Showgrounds, because last time you lot were in the Premier, was before our away support started improving. Easy to understand why you have that impression, but we'll put ya right next season ;)Quote:
You can hardly call our away support pathetic :mad:. We always bring a good crowd regardless of the location ;).Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm
But you are the 1st division so we don't see it. :cool:Quote:
Originally Posted by sligoman
As much as we would like to. :ball:
we brought 400 to monaghan, 300 to galway twice, 300 to dublin twice. if every1s bein honest no other team in da country would every bring that many to a 1st division game
UCD brought about 50 to our away League Cup game aginst Dublin City. Our biggest travelling support since similar game against Shamrock Rovers.
:D :D :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Bald Student
Without wanting to get drawn into the arguement that our away support is bigger than yours, Cork and Derry are at opposite ends of the country. When games are played on a friday night, it involves taking a whole day of work. It's a 12 hour round trip. I can't get to all the away games, but i don't think that makes me any less of a fan.
Far too many Dublin fans don't ever seem to understand this.Quote:
Originally Posted by derrymac
With the exception of Waterford for us, and Harps for Derry, every second week is a long trip for both these clubs, (and the same for Harps, Waterford )
Maybe you should have a couple more clubs in Cork. :pQuote:
Originally Posted by patsh