Well done Cork. Sweet result.
btw Thanks for the tip CTID. I'm sure it's duly noted :rolleyes:
Printable View
Well done Cork. Sweet result.
btw Thanks for the tip CTID. I'm sure it's duly noted :rolleyes:
Liam was outstanding!
Fenn was composed and slick.
Danny Murphy was the dogs undercarriage! How brave is that lad!
Mick Devine was alert and in control at all times. (Don't mention the back pass) ;)
Georgie was tricky and inventive.
Joe was solid and disrupted their build up play.
Greg was tremendous!
Hoggie was even better than he normally is, and that's saying something.
Flynnie was a threat.
Benno was brilliant! Hope the injury isn't too serious.
Dan was strong and lead from the back.
Roy caused trouble when he came on.
All round it was an impressive performance.
Very professional and we deserved to progress.
If it wasn't for the All Blacks winger that Djurgardens had between the sticks, we'd have beaten them on the night.
How big was that keeper!?
I was pleased with the performance of the officials.
RTÉ have had 3 huge games in the last few weeks and they have to feel they've got value for money.
By the way, who were the two Longford Town fans that Darragh Maloney was talking about?
If I had one criticism of the team last night was our reluctance to shoot. There were oppertunities there to have a smack but the passing continued, it's only a small gripe as I thought we kept the ball well anyway.
Today is not a day for criticising the team.Quote:
Originally Posted by sullanefc
What we've done is fantastic and validates our success last year.
I'm sure you could find a lot wrong with the performance if you went looking for it but the most important thing is that we worked together as a team to get the result we needed.
Lets just savour the moment.
Agreed.Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
Just to put things into perspective, before last nights game we had a coeffecient of 1.375 and Djurgardens IF had a coeffecient of 10.076
Going forward,
Hamburger SV have 24.166
Everton have 20.864
SK Slavia Praha have 35.223
AJ Auxerre have 51.324
PAOK FC have 35.715
Hamburger SV have qualified through the Intertoto Cup.
SK Slavia Praha and Everton dropped out of the Champions League.
Make no doubt about it, we're in with the big boys now!
fair play to cork, only saw the first half but this is a victory for positive football by an el side - the contrast with shelbournes european "effort" could not be more marked - and marks the gulf between Rico and Fenlon in attitude to the game
They came at us a bit more in the second half but that brought the best out in our game.Quote:
Originally Posted by wws
Kearney was like the Damien Duff of Ireland the way he tormented defenders and midfielders alike.
I think Kenny at Derry will mean that the eL will be well represented next year in Europe again.
Fair play to Georgie in his interview after the game. He recalled how the previous management were the ones three years ago that set the ball rolling, and gave them the belief not to be 'mediocre' any more.....
I know most of ye have goldfish memories..nice of Georgie not to. :ball:
my read of it is that Dolan gave them the psychological boost that cork football badly needed - he planted the ide in their heads about belief - and he brought a shítload of players in. But it really took a football brain to make best use of it - stand up rico - together they'd make some partnership!
DittoQuote:
Originally Posted by wws
I'm just so proud today. Reading the match reports is like reliving it again. I;ve a big grin today at work :D
340 mile round trip for home European game was totally worth it. Its great to knock out arrogant opposition by playing better football than them. Its brilliant to see "cultured foreigners" resorting to long balls to Dan Murrays head.
Kearney was amazing & Fenn again really rose to the occasion.
Was really only worried in the middle of the 2nd half when the Swedes rasied the tempo & we were under some pressure.
How did it look on tv? Even with the Shed closed atmosphere was brilliant with whole ground singing from the start.
I think a lot of barstoolers took notice last night as been getting few texts from people who would never watch the eL.
No doubt Dolan has to get some credit, I would agree with wws' assessment.
However, Dolan needs to let go now and stop hanging around.
Brilliant, but it made me upset that I couldn't be there.Quote:
Originally Posted by pete
If the Shed is going to be closed, could we not do a better job of covering all that side with flags?
One huge one and loads of smaller ones?
If they're running along the tops of the crush barriers they look good on TV.
well in fairness hes been co commentator for TV in your last three games, he's hardly hanging around - by the way not a peep out of cork players or manager about the massive "training facilities" issue
just goes to show how real an issue that was in the greater scheme of things...
Did Dolan have an anti-dublin/FAI rant last night?
The one thing i think is great about Rico is he lives in the moment & doesn't spoil it by any stupid rants - everything in its own time.
I think City have adapted to the European style nicely and its great to see the team excel the way they have
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
have to say turners cross looked BETTER with the shed closed - as it packed teh rest of the ground - ive never seen a tv game where the rest of teh ground didnt look bad cause of empty seats at the annes end - the shed itself even if full looks awful on tv as it barely takes up 1/3 of that end and looks like a builders afterthought rather than part of the stadium - the sooner it goes the better from an image point of view
the opposite end looked brilliant on tv especially when the crowd got more behind the team
What were the viewing figures last lads ?? .... anyone know ??
The picture says it all!Quote:
Originally Posted by kingcolers
Quote:
Originally Posted by pete
the funniest part of the commentary fell to Ger Canning - after acity attack early in the game he wet himself with "They know what they're doing! City know what they're doing!"
I think he was working under the assumption that the Cork players took up this football lark at the start of the season :D
But do you think the club will throw away the extra cash they could gain form holding it in a bigger ground?Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
You wont get any argument from me about that.Quote:
Originally Posted by wws
Can't wait for the redevelopment!
I think its was very interesting the way City players didn't go nuts celebrating. They obviously celebrated for a few minutes but then went off to their changing room & back out for warm down.
Shows how irish football getting more professional & credit to Rico for not focusing too much on Europe to the detrement of the league.
Well done Cork City. It was great to be there (cheers Éanna). You more than deserved it. Kearney, Gamble and especially Murphy were the real heros in my book but credit's due all round! :D
I don't know who was the official Man of the Match I saw Neal Fenn got it but imo Liam Kearney should have got it.
What a player.What a player.
Fabulous result but more important was the performance. To get through by attacking Djurgardens and causing them prblems makes it so much better than sitting back and holding on to the 0-0 (Fenlon take note!). To see Kearney, O'Callaghan and Fenn beating players and outplaying the opposition was fantastic, really shows the quality in the league very well.
Well done Cork and best of luck in the next round. :cool:
I was at the game and it is the best European display I've ever seen from an Irish Club side ( and in fact a lot better than the football the Ireland team have played in a number of matches ).
The atmosphere is electric and was possibly one of the best atmospheres I've ever been in.
The team ( every single one of them ) were magnificent and each player was able to hold onto the ball and find another City player with it, yes, even Dan Murray :eek:
Technically Cork were excellent, the defending was superb ( they must have won 65-75% of the challenges and at least 90% of the headers ) but it was there overall play and use of the ball that was just mind blowing. :)
I said to the friend who was with me who supports City that if City play like this then they deserve to win the league. Pat Fenlon has been shown what can be done by an Irish team in Europe and should bow his head in shame. :mad:
I listened to 96FM this morning and a woman came on the air to say that she doesn't follow sport but she flicked over to the match on TV last night and was glued to it, basically thought that it was amazing and has found a new pastime for herself now ( supporting Cork City ). I said to my friends after the 1st leg against Steau that whatever about the result, Shels would never attract new fans by playing 4-5-1 longball.
Fair play to Cork, you've really brought it to the next level. :)
[QUOTE=Shelsman]
I listened to 96FM this morning and a woman came on the air to say that she doesn't follow sport but she flicked over to the match on TV last night and was glued to it, basically thought that it was amazing and has found a new pastime for herself now ( supporting Cork City ).
I heard that too thought it was class. I work in a shop with alot of old women who would'nt have an interest in sport at all and alot of them came up to me today and said they watched the match. The tea breaks at work were filled with did you see the CITY match last night and didnt Rico look well and he is so well spoken not the usual gossip. I was in my element had some smile on my face all day. Didnt get much work done but what could you do!!!!
Agree with everything. Would like to say how well John O' Flynn played. All heart, skill , speed. The Flynny of old is the Flynny of new. Keep it up John. Watch out Finn Harps. Goals to follow. And Roy O Donovan did really well when he came on because it was a big pressure situation especially after being left out.
Brilliant performance ,crowd result etc etc.Danny Murphy was my man of the match.(I missed the shed).Its brilliant to hear other LOi fans supporting Cork City as well and getting all there good wishes .Thanks . :)
Forget to say about Richardsons decision to bring on O' Donovan for Alan Bennett. My god that took guts and i admit i was taken aback. In retrospect good man Damien. Big Derek has seen so little football this season this was probably not the time or game to throw him in. Maybe against Finn Harps on Monday might be the time for Coughlans return? I'm sure if it happens he will get a big welcome home. And by extension fair play once again to the mighty Greg O' Halloran for stepping in to defence in such a situation. Christ you couldn't fault any of them really could you?
Good tactics IMO. Shhoting may have delievered something but on the other hand it would have given the ball back immediately and they were so quick on the break.Quote:
Originally Posted by sullanefc
The way the lads played was outstanding I thought. They held it up but went at them when the space appeared - no panicking - very controlled.
A night I'll never forget. :D
Congrats Cork, fantastic result.
I thought that Roy's yellow was the harshest I have ever seen. Totally unnecessary by the ref.
hahaha..... JOKEGARDENS!!!!
Only back now after a weekend in Berlin but saw the game in London thanks to some great hospitality and organising skills :)
It was indeed a night to be proud of City. It was unbelieveable and reading through some of the Irish press yesterday was just amazing.
I thought the team's performance - particularly Kearney and Murphy - were superb and the steel and calmness that they have learned this season showed through once again.
More nights like that please!!
great analysisQuote:
Originally Posted by wws