Yikes.
https://twitter.com/markmccadden/sta...20231081869312
Printable View
Have just seen the Mulreany sending off and I wouldn’t agree it was merited. He did go back for seconds, but I thought he must have thrown a dig or something to get himself sent off, but it doesn’t look like it from the footage. My God, that was a sweet victory though. I’d have snatched your hand off for a point after the sending off, but to win it was glorious. Special mention to Tommy Lonergan, who created the goal out of nothing. We looked really up for it in the first half tonight, it’s as good as we’ve played all season. Seemed a bit sluggish at the start of the second half and conceded the early goal. The sending off really got the crowd fired up, and the team responded in kind. Epic stuff.
Week after week the officials step up to new levels of incompetence. It'd hard to fathom how bad they are. It's time we set put a pathway for ex players to become officials because these lads are plumbing new depths. It's embarrassing. And woe betide you appeal a decision, the FAI will dou le down on the sh1t show by rejecting it
Just saw it back myself (my post was based on seeing it in real time) and I agree it’s not as clear cut as I first said. Either way I can’t believe Malley was only awarded a yellow for his headlock. Another infuriating decision was when Eoin Doyle was through on goal from a ball over the top so the ref decided to award pats a free kick 80 yards back towards their own goal instead. Absolutely abysmal officiating but ironically I think it helped create an ‘us against the world’ mentality in the team and crowd which was a big factor in getting the win
Slowed it right down there and can’t see any contact with the boot. I don’t think that clip is conclusive though. From the best that could be made out of it the correct decision would have probably been a Cork City penalty and a yellow or no card.
That being said it is very quick thinking from the Cork player he knows Towell has flicked the boot back in his direction and reckons, ultimately correctly, on the ref seeing that bit of a flicked boot and thinking kick to the face.
I did not see the game and so can’t comment on the other cards but that decision from that angle whilst possibly wrong is far from scandalous.
If the ref thinks Towell has kicked the Cork defender by the way (after having a handful of his shirt and manhandling him to the ground) then should it have been a pen + red for the combination of offences?
If you think that ref wouldn't have given a peno and a red against us given any opportunity tonight.......
Only good thing to come out of tonight was the cork commentary team saying that Rovers have it harder than any other team in the league as every other team treats the fixture like a cup final. Heroic we are.
Very hard to see what happened, but it does look like Towell kicked out on the ground. Now week in and week out we complain that the lino should have saw it, this one did so it goes down as very good officiating. As for the other two players they were on yellows so shouldn't have put themselves in to that position. They should have been more careful.
Hard to see how Towell would get a red card rescinded from that video. Assume you would need conclusive evidence.
The Cork people shouting from the pub about Bradley’s ill son is the lowest of the lows. Saw a tweet (deleted now) saying they were already banned from Turners Cross. Hopefully the guards get hold of them. Can’t be too hard to identity.
I have contacts in the club but its still very hard to know what's going on or even get info but at minute but either Emelio Williams who owns Valeo FC or Dario Castelo who is Sporting Director of Valeo FC are manager.
I'm hearing though that a new manager and a number of coaches arriving from Portugal in next 2 weeks or so.
I don’t think anything as regards that. The clip in question is all I have seen of the game.
I do think however in the recent Dublin derby Rovers were on the right end of two of the most scandalous pieces of officiating I have ever seen (so bad if was Bohs I would not be convinced at all they weren’t deliberate) so swings and roundabouts etc.
This is a good, swift reaction from Cork. I don't think the guards can really do much unfortunately. Scumbags though they are I don't think they've actually broken any laws.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soc...239152272.html
yeah ive no idea can the law do anything with them. a bit of community service and a lifetime ban from stadiums + pubs in the area of TC should be on the table.
Sounds like you've fallen for the post derby loss bohs spin machine there. Only the peno was clearly the wrong call after replays but the ref was behind it and there's an angle from his pov that looks like the ball was won. Nothing else was anywhere close to the worst call this season let alone ever. Surprised you'd say so.
Either way that derby game had bad calls for both sides. Last night was unlike anything I can remember in the league to be honest. Cork fans are being very honest about it so that should tell you the story.
Treatys recent good run gone wallop last two games,whatever about losing to Galway last nights effort was harmless and tbf to Harps they should have scored more.About 50 Harps fans in the ground ,crowd maybe 500 and that performance will hardly entice them back.
TBF, the offside for Clarke was one I understood how they got it wrong.
The other one was inexplicable. On my viewing it does look like Towell was doing more of the wrestling, and yeah, looking on the computer there wasn't contact. A yellow would be Understandable imo opinion.
Won't be rescinded though, as it looks like he tried to kick, and don't see how he made out he was injured.
Kenny? Stupid. You don't go in like that when you're on a yellow. Likewise Hoare.
Bohs v shels last night also had wonderful ref mistakes.
Coyle could have had two reds, as could Boyd in the time he was on.
McManus gets a boot in the face close to the edge of the box, no free for high foot, delay stopping in spite of head injury.
Look, whatever anyone thinks about individual decisions is fine. We all have our opinions and people rarely change their minds on forums. All you need to look at is how out of control the ref was and how many cards he gave to one side over the other on a game that had nothing filthy about it. He carded almost every foil or perceived foul for one team. It was the worst I've seen and it's coming from a set of officials with history.
Its so bad this year across the board though. I know it's a tough job that probably only attracts a certain type but.....I don't know...it's making the league look worse than it is. There's probably only 2-3 refs you'd trust to run a game the right way.
This probably won’t be a popular opinion but I think most of the cards last night were deserved, from the highlights I saw at least.
Mulraney absolutely lost the plot and tried to get to Malley a couple of times but was held back. Eventually he got there and threw a fist into Malleys face so it was a clear red.
Malley should have went too though, the headlock was ridiculous, so poor mistake there from the ref.
In Rovers game I missed the first yellow for Kenny and Hoare, but Kenny’s second was a jump into the cork player for no reason - totally brainless.
Hoare was already on a yellow and although he clearly won the ball his studs came down and caught the man, albeit lightly. It wasn’t aggressive at all but studs made contact so it was careless.
With the Towell one I haven’t seen a conclusive replay to see if he kicked the guy or not.
The most telling thing for me was that for both Hoare and Kenny reds, Jack Byrne came to both players and seemed to be asking, “why did you do that?” Maybe he could see some carelessness in the challenges.
Comparing a couple of wrong decisions in the recent derby game and the utter embarrassnent of last night's officiating (plenty of cork fans called it the worst performance they'd ever seen) is the opinion of myopic rival fans who weren't there to witness it.
For the record, I think towels red was justified, but it was the same lino who clutched his pearls when Kenny rightfully called out the push on him in the hoardings which happened right beside the lino. The ref has history with Rovers abd I hope moves are being made by Rovers to register their valid case for this grant €****wit to never be involved with Rovers games again.
The post match abhorrent behaviour of a few cork fans has ensured the officials will escape further censure I'd imagine
We didn’t even have to wait a week….. more crap referring in Sligo…. Diallo should have received a straight for a two footed lunge on Bolger ( he had to go off) and a few mins later Mahon from Sligo sent off for nothing….. it’s beyond a joke at this point
Bizarre refereeing,Diallo could walked after it again before Derry managed to take him off….
Diallo was as stonewall a red as you'd see.
Mahon's was a bit soft but he did drag Graydon down while on a yellow. But after letting the Diallo one go, hoo boy...
Fine point for Longford against Waterford,you could nearly give Galway the trophy now ,no way Waterford are making up 12 points….
Great result for the Rovers
Derry will never succeed if they can't figure out how to score on a regular basis. So one-dimensional, can't chase a game.
Didn’t see the Sligo Derry match tonight but my god Derry really are going to have to start capitalising on slip ups from rivals. It feels like a lot of the time rovers drop points Derry seem to struggle to win to either extend their lead or close a gap, you’d wonder is it player naivety in the mental side of a league title race
Incredible flat and mundane effort from Waterford this evening. Town well organised and putting in a big shift again. Credit to Hendo and the backroom team.