City have it in their own hands now; a 2 goal win will do.
But how important could Bennet's disallowed goal in the first cork-Shels game, turn out to be, if City only beat the Ports by one??
Printable View
City have it in their own hands now; a 2 goal win will do.
But how important could Bennet's disallowed goal in the first cork-Shels game, turn out to be, if City only beat the Ports by one??
Noone can say if the ball was over the line or not for certain.
From what you could see on tv Devine's feet were well infront of the line as he dived for the ball. He ended up in the net.
How, with any degree of certanity could the lino claim he saw the ball cross the line when he was way further away that virtually anyone else?
There was a camera right behind the net, and it still wasn't conclusive.
Shels are filth, its conclusive.
Those officials were paid to give shels that game. I have no doubt whatsoever- I'll swear it on everything I own. It was a fix. Whether shels bought him, or Setanta paid him off to make the final game more interesting i don't know, but the goal aside (I haven't seen it on tv yet) he gave every possible (and some impossible) decisions to shels. Robbery of the highest order. The fact that EVERY player (shels included) played on afterwards is proof enough IMO
Message for Shels and their fans- don't bother calling George a cheat after tonight, ok?
Aside from the three who started celebrating before the decision was given? Harris, Baker and Byrne all thought it was a goal, as did the crowd behind the goal who were both Cork and Shels fans.Quote:
Originally Posted by Éanna
The ref was crap for both sides, typical (Of Cork) to only notice the decisions that don't go your way. There were plenty of chants of 'you don't know what your doing' and all sorts from the home crowd too, because he was crap. he wasn't biased, he was just crap, he missed out on plenty of handballs that should have been given Shels way too.
As ever it's a mass conspiracy against Cork though, the ref was paid, everyone in Northern Ireland hates Cork, the usual bullsh*t after a Cork defeat, does anyone pay any notice to it anymore?
The goal was 50/50, all the cameras in the ground and you couldn't tell eitherway. Some of the ball was definitely over the line, all of it or not is very difficult to tell given the cameras, but the linesman thought so and so did alot of the players, if the ref didn't give it Shels would have felt hard done by and if he did give it Cork would have felt hard done by, it's the way these things go.
If you've anything about you you'll beat Portadown by two goals though, so it all doesn't matter much.
What about the two penalties in the first half, when there were two blatant handballs in the area by Cork defenders? All part of the anti-Cork conspiracy, I suppose.
Its easy to turn around and blame the ref, and I thought he got a lot wrong, for both sides, but neither side played to their full potential. Shels believe that just because we have Jamie up front, every attack has to take the form of a long, hopeful punt. We destroyed Pats and Bray by playing the ball along the ground - why change for Cork?
Cork seemed very negative, and Devine's time-wasting ultimately backfired on him.
Heary's tackles on Kearney were robust, but fair. Some people it appears cannot abide being beaten and need to seek out conspiracy theories.
Looking back, there were plenty of chances, but it was always going to be tight. I don't think though that the Ports are going to be quite the disillusioned pushovers that everyone expects.
I'll do one post about City's peformance and one about the goal.
The match- We didn't play that well unfortunately. For about 20 mins in the middle of the first have we couldn't string 2 passes together. The goal was coming at the start of the second half as we let Shels dominate.
After the goal we pushed forward a bit without really looking like we had a plan. Kearney should have done better with that header at the end and Fenn's control should have been better. Roy was unlucky with the header.
Shels looked a better team than us though they had few decent chances.
THE GOAL
I find it extremly hard to believe that the linesman could have been sure all the ball was over the line.
1. The ball was in the air so he must have made a judgement as to whether the ball was over the line, ie he didn't have the line right next to the ball to help him.
2. The header came from a cross rather than a corner so the asst ref must have been standing in line with the last defender and not on the goal line. He would have been looking at an angle roughly level with the 6 yard box. Not the best position to judge whether a very fast header was over the line or not.
3. From watching on TV I think Mick's feet might have been behind the line when he dived for the ball. Why this should prevent his hands from stopping all the ball going over the line I don't know.
It was a big call by the asst ref and I don't think he could have been anywhere near certain it was in.
It's amazing but all these marginal goal line decisions invariably go for the bigger team.
Last night, Man U v Tottenham, Juventus v Chievo in Serie A and another Serie A game this year I think involving either Milan or Juve.
Who says officials aren't influenced by big teams?
Quote:
Fine. We're much better at it anyway! :D
Éanna, I'll take that bet on all you own. Delivery of all you own can be arranged later so!!! And O'Callaghan is a cheat. His acts were independent. Last night Shels didn't cheat, the ref awarded them a goal. Nothing Shels could do to stop that. I can see Cork protesting if they scored that goal!! They are so noble!! :D
what goes around comes around. Last game down in the village was a disgrace. Cork were a bunch of thugs :mad:
Shels were the best team last night over the 90 minutes, we should have won by more by right
Yeah, that's a fair point.Quote:
Originally Posted by D2 Red
I think most City fans are annoyed with the official.
In order to give a decision like that, he must be 100% sure what he saw.
By all accounts, he couldn't possibly have been sure.
I hope all the officials watch the tape.
It's a sign of a bad official if they can't review their performance and at least privately, acknowledge their mistakes, then learn from them.
When all is said and done though, we didn't do enough to win the game either.
We know what Shels are capable of but it was the linesman who gave the goal, so neither the ref nor the opposition can be blamed.
Thanks, Eamon Shanks
Use guys created a great atmosphere last night against Shels, non stop, unlucky with the result, but keep the Singing up.
You're a moron, its conclusive.Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
I again will take this bet. Its all down to opinions at the end of the day, but it was the officials ones that counted. I gueess next time CCFC get a controversial decision we'll start labeling you cheats for that, despite the fact of the decision probably had nothing to do with you.Quote:
Oh, by the way, Georgies a cheat, a diving disgusting scumbag of the highest order. Shelbourne got a lucky decision. I don't trhink we'd see you on here moaning, offering to give back the win etc, if this had happened at the other end.
You clearly missed your blatant handballs in the box, there was a Shelbourne handball in the box too (Clearly another anti-CCFC conspiracy), and the abuse from the majority of the Shelbourne supporters to the referee too as he was appauling. FOR BOTH SIDES.
[edit] is C O R K a censored word now?
Thats wasn't a controversial decision, it was a disgraceful one. I'm sick to death of these mind boggling decisions consistently going against us like Bennos goal (Which actually crossed the line) or the penalty at home to Bohs at the end of the season. I brought a friend to his first game that night and we nearly considered going home after that and I'm far more angry now after that farce from those northern ****ers last night.
True. It was the lineman and the match officials that were the issue. He can not maintain he was absolutely certain the ball was 100 percent over the line because not even repeated camera angles can be certain.Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
I was hoping the Northern Ireland refs would show up the muppets that ref in the eL but they have been terrible in general.
The ref last night was no better. I don't think I've ever seen a worse decision but the ref is going to go with his linesman if he is not sure.
As for Shels, Setanta, the board or Rico being to blame...It were the linesman's decision.
There's no outlet for justice though so as we can do is beat Portadown to put this right.
Shels are filth !!
Cop yourself on for goodness sake!Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
Great crowd again last night lads.
Well done!
Picture here...
Shels did not cheat - any city fan who claims they did cannot be taken seriously.
Referees & linesmen are amateur but if clubs & league are'to become more professional then the officials have to also improve.
The "Goal"
1. As said already there is no chance the linesman could be certain given his positioning & the fact he'd be watching for offside & not the goal line. Was a shocking decision & huge amount of cash involved!
2. Supporters will jump up claiming goal anytime the ball gets near the line. We all do it so can't claim this means anything.
3. IMO Harris looked very surprised that gosl was given - check out the look on his face on tv.
The Game:
IMO neither side deserved to win 0-0 would have been fair.
City were marginally on top in 1st half.
Shels gained upper hand in possession stakes in 2nd when city gave the ball away too much as Behan & Fenn were wasteful.
Kearney & Heary had fair battle. Heavy but mainly fair challenges. Heary deserved his booking as was beaten & would have been badly exposed if Kearney had passed him.
City were as good as shels overall. Aside from "goal" shels only had Harris shot i think in 1st half. City had Behan terrible missed header plus header off crossbar in 2nd.
Considering we were missing O'Flynn, Doyle, Bennet, Murphy plus manager decision to leave Gamble on the bench showed we can match shels. As Rico said on tv now time to show we can pass shels.
In the first half we had more than one chance. Alan Moore had a shot saved from Devine after 5 minutes, there was also a goal mouth scramble which in the end was cleared and Wes and Byrne had chances. Just to point out.
I do have to agree fully with Pete on the comments of some people. Its fine to be piste off when your team loses esp if to a goal like that but some of the comments are off the wall. Eanna is making a play for most Insane post on the Shels site at the moment, and I think A Face is winning most childish here!!
No ..... i mean every bit of it and still stand by it.Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Smith
Anymore name calling & will be handing out yellow cards as quick as a NI referee ;)
I'm not gonna even touch the goal issue with a barge pole. The only camera angle the seemed to show the goal line Setanta did not slow down on.
Anyway, anyone have an estimate for the crowd? How many did Cork bring? (Sorry if this has been answered already)
Christ lads it's not like you aren't bleedin' used to loseing to us.
Main Stand: less than half full. 1300?Quote:
Originally Posted by Poor Student
Ballybough: 30
Riverside: 300 city fans?
New Stand: 80% full. How many is that.
2500?
I'm not bashing shels for the sake of it & should used to it at this stage but IMO the crowd was very poor even by shels standards. Shels fans behidn the goal at least make an effort but not a peek from main stand until after non-goal.
Lads lets face it,
we didn't play well last night, we had at least 4 players who are starting eleven out, and it took an utterly disgraceful decision for $hels to beat us.
Rico, Dolan and all tthe others can stop saying that $hels are the best team in the country. THEY ARE NOT.
Cork City are and all we need is for our own players to realise that
$hels are scared of us. Fenlon brought on a f*cking mullacking thug like Harris to outjump Greg, not difficult as Harris is well over 6 foot, Greg is 5, 9/10.
Don't mind all the jackeen f*cks who come on here shouting "its all a conspiracy against Cork". They can only repeat this because they NEVER deal with the fact that last night they got a goal from an official not from a player.
We ARE BETTER, lads.
Rico BEAT IT INTO OUR TEAM.
WE ARE BETTER THAN $HELS.
THEY ARE AFRAID OF US.
WE WILL PREVAIL.
If you keep saying it Patsh, it might come true!
Great reply :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Slash/ED
patsh, are you actually giving out to Fenlon for putting a 6 footer against a smaller defender?? Hahaha, thats brilliant. Cop on!!! Did you score last night, no. Get over yourself!!! :D
The only good thing i'll say for yesterday was that pitch in Tolka was best i've ever seen it. Clearly not having 3-4 teams playing on it weekly is helping.
Fair play, thats one of the better retorts Ive heard in a good while :DQuote:
Found the game hugely enjoyable myself, but Rico's tactics were badly deficient. Cork's midfield offered their back four little or no protection, and allowed Hoolahan, Moore and Baker to operate unimpeded in the final third. Shels were allowed to switch the ball from flank to flank with impunity, which in turn enabled them to keep Cork pinned in their own half when they needed to dampen their ardour.
Fenn should have scored in the first minute and contributed little. Behan's movement, awareness and support play are top-notch, finishing will improve with experience.
As for the goal, I daresay we shall never know for sure. From one angle, the assistant's decision looked at least plausible. Devine's hands were certainly behind the line, but this proves nothing. Incidentally, WTF was Devine playing at when he came up for that corner near the end? That tactic is appropriate to situations whereby the implications of a 0-2 defeat are no different from those of a 0-1, on this occasion the difference was vast.
So what happens if Cork beat Portadown 3-2, thereby attaning a record identical to Shels', and moreover with identical head-to-head results?
Shels go through, as it goes to cards recieved, and Shels are already one point behind Cork in that category (one red each, Cork have one more yellow). Seems a bit of a daft way to solve things, no doubt Setanta saw this situation coming and put that rule in to screw over Cork so much because they like Scottish and Northern Irish refs are conspiring against them at an alarming rate.Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheridan
What a horrible way to lose..couldn't make the game so watched it at home and there was no way of telling whether or not the ball crossed the line.It was absolutely sickening. Just a few points about the game, thought Fenn was awful. He wasn't in the game at all like. Denis missed an absolute sitter in the first half and he really should have done better. It was great to see Roy O'Donovan get a start and I really thought that he did well. He was very unlucky not to score when his shot hit the bar. I thought that the lads did well enough overall and it was interesting to see so many young players on the bench. An 18-year old in Shane Long, two 19-year olds in Admir and Gutsy, Nults, Gamble and Tynan.. Really young players with bright futures ahead of them. The experience of being involved in a game like last nights will stand to them in the future.
[size=4] We ARE BETTER, lads.
THEY ARE AFRAID OF US.
WE WILL PREVAIL.[/size]
[size=1]btw, you do not need a reply to a statement.[/size]
Yeah, head to head results, league positions, trophy counts, none of these prove anything. Cork are better because, well, they just are! And you've got the over sized bold font to prove it!
[size=4] We ARE BETTER, lads.Quote:
THEY ARE AFRAID OF US.
WE WILL PREVAIL.[/size]