Boy blue I think power and O donnell and there is rumours o Connor might follow them too not looking too bright for them but you never know.....
Printable View
Boy blue I think power and O donnell and there is rumours o Connor might follow them too not looking too bright for them but you never know.....
Cant see shannonside challenging for any honours this season.Very ordinary team.Decent strikers but very poor midfield.Think ncw will win it at a canter..
Hi lads new to the thread, i heard the weekend ncw have signed 7 or 8 new players with some of the above players mentioned,i reckon rovers and rathkeale to go down heard rathkeale are really struggling this year which is a pity.
desmonddevil7 Think there might be something in that alright. Heard there's a lot of in-fighting at shannonside. Last year they lost a few players to city teams and few more would only play B team. They have 1 or 2 decnet players and I hear good things about this new fella that over them.
It will all unravel again this season. they'll burst out of the blocks and fall away after Xmas. NCW big title contenders followed by B'Ford.
They must be emigrants!! There isn't 38 people living in Ballysteen.
Rathkeale are struggling again this year over the championship football i heard. Was talking to a few of them and hear that their A team has 13 players on that football panel. Still in saying that i cant see them going down there's a long season there.
I can understand how people are saying rathkeale will struggle but there is far too much talent there for them to go down. I simply think they wont be in contention for anything other than the cups. Solid B-team last season
Yea solid B team in rathkeale alrite last year hear the managers off that B team are now over the A team. I heard there's a few off them b team players brought up this season to the A panel. would B'ford still not be stronger than NCW again this season?
no one really knows until the 1st game of the season,only then we will see who has signed with who!!
heard thomas and mike quilligan signed for ncw any truth behind that
Youths Results
Saturday, August 18th
Division 1
Abbeyfeale Utd V Kilcornan w/o to Abbeyfeale
Broadford Utd 6 Newcastle West 2
Newcastle West Rovers V Adare Utd off
Athea Utd a bye
Division 2
Breska Rovers 7 Feenagh 0
Bally Rovers 10 Carrig Celtic 2
Pallaskenry 3 Ferry Rangers 4
Creeves Celtic 9 Glantine 1
St Itas V Askeaton off
[/SIZE]
Lads what a joke the youths lge is already,shame on kilcornan giving a walk over on their first game of season and correct me if im wrong are they not definding champions from last yr? also teams hammering teams by 9 and 10 goals in div 2.A JOKE..
Does anyone know when fixtures are out for the 1st 4 games of season.??
JUNIOR FIXTURES
Friday, August 24th
Premier Division
Broadford Utd V Rathkeale 630 (J. Roche)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West 730 (D. O’Gorman)
Newcastle West Rovers V Glin Rovers 630 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Shannonside FC V Killeaney 630 (G. O’Connor)
Carrig Celtic V Ballingarry 630 (P. O’Brien)
Division 1
Breska Rovers V Rockhill Rovers 630 (P. Manning)
Askeaton V St. Itas 630 (P. King)
Kilcornan V Kildimo Utd 630 (P. O’Connor)
Glantine V Adare Utd 630 (P. O’Donnell)
Old Mill V Athea Utd 630 (S. Hartnett)
Sunday, August 26th
Premier Division
Rathkeale V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Broadford Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Newcastle West V Shannonside FC 1130 (P. Manning)
Glin Rovers V Carrig Celtic 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Killeaney V Ballingarrry 1130 (J. Roche)
Division 1
Rockhill Rovers V St. Itas 1130 (P. O’Connor)
Kildimo Utd V Breska Rovers 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Adare Utd V Askeaton 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Old Mill V Glantine 1130 (D. Wallace)
Athea Utd V Kilcornan 230 (P. O’Donnell)
Division 2
Carrig Celtic B V Pallaskenry 230 (G. O’Connor)
Ballysteen V Rathkeale Reserves 230 (P. O’Brien)
Feenagh V Granagh Utd 230 (P. King)
Newcastle West B V Broadford Utd B 230 (D. Wallace)
Division 4
Bally Rovers V Glin Rovers B 230 (J. Molyneaux)
St. Itas B V Shountrade 1130 (P. King)
Shannonside FC B V Feenagh B 230 (E. Barrett)
Friday, August 31st (all 6.30pm)
Division 2
Pallaskenry V Ballysteen
Feenagh B V Carrig Celtic B
Creeves Celtic V Rathkeale Reserves
Newcastle West B V Granagh Utd
Abbeyfeale Utd B V Broadford Utd B
Division 4
Shannonside FC B V Bally Rovers
Shountrade V Creeves Celtic B
Glin Rovers B V Newcastle West Rovers B
St. Itas B V Feenagh B
YOUTHS FIXTURES
Saturday, August 25th (all 2.30pm)
Division 1
Kilcornan V Newcastle West (E. Barrett)
Athea Utd V Broadford Utd (J. Molyneaux)
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers (D. Wallace)
Division 2
Askeaton V Pallaskenry (P. O’Brien)
St. Itas V Bally Rovers (P. O’Connor)
Glantine V Breska Rovers (P. King)
Ferry Rangers V Carrig Celtic (P. O’Donnell)
when did rathkeale b become rathkeale reserves
Shannonside usually start the league with an unfair advantage. Their GAA boys are rarely busy this time of year. :p
best of luck to all teams for the season
Ya 2 Quilligans signed with NCW along with a good few others. A lot of quality players to try and keep happy. May not gel and can see a few switching in Jan. On a separate note its great to see Carrig back in the premier. Possibly the best supported team in the league.
yea great to see them back another proper pitch in the premier
Big ask for rovers alrite but people dont realise downey and o keeffe hardly played 50% of there games last season due to gaa commitments
Hey, can anyone tell me whats the story with division 3 fixtures? I see theres fixtures out for all other divisions this weekend including 4 but not 3?
The master fixture list is in today's Weekly Observer. The 3rd division starts on September 2nd. Ferry are home to Knockaderry that day. The reason for the later start would be that there are only 7 teams in the division whereas there are 10 in division 2 and 8 in division 4. have ye any new players this year, or are ye still playing second fiddle to Gaa?
did quaid from ncw sign for janesboro?? rumor has it he did
heard seamus carroll and eoin o connor from limericks football panel signed for shannonside that cant be true is it???
dont they live miles away from foynes, i suppose leon your rite they could be gettin payed. does the desmond league pay players though
Where has all the loyalty gone players leaving clubs its a joke, shanninside lost two players they cant do without i heard the two players in question got big money to play last year but ncw doubled it this year heard from a reliable source within the club
Thats no reflection on tge players fair play to them
But the clubs should take a good look at themselves its not right
Fri Night Predictions:
Broadford 4-1 Rathkeale
Abbeyfeale 0-1 NCW
Rovers 1-2 Glin
Shannonside 1-1 Killeaney
Carrig 2-2 Ballingarry
only going by limerick district league wouldnt they look for milage allowance.
doubt rathkeale will beat broadford friday. i actually heard today they considering giving a walkover.
i do expect ballingarry,ncw,glin and shannonside to win their games. Gone from the desmond league myself for a while now but like to still follow it as much as i can are Rathkeale really gone that bad, years ago they were a great team. is it reall all one way traffic with ncw and broadford heading them out.
but are their players in the desmond league getting money of some sort in your opinion. and should it come in like limerick district league?
Ok cool. No dont think there are any new players, a few new young lads alright but I havent played with them for years so Im not too sure of the set up myself. Still a long way behind the gaa im afraid. There was something like 20 players for the friendly against Killeaney last week but a lot of those were players more committed to gaa so cant see them turning up all year. Shane Enright (Kerry footballer from Tarbert) is playing with Glin Rovers until Christmas this year alright though as far as I know. Hes going travelling however so dont think he will be around for many games.
Rathkeale will not be giving anybody a walkover this season,it will be a struggle until the gaa is finished but after that should be ok.
The gaa has taken over in recent years with the hurlers & footballers winning county titles.
I wouldn't rule out shannonside, very good manager this season from what I've heard.
Strange the players leaving NCW Rovers, they had a decent side at the end of last season staying up comfortably in the end.
Shannonside to win it with broadford & NCW for 2nd.
Killeaney & any of the others by the sounds of it to be relegated.
Best of luck to everyone involved for the season ahead.
Think league is between broadford & Newcastle with Newcastle to edge it, the loss of power and o Donnelly has to effect shannonside,think rovers and killeaney to go down,doubt if any players getting paid in Desmond league,clubs can hardly pay ref costs, a lot of clubs in financial trouble,think its serous when on opening day of youth league 2 teams can't field teams and others getting hammered!!