Yess!!!!!
Printable View
Yess!!!!!
absolutely sick.
I believe some impostor using my username said I didn't think we needed Finn when we signed him. I would like to clarify that I always wanted him.
wow. stunned. thats the derby. My head says it was a good point, my heart is breaking...
Stu I think if a week before the start of the season you would have grabbed a point against your nearest rivals you would have taken it. Well impressed with Bohs disappointed in rovers again. Maybe to many players for Oneill t keep happy at Rovers is the problem. Well done Derry again another great result
All over at Terryland, 4-1 City
Not when it's Douglas, the guy is pathetic and shouldn't be allowed near games. Telling a lino to f*ck off isn't a yellow card in most situations, with Douglas it's always a red, followed by him grinning away to players and fans afterwards. it didn't affect today's game but that's besides the point, the guy is an egotistical freak.
Have respect for officials were would we be without them. Would he have told him to F off if Rovers had have been winning no, so get over it. Big rase to Hancock for th way he did Dery Dundalk lastweek foonce used common sense and et the game flow didnt really recognise him
he is an egotistical freak and he's got form which makes McCabes actions even more stupid. And going on the replay, he deffo said more than two words to him!!!
I'm sure he did say more than two words to him, but you'll see players do that to linesmen and referee's all the time without a yellow card being given. Not only does Douglas always call over the referee making a ceremony of waving his flag to attract his attention, he's consistently the only one who demands a red. At the risk of sounding like the blokes on Match of the Day, consistency is whats needed.
Surely that makes McCabe even more of a fool - he knows yer man's form.
But I'm agree about he ego bit, as Flexy said Hancock last week was totally different from the Sligo game where he wanted to be centre of attention.
Also seemed to me that cd was right - lino got initial decision wrong.
Galway fortunate to lose 4-1 with Derry dominate most of the game including hitting the woodwork twice.
Thats two excellent perforances in two games and now we are unbeaten in seven games!
Awaiting 25 pages here now from the Boh's Shams game.
I'm not sure about Douglas' history with Sligo, but it really shouldn't be a case of having to tell players when they sign for a new club to treat one individual different from all others. I'm all for having respect for officials Flexo, but if a player is sent off for saying one thing, when no other cards were given for dissent (even the RTÉ cameras picked up three or four f*ck offs from the bench, MON was seen abusing officials, Fenlon too) it gives the impression of one lunatic loving the attention. Which is what it is.
I would love to see FIFA, UEFA or even the FAI come out and issue a directive whereby anyone swearing at an official would be sent off. The game would be so much better for it.
Fupping mons!
i dont see why there should be Cndystripe - it was a very exciting derby match that had everything, was played in pretty good spirits and it looks like the fans behaved themselves inside the ground for the most part. The only real point of contention was the red card and McCabe has only himself to blame for that in my opinion. We shaded it i think, would have deserved the three points but will take the one.
El Clasico - Dublin Style courtesy of Fergus McNally
Ministry of Funny Walks
http://fmcphotos.files.wordpress.com...4/fmc_1841.jpg
At that stage, they really were. Had been for at least ten minutes. But they eased up second half and we got back into it. Credit to Rusty taking off our best player (but not on the night) and putting on an untried kid - worked a treat. Pat's passed up three or four great chances before Rusky scored in the 94th minute. I think we've had more injury time goals against in Richmond than anywhere else (2001 when we were 1-0 up going into injury time and still lost particularly rankles), so delighted with this favourable stroke! Especially against a side who had 8 of our players from recent years on the pitch at one stage, any one of whom would make our current team I think.
Also good to see we can play a bit on a vaguely decent pitch. This season mayn't be as depressing as I thought!
Except for decent football!
If McCabe did swear at the linesman he can have no complaints about the red. I know it's not enforced uniformly but that's no excuse, especially when it's a linesman who has a reputation for not taking **** from anyone. Even with McCabe, I think the best we could have done would have been a draw and we got that, so can't really complain. We approached the game far too cautiously and got punished for it, so you have to salute the team and (belatedly) O'Neill for throwing the kitchen sink at the end.
I know we dont really have a strong enough squad but the team are not playing for Gallagher so he has to go, sorry to say it but its over James.
Ha
(I'm sure people will understand that there is a time for eloquence and clarity and that this is not one of them :angel: :sweat:)
Absolute cracker in Tolka tonight. We had our share of luck, Shels hit the bar 3 times, but we deserved a draw (in my totally biased opinion) and nicked a win. Coming back from behind twice to win, the sweetest of away victories. Roddy has us playing decent football too.
City 5-0 Harps
Brilliant game and also a fantastic atmosphere.
All the goals were very well taken.
Great hat-trick from Graham, arguebly the goal of the night from Davin and Vincent Escude Candeau's first goal for the club .
One of those nights you wished MNS covered first division football .
Going to be a long hard season if you are a Galway fan.
Not only will it be tough to pick up points with that team, but you'll have to listen to the Spoofer as well. Nice celebration by McClean to tell him to button it....
2 points dropped by us. Should have won, should have had a penalty. Not a great match.
Hawkins was good craic though, header.
only in the door and all I can say is wow. We were losing 2-1 and I was settling for a draw if we could score but when we did...it was a oh we can win this moment. Rare to win in Tolka never mind by 3-2. Feck ya harps, could ya not do us a favour and draw with Cork?
Byrne (audio) re-action V Sligo tonight
http://www.dundalkfc.com/we-did-enough-to-win-byrne
17 years since we won in Tolka last....17 years! holy god.
Never mind deserved a draw Monaghan deserved the win.
First half we got the early goal and then just invited Monaghan on to us. Thought we were going to sneak in with a half time lead but it was a lovely strike from Brennan.
Second half we came out very strongly and Casso after hitting the bar in the first half had a great chance which should have been headed rather than volleyed. We got our second and should have closed the game out from that point especially with a couple of the chances we had. But we didn't and we paid the price. Monaghan were more clinical and stepped up at just the right time. Some of our defending was shocking though and that was highlighted by the last two goals. We had our chances at the end but again we weren't clinical enough.
That Monaghan team looks much stronger than the one that came to Tolka last season.
we seem to be able to step it up when we need to and get a goal but our defending was poor at time, you were 2 1 up at philly hit the crossbar which would have ended the game but we got out of jail and came back.
on another note i heard sean brennan was taken away to hospital hope all is well with him
oh and its a lovely pint in the bar sweet taste or maybe thats the victory
Don text me this morn and Seanie is ok. Scary stuff.
Either side could have won and most would agree a draw was a fair result. Penalty claim was dodgy, but the fact that Connolly did not give it provides no clue to it's legitimacy - at his normal card-happy inept standard.
Were you there?
Seems like the journos present saw it different to you -
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/...ligoovers.htmlhttp://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/12541/2/Quote:
Dundalk and Sligo Rovers played out a thrilling 1-1 draw at Oriel Park on Friday with Gavin Peers' 33rd-minute header ensuring Paul Cook's men returned west with a point.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...w-2621345.htmlQuote:
Dundalk and Sligo Rovers played out an entertaining 1-1 draw at Oriel Park on Friday night after a Gavin Peers header cancelled out Jason Byrne’s early strike.
Quote:
Fixtures between Dundalk and Sligo Rovers always tend to be entertaining affairs and this one at Oriel Park last night was no different as the sides played out a thrilling draw.
Why do you bother?Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezeikial
If a Sligo fan says the game was crap, then the game WAS crap.
If a Sligo fan states the ref was rubbish - he could ref like Collina - then the ref WAS rubbish.
If a Sligo fan accuses you of playing hoofball - it don't matter if you pass them off the park - you played hoofball.
If a Sligo fan says you were awful - ignoring your 17 shots on target - then you WERE awful, and there's no arguing about it.
etc, etc, etc......
Derry again looked fantastic at Galway. After a tough opening 15 minutes we started to find our stride with great passing football, something we missed last time we were in the Premier Division. Not really sure how we came about scoring our first two, seemed the defence just stopped dead with disinterest. McClean's Second was a cracker and Eddie's cross for McGlynn was a thing of beauty. Connor I reckon will have went on a serious rant on the Galway boys and to be honest some of them deserve it for Goal 1 and 2 however Derry in the last two games have looked a great team and I reckon top 3 is obtainable.