Originally Posted by
Two things about this sort of behaviour
On the 5:30 EuroStar from London, four guys in Ireland jerseys were sitting opposite me at a table. Started chatting away and no problems with them.
About 30 minutes into the trip, one of them pulls out a set of iPod travel speakers. Now. I've been on my fair share of train journeys, and the one thing that annoyed me more than anything else was listening to some other person's interpretation of the perfect traveling music playlist. This is why God invented headphones. Told them to knock it on the head, and to let it go, but the guy with the iPod said they'd keep it down. I retreated between my headphones and pretty much ignored them for the rest of the journey.
But they didn't keep it down, and eventually a woman sitting about 4 seats back walked over and asked was it them who was playing the music and to stop it. When she stood up, the lads killed the music and stashed the speakers somewhere. She said she had no problem with them, and she was Irish herself, but other people had complained and there was no need for the loud music. The lads (all in their mid to late 20's) said it wasn't them, and they thought the music was coming from further back in the carriage. The woman apologised for accusing them in the wrong and moved on.
Whatever about playing music, to flat out lie about it was pretty low, that's the kind of thing you do when you're 7 and wake up your parents by pressing play by mistake.
When I walked down to find the bathroom, every other carriage I passed through was quiet, and anyone listening to music or watching a film was using headphones.
Second thing, Outside O'Sullivan's, I left for St Denis about 7 to get there aead of any crowds. I crossed the road to get to the Metro station, and three lads were crossing at the same time as me, two in front of me, and one behind me. The lad behind me was carrying bottles and started pounding on the bonnet of a car that stopped to let us pass. The woman behind the wheel was clearly disgusted with his behavior, and blared the horn to move him on, but no joy. So I slapped him across the chest, Ric Flair style, told him to behave himself, and apologised to the driver in my best (i.e. crap) French. And I'd do it again in a heartbeat.
It was my first away game, and the experience with other fans, by and large, was enjoyable, but if that is the sort of thing that goes on away from home (and it appears that it isn't) I won't be soon back.