ok lads, its transfer season, heres a question, if your team could sign any player in the league for next season who would you choose???????
Printable View
ok lads, its transfer season, heres a question, if your team could sign any player in the league for next season who would you choose???????
Not to sound too cocky but we already have the majority if the best players in the league.....am,I'd go for Paul breen after that!
Anyone have any updates on any confirmed signings for any clubs yet?? From the Town perspective i think we need a serious replacement for Scully this season...he will be a serious loss. I think we'll be strong enough for the league without him but not too confident about the national and provincial competitions. I know one player doesnt make a team but he has been the pulse of the team for many seasons. Anyway...any info on confirmed signings yet????:ball:
Best of luck to Barry.. like I said, he was a nice fellow, and wish him well... if he decides to change his mind before the season starts.. he'll be very welcome...
Plus.. we've a much bigger fish to fry right now.. will really turn heads if it turns out right for us
ya i heard cashel town were back trainin early aswell.they seem to be takin this premier thing serious.i dont know if they're up for challenging for the league but they have some excellent players. * from a saints point of view richie ryan i heard is comin back.not definite yet but im hearin a few things around the town.he would be excellent to get backvery strong and physical,very fast aswell. * is it true colin bargary is signing for cashel town? * theres a few players i would love to see at micheals.i know it wouldnt happen but tony scully or dwayne burns would be class. theres 2 players i would also love to see come to tipp town.and one used to play for us.andrew fylnn,he was an excellent player.serious left winger,somethin we're missin i think.and david slattery from cashel town aswell.he plays up front or midfield.very fast and good in the air..i grew up with his uncles.davy hogan who is without doubt one of the best players to have played for st micheals along with grace and old hawk
No offense Dr. Robert but Scully or Burns would never leave Town for Saints.! I agree they would be serious additions, to any team, but they are Town players through and through. As for Andrew Flynn, i have seen him play over the years against us and theres no doubt he is a serious left winger. I saw David Slattery play for Cashel a few times during last season and he was there stand-out player. I think he got the 1st Division player of the year! Definitely one to watch out for in the Premier this season.
Careful there Bob.. you're just after naming half of Cashel Town's first team there... but the thing is, they'll be playing for Cashel Town in the season ahead..
Michael's have lost there shine unfortunately.Why would any player bother signing for a team that isn't going to be strong enough to win the league? you guys are a bit like Liverpool for the last few years, you think that because you were the greatest team in the poast, that you still are.
You werent even runners up last year, and this year ye'll be going backwards again. And the league will be better for it. Time to stop poaching players from clubs around ye, and build a Tipp Town team again. That's the way forward.
I agree with you on that one Rock! Only way forward for any club is to focus on the players from their town rather than relying too heavily on outside players. As i said before, i know some of yer cashel players and it is great to see that the club has finally got its act together and got back the majority of the players who are from the town but were playing with other clubs over the years. I do wish ye the best for the season coming..and many more premier seasons thereafter!
i think your being a bit hypocritical to be honest.....every successful team has players from outside their own area....coadys from carrick for example in clonmel town....and your own club according to you are hoping to bring in barry ryan and hes from thurles and you seem fine with that
there's nothing wrong with having 1 or 2 from outside your area but once you start having 5 or 6 that is when you realise a club wants the glory no matter what. Are you telling me that winning a league is better with lots of outsiders in the team or a team which is practically all home grown? I know what I would rather
Michaels have just won the youth league for the first time in how many seasons and how many of those players will get their chance in the 1st team?
to say that St micheals are not a force anymore and to call us poachers is ridiculous and a nothing comment.we have been in the top 5 teams in munster for the last 20 30 years even more..we have always been a top team unlike some teams like cashel for instance.all of a sudden ye make the premier and ye have the cheek to say we're past it..where have ye been all this time??? i hope im wrong about cashel and i hope they do well and i do think ye will be challenging in the next 2 to 3 years but ye need consistency.tis no doubt clonmel are dominating and have been for the last decade,and fair play to them,but tell me who are probably the only teams in tipp can challenge them?? i think at the most 3 and micheals are one of them..
as for your comment about poaching,if a fella feels he is good enough and if micheals feel he is good enough and he plays for a team in the 3rd or 2nd division and has ambition about playin in the top flight then all the best to him.loyalty is looked upon as some sort of badge of honour and that you should be loyal.there is very little loyality in the modern day football.just look at the premier league or championship.its all about bettering yourself and if people feel they can do that at a big club like then all the best to him.
there's a difference as that the Premiership and Championship are professional where players get paid, even though i'm not from a club in the Premier League i know that getting in flavour of the month players for a season or 2 to try and win something is not the way forward. Some players are just glory hunters who have more clubs than Tiger Woods and leave the club at the drop of a hat. Local players who have come through schoolboy ranks get fed up and move on or moved to a clubs B team even though they have as much talent but the reputation of the outsider gives that outsider the advantage
What did Michaels win with all the money they paid Mernagh and Alan Barry? and they didn't last too long, think of how the money could have been used to develop schoolboy facilities in the club to give players proper training and as a result the benefits would be noticeable once these players move onto adult football
Obviously the likes of Cashel and Borris want to feel confident, and you should realise that alot of players from Cashel helped Michaels to be successful and Borris players helped Peake be successful too.
I do hope that the Premier League is competitive this year in Tipp and it was good to see Peake challenging this year and hopefully more teams become involved in deciding the title race
Ridiculous to call you poachers ????
James Walsh, John Walsh, Paul Breen, Kelvin Flanagan just to name 4 players who should have been playing their football at Cashel.. amongst I'd say I could name 15 others... you could go right back to the FAI Cup winning team in 1974 and find Cashel players on the Michaels team for God's sake
Fair enough if Michael's could sign them.. but the biggest problem with Michaels is there habit of poaching players from underage set ups with false promises.
I know for a fact that Cashel threathened to complain Michaels to both the FAI and to Glasgow Celtic Football club in the past twelve months because they were attempting to poach under 14's, with promises of trials with Celtic if the youngsters signed for Michaels
Why can't/don't Michaels develop their own players like they used to do ?
we played peake in a friendly last saturday evening and drew 1-1. both sides were missing a few but all the same it was a fair work out. on another note i find it sickening that on the same night we played barry ryan was playing inside in limerick, i was able to inform the peake management of this as they were none the wiser of the situation. fair enough a lad wants to move on and better himself but at least be a man and be straight up. a small bit of honesty goes a long way and then your old club no where they stand and maight even wish him the best of luck. get some balls in other words.
A 1-1 draw isnt a great result for Villa if they have any idea of winning the title this year. They will need to hit the ground running this season. Villa are back training for the last 4 weeks now and Barry hasnt been at any of the sessions and everyone up their knows that he has signed for Pike. So i dont see how its "sickening" that he was playing with his new club on the same night.
On another note great to see that Richie Ryan is training with Cashel at the moment. He would be a huge addition to our team if he signs.
sorry to correct you but the lads over peake didnt have a clue wat is going on wth barry they were just heaing stories like all of us, all im saying is barry should have told them first imo. like i said both sides were missing a few, why wouldnt a 1-1 draw be a good result. i think you should give us some credit perhaps were a fairly decent side.
villa are back training for the last 3 weeks and he hasnt been at a single session so i think they were fully aware of the fact he was looking at moving on. thats a totally unfair attack on a genuine player and i hope you have the balls and are man enough to realise your wrong on this one,also the villa manager was out of the country and from what i have been told himself and barry ryan have been talking and he may not be playing anywhere else
Come on now really that's a bit petty! I agree that if Michaels were making false promises to lure players than that's very wrong. But the blame cannot be all on them. Lets be honest about the situation here...Michaels,,along with other big clubs have that alluring factor that attracts players because they are in the mix for the major trophies every season....unlike small clubs like Cashel. Im not trying to cause a rift here but thats the cold truth. Untill a team like Cashel can be successful on the field (as they have been for the last couple of seasons in the lower divisions) then they will fail to attract big players. I think we've gone over these points before!! As you have said Cashel have a few Premier players from last season training with them at the moment.....so doesnt that just prove the point that success breathes success???
i understand what your sayin but if nobody at peake knows or cares where he is i dont think it should bother you. and judgin on the team at the weekend its the other end of the table that villa should be worryin about, they needed to add a few quality players to stand a chance but look to be going backwards. nobody seems to be putting in an effort to sign players, they badly need somebody at the helm with the same ambition as town, someone who doesnt accept 2nd place as a huge success
any word on how cahir pk, borris, rock rovers are shaping up for new season
Not trying to be petty at all, simply stating facts... I will acknowledge however, that it is a kind of chicken and egg situation..... Michael's did well in the past, were a more galmourous club, so were able to attract players from smaller clubs... when these players left the smaller clubs, they weren't able to grow to their full potential, keeping them behind Michaels, and perpetuating the cycle.
Teams like Cashel will only be sucessful, if they can dissuade players joining what they percieve to be "bigger teams", and focus more on winning trophies with their home towns. I think that is the key to Cashel this season. It will be practically a complete Cashel side, with almost no "outside" influence... bar perhaps Barry Ryan, who despite other people saying he has signed for Pike, is still a free agent so far as I am aware. The game in Limerick was jus a friendly
As for the "new" Cashel players, they can't really be described as havign been poached. Four of them played with Rosegreen last year, and Cashel went after them after it became clear that Rosegreen wouldn't be fielding a team. One lives in Cashel, and all the rest would have gone to school and socialise in Cashel, so it's not like they are coming in from some outside area
I wish all the best to Michaels by the way... except on the juvenile front. Poaching youngsters, especially at u13 and u14 level is simply wrong in my book, especially when it's done uner false pretences such as offerin trials at big clubs, which are non existent
I don't know bout those teams Balls but i would like to know..if i hear anything ill post it. Have you heard anymore about Saints getting back some of the limerick players they had a few seasons ago?
On your last post there Insidetherock,,i must say i agree with everything you said! I think we've both been saying the same thing in different ways! Anyway,,well said and best of luck for the season ahead.
Peake's manager is out of the country at the moment so to be fair to the lads over them they prob dont have a clue whats going on but then again their prob not in a position to know. I have been talking to a few of the villa players over the last few weeks and they all knew barry was leaving. With all respect to your side if villa are to be competing to win the tsdl they should be beating Nenagh Celtic but by the sounds of it on hear a draw might be a great result for them if the are going to struggle this season.
i feel you are being very disrespectful to my team there pal. i can understand there is a big difference in class with respect to the 2 leagues but we feel we can match most teams. we have played both st michaels and town and celtic between youths and junior and have more than held our own on numerous occasions, coming out on topin some of these and also beat peake 4-3 in munster a few years back. nengh celtic are a very good footballing side and i think if you ask the clonmel town lads they will give us a lot more respect than other teams feel we deserve.
ron thats the most sensible point so far....i know from speaking to several villa players that the numbers are not training and they have not added to the squad,i actually have time for their manager but your point unfortunately does seem to be well made and its not looking promising at all
you just named the wrong players there(besides from john walsh).how many of them have gone on to be successfull either playing for micheals and still playing for us.u failed to mention the likes of timmy kiely and of course Irish international shane long.very few make it nowadays in football,but the good ones always come through and most of them come through st micheals,so dont give me that we poach them and make false promises,you havent a clue wat goes on at our club.
you also seem to miss the point why these players left cashel town in the first place and it has always been the case when it comes to cashel town
they always seem to fall out with the players.and thats a fact
the likes of andrew flynn left for saints cause the club was bein run wrong,he came to us and was hugly successful
every year theres always someone leaving because they have had rows with club and committee members.i wont name names but you know who they are.
what about yer dream team 2 years ago,the youth team.wat happened there,i find it a bit hypocritcal comin from a cashel man,when in the last 2 years ye havent had a youths team beacuse ye got in aload of outsiders,so the local lads left,and ye were left with the superstars who left at the end of the season and ye were left with nothin.we would never do that to our youths teams cause they are the future of the club.
did kelvin flanangan play for cork city No??
did paul breen get trials for bolton and is he not an irish junior international?
is james walsh not the captain of the irish juniors and has been without doubt one of the best players to grace the TSDL?
the problem with cashel and why most and nearly every player has left them is because they never had any ambition.players want to play good football,they want to play with that is run right,good facilities.st micheals offer everything.
so please get your facts right before u comment on our club,look after your own first
Now now, no need to get tetchy.. the arguement I am making is that Michael tend to swoop in and take players when they are underage and still developing.. Kelvin Flanagan went wehn he was under 15.. same with James Walsh... his brother left when he was around 16
The main problem I have, is that while the odd few of these players, James, Paul, Kelvin etc, go on to bigger and better things.. and fair play to them, I know and wish them well.. a large number of youngsters don't make it, and when they finish playing youth football, aren't big or strong enough to make Michael's first team.
Because they have left their own clubs, they then find it difficult to come back, thereby dropping out of football altogether. That's my problem. It is then compounded by Michael's straight out telling lies to kids parents about getting the youngsters trials at places like Celtic. If you want to know more about that, contact last years Kennedy Cup coach, and he should be able to make you aware of what we're talking about here in Cashel.
Three under 14's??? That's not right, simple as that.
I agree that Tipp Topp is being disrespectful to Nenagh Celtic. All he needs to do is look at their record over the last few years to see this. However his post smacks of the arrogance that some people connected to teams in TSDL have when it comes to looking down their noses at the top teams in North Tipp.Tipp Topp suddenly appears on Foot.ie when Cashel get promoted to Premier League and he's predicting they will challenge for the title. Where was he last number of years???? Fairweather supporter? Bandwagon Jumper?
Lads I dont want to get involved in yer very entertaining debate as i feel both of ye are making very valid points and it is great reading but am I not right in saying that shane long played his schoolboy football with st kevins up until U15 or 16 and he then went on to cork at the end of the U16 season with saints. Paul Breen only played for saints at Junior Level after he had played schoolboy and youths with Peake.
Well if its disrespectful i appologise But my point is that a team that are ment to be competing to win The TSDL (which is a superior league to NTDL) should be beating a team from the NTDL. Now as for your comment about appearing on foot this season Its a website that people can come on and join whenever they want and they dont have to ask for your permission. As it is clear to see you only popped up on this site at the start of last season yourself so dont go giving me your high and mighty rubbish. We are all entitled to our opinion on this site and if we were all to agree on everything their wouldnt be much point on being on here.
You seem to be brushing off that cashel could mount a genuine challenge in the next 2 seasons which is madness as Clonmel Town are prob going to be rebuilding over the next season or two and Peake seem to be in freefall again according to quotes on this site So the league is wide open for anyone to win it this year.
if you read my first post you will see that i acknowledge there is a difference in class between the leagues but not in the top teams, fair enough town are a bit ahead of everyone but the few top teams in ntdl have and will put it up o anyone.overall imo i would say that a 1-1 draw would be a better result for peake than us.
Very entertaining points between the Doc and Rock alright!! Valid points to both sides of the arguement i think. Anyway,,just to get back to the original point of the thread relating to transfers etc....i heard that Trevor and Vinny Downey are now signing for Peake! Any truth in this? Also, i know that Rock mentioned Richie Ryan was training for Cashel also but believe me he will not sign for them. You shouldnt get too excited just because someone turns up for preseason training. As you will see, out of the new players training with Cashel during pre-season, Barry Ryan, Trevor & Vinny Downey, and Richie Ryan will not sign! Never count your chickens before they hatch!!!:ball:
Well Trevor and Vinnie did play their under age soccer at Peake, so it wouldn't be a huge jump back for them to be honest. If they decide to go that way, best of luck to them, though I still wonder why any under age player plays outside of their local area. Wouldn't they be better off playing with their friends?
As for Ritchie... no point in suggesting otherwise, he'd be a great signing. A top class goalkeeper is the rock (no pun intended!!!) of any team. But either way, we'll manage in that area. He's not the only top class keeper in the squad.
Barry.. well, so far I've heard he's signed to about 3 teams, and expected to sign for 3 more. As I said already, if he signs for Cashel, he'll be welcome.
But Freddy... I'd have another word or two with your sources.. *wink*
hahaha,,no sources really Rock just a lot of speculation and hearsay as is the case at this stage of every season! Just said id post the info anyway in case you had any update on it!