Originally Posted by
mcgonigle
I think the thread title is a bit OTT and dannydundalk was obviously a bit out of sorts when writing it.
However unfortunately the incidents before and after the game did happen. I was one of the last to leave the ground after being in the shop and when I got out there were about 20 rovers "fans" (and I use the word fans loosely) pinned in the entrance on the old hotel by the Gardai, they were trying to get by the guards to start a fight. Eventually they started moving them down the road and unfortunately for me, my dad and others they were across the road from us all the way to the bridge. We were trying to figure out how they got out but from reading other stuff it seems they were not at the game and they might have been the lads who tried to get into the home section before the game and were refused entry.
On the racism stuff I was on the shed side so didn't hear anything but it was actually a rovers fan on orielweb that mentioned it and said it was not on, so fair play to him.
I'm not trying to stir anything up against rovers as the fans at the game were fine and in good voice, but people are suggesting that this stuff didn't happen and I seen it with my own eyes, so lay off dannydundalk, he may be a bit emotional after what happened to him but most of what he says is true.