Did Wallace say at the start that eventually the club would give up on the amateur ethos? I mean, in the long term I think you'll need to pay players if you are to ever push for promotion..
Printable View
Did Wallace say at the start that eventually the club would give up on the amateur ethos? I mean, in the long term I think you'll need to pay players if you are to ever push for promotion..
Since MK left on Thur the 2 players mentioned were contacted by the club to see if they would return but it seems they have committed themselves to ye.
Will be sorry to see them go and they'll hardly travel up and down to ye without getting a few bob?
I presume they'll get travel expenses, maybe generous ones at that but i doubt they'll get paid other than the usual few bob all player get per game. Maybe Mick has set them up with work, they're studying and he'll be flexible or something like that. Do they live in Limerick, the lads in WD cant be far away but maybe the LK lads are based in Dublin or eastern parts.
Statement under the photos is utter nonsense - "Mike Kerley was quickly followed out the exit door by two key players "
The players left because Kerley froze them out. If he'd left a couple of weeks sooner the club would have signed them up. The first thing the club did once Kerley left was to get straight on the phone to Sheehan and White. It was too late, they'd already committed to the Youths by the time Kerley resigned.
With himself and Grincell ye certainly would have had alot of speed.
Definatley not one of the brightest prospects in the country. Limerick have Jason Hughes, Paul Danaghar, Thomas Lyons and one or two more that would be brighter prospects. As do Waterford in someone like Grincell. Sheehan is a good player but i wouldn't say one of the brightest prospects.
Also in a previous post i said White was purely a left back, i meant right back :o
Nerves!!!
A friend of mine was training with him with Mary I and said he was injured alright, he said he'd be out for a good few weeks at least. Dunno exactly what the injury was. He told me this a couple of weeks ago though so he could be nearly fit again. Youths might not have wanted to risk him yet for the sake of a friendly.
Cant believe people in this site think that gary sheehan wont get paid:rolleyes: it is a worry if the local lads are getting nothing and players from outside are putting in the same work and getting nothing,it will be tough for mick too keep the dressing room happy.
you got it in one.he (lkoldskool)does not represent the vast majority of limerick fans.gary sheahan was in my openion the best player in the first division last year bar none.id like to wish him all the best and hope he might return to us in the not too distant future!ye are in for a treat:)
Do ye really have 43 players?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wexford...#Current_squad
It includes the under 18's but ya that's the full squad. 20 of them have been used already, over 30 will probably see game time at some point I'd bet.
Yeah as said a combined squad of the under 18 -20 and senior squad
We have had a lot of injuries and suspensions but think about it in any given game can use 14 players so getting to 20 players in four matches is not that hard
About 2008 season here.
In this post: http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...20&postcount=8
A bit complicated this is :D
2 Different Shane Sinnott's, For arguments sake, S Sinnott 1 is birthdate 13/07/1991, and S Sinnott 2 is unknown, which players played in which game.
I only recall 2 games in which S Sinnott played, 19/09/08 v Waterford and 12/11/08 v Longford.
Both players were on the bench v Monaghan on the 22/08/08
To the best of my knowledge Shane Sinnott 2 (Conors older brother) played against Waterford and not against Longford.
He's not in the squad anymore having decided to concentrate on GAA.
Just 1 more query.
In the game: Longford Town 0-1 Wexford Youths 05/07/08
Was it Conor or Gareth Wallace that came on as a sub in the 90 Min. I have it at Conor but can not be sure.
Boss, The programme of our next home match on 11 July 08 records Conor Wallace as coming on as a sub. against Longford.