I finish my MA in the summer and unfortunately it's something I'm having to increasingly think about.. If I can get a job here though I'll definitely be staying.
Well - thanks to my work contract not being renewed past March 1st - I will be fecking off to Oslo in Norway on March 25th.
Got somewhere to stay initially rent free (with a couple of friends) - and a few grand in cash to take care of any expenses.
I'll be there until it runs out
Isn't Oslo very expensive though? There was a programme on TG4 last night (part of a series) where they went to Oslo to meet a few Irish who'd moved there and a few locals who speak Irish (rather amusingly, one old Norwegian fella had beautiful hot-potato-in-mouth Connamara Irish). Anyway, context and source provided, apparently it's €9 for a pint there! Excellent health care and social services they said alright, but still, €9 a pint! I mean, they'd really have to get their priorities right over there before I'd consider moving. :)
I've no plans to move at the moment, but if I was I'd be looking at joining MagicMe in the south of France (maybe open a vineyard together to sustain our writing exploits?) or I'd maybe head to Brazil or Argentina, or just about anywhere I could scrape by really. Key factors would be local culture, Romance language or English, scenic beauty, and friendliness of locals. If they were satisfactory, then within reason economic conditions would come after. Actually scrap that, just give me somewhere fairly warm and sunny lying in a hammock, sipping, toking, listening to music and reading, with a tiny bit of work interspersed, and I'd be happy for the rest of my days. Hey, I have to have a dream, right. :cool:
The €9 figure is a bit like quoting Temple Bar prices in Dublin as the amount across the whole country. A pint in Oslo is more around the €5 / €6 mark
I've been over there regularly over the last decade - the standard of living is high - as is the cost - but then people there earn a helluva lot more - which offsets costs a lot.
I'm still temping but getting sick of starting over in new sites... If I dont get a full-time job offer where i am, im half considering working on a cruise ship where my mate is managing. Wages paid in bank, everything subsidised, get to travel the world, you work hard but you play hard too.....
Pauro I know a couple of people who've done the cruise ship thing, a good way to save money but you need STAMINA ;)
I was offered a "one off", no questions asked job in sunny Colombia - cash in hand.
Apparently all I have to do is travel to Colombia (all expenses covered), pick up a job load of cuddly toys and carry them back through customs.
I'll let you know how I get on..................
Be sure and say hello to Ruben Sosa for us.
Unless he wasn't all he made himself out to be...
I hope to be finished with college inside of a year. I'll be going wherever there's work then, in the short term anyway.
Lads the problem now is that its not the 1950's anymore.Back then you left Ireland and went to a country with a much better jobs climate,U.S,Oz etc.But these days the "go to" countries are also screwed and dont have great jobs climate's.Still though,Ireland(and Iceland) and the countries furthest up the creek with no paddle's.As was said at the start of the Thread,if i do leave Rays Patterson's words in the Simpsons will be my last words at Shannon airport- "its so gratifying to leave you wallowing in the mess you've made,your screwed,thank you,bye":).
latvia is a bit like us actually, they had growth rates never seen before but then BANG, financial crisis.
So am I Pauro, it's something I've always been interested in trying out so any info appreciated;).
Alternatively, I'm tempted to go to Canada for 3 months. Travelling, not working. Then in September do a 1 year bar work course and go travelling(with work hopefully) to Canada or Oz for a year.
I'm waiting for info off my mate, i'll pm ye if i hear anything. I'm being let go myself from my temping position, and not a sniff of a full-time job anywhere, might be tempted to go for it myself! even if its just bar-work, its a nice escape from the doom and gloom.
tx pauro