I hope this is ture as I would very much hate to lose any more clubs from the league . I feel real sorry for the cats and then to lose Lim & Athlone would be a killer as we really don't need any more Dublin clubs in the league at the moment .....
Printable View
I hope this is ture as I would very much hate to lose any more clubs from the league . I feel real sorry for the cats and then to lose Lim & Athlone would be a killer as we really don't need any more Dublin clubs in the league at the moment .....
Yeah I agree - this Fingal team is a joke - what in God's name will make them any different to Dublin City F.C. who even me Ma knew would not survive beyond a few seasons - it's not as if Bohs, Rovers, Pat's, Shels etc are packing out their repective stadia every weekend so another Dublin team thrown into the mix is laughable.
It's time to start supporting the regional teams dotted around the league - fair play to Limerick and good luck to the rest. :ball:
This morning's papers say that Limerick37 approached the FAI about their financial difficulties and that the FAI put them in touch with their new benefactor.
I know FAI bashing is all but obligatory here, but they deserve great credit if they've been instrumental in the rescue of Limerick37 IMO.
Audio clip of fran gavin and Jim Rhatigan discussing the demise of Kilkenny City and what lies ahead for Sporting Fingal
http://www.rte.ie/sport/rams/2008/0120kilkennycity.smil
Lads, heres a link to an article in the local newspaper in Limerick if anybody is interested. Its a great read (well for Limerick supporters anyways ;)) Good times ahead I hope :) http://www.limerickleader.ie/3420/Mc...ted.3697064.jp
Does it seem to anyone else that Delaney is going out of his way to save Limerick. It wouldn't look good for the FAI to nearly loose a senior team in limerick (3rd biggest city in the country) two years running, specially at the start of their tenure of running the league.
You could say I'm bitter & twisted and maybe I am, but could you blame me?
Delaney could have possibly touted Kilkenny to the Amercian for saving as one of the options. But as Fran Gavin's & Kilkenny's officail statement make if clear that it was the club's decsion to withdraw from the league.
I absolutely gutted City are gone but well done to Delaney?/Limerick for surviving and that its only 1 club gone this year.
Best of luck L37!
Most Definitely
Not being bad but if you could only save one club Limerick is the more obvious choice (poorly run though we consistently are)
The cynic in me thinks there's a lot more to it tbh but we're dug out of a hole for now so I'll worry about next year next year
Jaysus, I dunoo what happened there. Edited a spelling error and half the message disappeared!!!
Anyway, last Saturday's Daily Mail was reporting that an American investor — maybe the same one — had an offer to save the club turned down by Jim Rhatigan. I'll see if I can root out the story
Three words explain Delaney and the FAI's new found energy for all things EL :
All-Ireland League.
Bit of a coincidence that the first time they get directly involved in helping troubled clubs is when there's someone in the background actively courting clubs to effectively replace the FAI. Uncanny timing.
Though I agree it would also look shocking for the FAI if a quarter of the First Division teams went belly-up in the first year of their watch.
My question about this unexpected development is - how come Delaney appears to have had someone ready, willing and able to invest in Irish soccer sitting in his back pocket for so long ?? :eek:
Apparently he's been grooming this Yank for 18mths ! I can understand that Limerick has the potential to be a good 'investment' (better than a smaller area like Kilkenny anyway), but why didn't Delaney get this guy involved in a club before-hand ? Who are the other clubs he dangled in-front of him, that are now potentially going to lose investment to Limerick ? And most importantly - what would Delaney have done with this guy had Limerick not been in financial difficulties now ? Just let him continue stewing in his back pocket for another 18mths, by which time he might have lost interest in investing in Irish football, had a better offer for his money elsewhere etc ??
This is a good development for Limerick, but the timing vis-a-vis the Platinum One proposals make me deeply suspicious of Delaney's motives and credibility here....
The chairman of the Limerick Regeneration Agency, John Fitzgerald - Limerick native and former Dublin City Manager (the Corpo that is) - is also a member of the UEFA Licence IAG (Independent Assessment Group).