I fully agree
Printable View
Whatever about the police questioning (which can be very easily blown out of proportion), similar banners were removed from Croke Park and San Marino this campaign without barely a mention in the papers, so that part I have no problems believing. It's quite possible the person reacted a bit too aggressively to get his banner back.
Its one thing stewards removing banners but Gardai are another matter, exactly what law is being broken by displaying a banner?
As I noted, it's possible yer man reacted over aggressively to the removal of the banner. Which could include refusing to leave the ground.
I know the person it happened to.
He is reluctant to bring it much further for fear of reprecussions for future tickets etc.
There was no fuss at all when he was told to remove the banner, just that he had to collect it after the game.
A journo rang him yesterday but the story did not appear in the papers, he doesn't know why.
Journo obvioulsy had to get comments from the FAI and the cops. Maybe it will run on another day
I seem to remember there being a big 'Delaney Out' banner in San Marino that was on display for all the game, no one tried to remove it. The only banner anyone tried to remove in San Marino was the Chelsea Irish tricolour which some of our own fans tried to remove.
I also seem to remember there being a big half page spread about the Delaney Out banner in the Star the following day.
You remember wrong. It was removed by security (granted, they were far more lax and threw it back), and was only on display for a short while in the ground.
I think that one half page in one paper is about the only publicity any of the banners has gotten.
Are we living in an FAI run Police State?
my name was in the papers a few years ago over a protest and i was never taken off the block booking list although im sure it was more due to the fai not reading the papers than their good will...
Jaysus, could you imagine?
Croker would be a howl : "None of your cheering and clapping there lads. Bit of quiet for the two sets of teams there doing their jobs", we'd all have to wear yello hi-viz as colours, and The only criteria to be minister for Finance would be to have previously been the tea boy in The National Irish Bank in Stillorgan...
What a disgracefull thread this. The guardians of our country deserve respect. I'm not standing by and letting Ireland's finest being slagged off. Get real you bunch of low lifes (I notice a number of 'stoodents' amongst ye). Watch this clip from Youtube to understand the high levels of professionalism amongst the Irish police. :mad:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=z8wHsoGeu...elated&search=
its blocked out at work....sorry, seen it before...funny....apologies lopez!!!!!!!!!
RTE & The Indo are too preoccupied plugging Venables.