An Australian I know had to ask me the meaning of this "Irish" word:
Bould(sp?)-Bold
Printable View
An Australian I know had to ask me the meaning of this "Irish" word:
Bould(sp?)-Bold
Magicme, "so I did" isn't just a Monaghan thing, it extends up to Belfast and all so it does.
It took me a long while after moving down here to get used to the idea that bacon is something people eat with cabbage whereas rashers are what they fry with sausages and eggs.
Considering most people who wear them can't actually do so, calling those items of footwear runners is just daft. Trainers at least preserves the fiction that you're only building up to a full-blown actual run.
A cupboard is still a cupboard though, airing or otherwise.
"See you?" as a threatening remark is one that simply has no southern equivalent. The only way to explain it is that it's normally followed by "You're dead."
Your right wee Sligoman, us nordies do use wee alot you see.
I another thing that bugs me is particularly prevelent with my lil sis and my sons...."You know Dylan, he did...." course I feckin know Dylan, didnt I squeeze him outta me??? AGGGH.
Also another thing that doesnt really make sense is starting sentences with "Well" as in "Well missus, you going out tonite?"
That's even worse then! I never knew friend was a purely Irish word, ya truly do learn something new every day. ;) :D
That's a good one though Stu, even without the 'having' part. I'm only after me tea is a very common expression down this way.
There's a dictionary of Waterford slang out just recently down here, has a few choice words and phrases in it, most I suspect are common to most of the country, but some examples:
Shellackybooky - Snail
Lacksy Daisy - Lackadaisical
Blaa - Soul food :)
Yer go - A good hiding
Ya cuncha - You not very likeable person, you
and so on...
I go playing football of a Sunday.
Nah Remember lister in Red Dwarf using it in classic one liner about him drinking a yard of curry sauce to impress a bird and when rimmer asks him if he got off with her he says the only thing i got off was the Jacks about 3 hours later. Classic toilet humour literarly
then again Liverpool is the 33rd county of Ireland so maybee it was passed down by the immigrants