I didn't say how the managers left just how many have been in charge for how long. You have had more than 6 managers in the same time period we have had I think, so that does prove my theory.
Printable View
Whatever about the number of managers, I think Bohs major mistake was in getting rid of Stephen Kenny, a move I'm sure many Bohs fans are regretting now. I always thought Farrelly was a bad appointment. No experience, no knowledge of the league here, destined to fail.( I heard Ronnie Whelans name mentioned for the job this morning, any Bohs people think this will happen ?)
My theory is that you can't possibly change your manager every sesason or two and hope to build a successful team. I think the high turnover at some clubs shows that they weren't careful enough making their appointments in the first place.
I was talking about the way you lot treat managers. Didn't want to get into the whole Pete Mahon thing again but the Rovers lads picked up the baton on that one.
OK We're boo boys. We're not content with minnowism and failure. If other teams' fans are thats their problem. Get over it.
Bottom line prospective managers: Bohs fans don't accept failure. If you think you may not achieve the level of success we crave, go to one of the teams who's fans will "support you evermore" even if you are destroying their club.
Farrelly was in charge of Bohs for two years. Two years is more than long enough to be given a fair chance. Bohs may have been hasty in previous manager sackings but in Farrelly's case the sacking was just and long overdue.
I think the only recent sacking Bohs fans might regret is Stephen Kenny's. That has proven to be in retrospect the wrong decision. But big clubs have to make big decisions and if a manager is not performing, he's out the door. This is what big clubs like Bohs, Real Madrid and the rest of the G14 share in common.
We won the league in January 2003 and after that we struggled with Kenny. We had two very slow starts to the seasons after that.
We took 7 attempts to win at home in 2004, we lost twice to Dublin City and Kenny had record budgets for the league at the time. In 2003 we spent something like €1,350,000 and a year after it was €1,250,000.
The timing of Kenny's sacking was a few months before the end of his contract. There was some messing in the background over his contract and other players contracts.
Kenny has since moved on. He is doing very well at Derry with a group of players who dont look to be as good as some of the players he had at Bohs in 2004.
Kenny might have signed a new deal and we could have ended up struggling. Who knows, the board made a decision based on what he had done at Bohs. They didnt have the luxury of looking at what he might achieve in the future.
Moral was low and getting lower
Kenny was talking about the league cup final as some sort of wonderful achievement and a home draw in the next round of the FAI Cup as his saving grace.
The mistake was amde when they allowed Gareth Farrelly put pen to papaer on a contract as our manager.
Eamonn Gregg - few chants, nothing more sacked after a very poor run of games in 93-94 season
Turlough - never the most popular manager due to his style of play but always did well on small budget. Left at end of contract in 1998
Joe McGrath - Sacked by board after woeful run at start of season. Had fans support. Turned out the board were right.
Roddy - Contract had run out in May 2001 and it wasnt renewed. Had just won the double but he always divided the support
Mahon - Hounded out after a total disaster of a season. Stories about mobs outside his house greatly exaggerated. His daughter sitting in the stand listening to the fans moan about him is tough sh*t IMO. One win in 3 months is not good enough for a €1,000,000 plus investment.
Kenny - Up until the final week of his 32 months he got very little stick. I ended up disliking him but if the truth be told he was the man who assembled the squad who gave me my favourite moment as a Bohs fan. It was about 5.52pm on Sunday January 12th 2003 in Tolka Park. Much as I disliked him at the time, I am glad he is doing well because I dont think he failed at Bohs because of lack of effort. I just feel he lost his way a little and couldnt turn it around. Gives everything he has to the cause and I'll always respect the man for that.
Gareth Farrelly - 21 months in charge, nearly all utter garbage. The we goa goal down to Waterford Crystal and the anti-Farrelly feeling begins.
I've already posted the stats. We are spending in the same region as Cork and Derry yet we have 3 goals [1 a fluke] in 10 league games against this seasons top 5 teams, and we have taken 4 points from 30.
Simply not good enough. Farrelly got hounded because he is a joker. His transfer dealings were a complete disaster. His tictacs were non existant and his performances on the pitch were embarassing.
He was full of bull**** excuses
- about losing 3 players to Shels [about 2 years ago]
- schoolboy errors
- budget cuts [is €1,100,000 not enough to at even compete - How much are Cork spending on there wage bill Peadar?]
- the fans
- the coaching staff
injuries [it would help if the joker wasnt feigning injury every time we played Shels - and he FAKED INJURY on at least 2 occasions to get out of games against Shels]
So all in all, we got on one managers case in a bad way and another managers case because he is an imposter and we are tagged the most fickle fans in the league.
The f**ker cost the club the grand total of €135,000 a year and he managed to ruin not 1 but 2 jobs. Its about the only think he managed to manage right in 2 years.
I've gone to Bohs matches since 1984, since I was 7. In the past 6 months I have never felt so empty about going to games. Gone are the days when I would be going to work in eager anticipation of the derby against Shels or Rovers that evening, or taking days off to travel to away games. That lack of enjoyment had started under Kenny. Some of our games were a little lifeless but it wasnt because SK had not done his homework or anything.
Farrelly is a spoofer, a joker and a complete failure as a football player and a manager. The treatment he received reflected the effort he put in as our player/manager.
Who was that idiot of a steward that got involved with both managers
on Tuesday? Hes a disgrace to the human race never mind Bohs
Farelly should have clouted him
The man's a hero. Showed more passion on the night than Farrelly did in all his performances put together.
Exactly, it took Scully a lifetime to walk around the pitch after he was sent off, in the meantime Rovers scored their second. The game should not have continued until he was away from the pitch and up in the stand. Then when asked to move on quickly by stewards who were trying to avoid the flaring tempers that he was provoking, he started giving them sh't.
Even by your standards that's a cracker.
As I said on our board, Scully should have been escorted by stewards to the directors box or a suitably neutral area and security provided. That's what happens everywhere else. But in a typically Bohs/Wicklow GAA manner the officials and stewards can't help getting involved. Thuggish and amateur but exactly what you'd expect from Bohs.
check out footage of roddy "grandstanding" after a similar sending off at dalymount - he escorted himself to the car park area - which cant actually be accessed from the pitchside hence the scullyhesque - "look at me" ive been sent off folks distraction
misdirection
dolan and roddy are past masters and judging by that footage scully's picked up a tip or two