Have to admit, I tend that way too.
Printable View
To paraphrase from South Park: the problem with drums is that people forget to stop using them. Drums do a good job if used for Drum, drum, drum College type chants where the drums and singing are separate. Using them for rhythm in songs is you end up with Dublin City type problems.
Then the solution would be not to use the drum in every chant!
Can I just jump in here to lock the thread for no real reason and talk about lawnmowers?
I think the bodhrán does the job being talked about really. Gives a bit of rhythm without taking over. Also is louder than clapping and so gets people's attention.
I think they're crap for that anyway. What can it do that a bodhran can't except make a louder, more piercing and annoying noise? If you can't be heard with the bodhran and singing then all anyone will hearing is a drum randomly banging. It's more bodies we need singing. A couple of bodhrans would actually be better than those drums. They're very fecking annoying.
No. Schumi's just itching to ban you from the subforum. :D
Schumi's been keen on a drum for a while now. Have to agree for the most part - we don't have a big enough singing section to justify a drum much.Quote:
I think the bodhrán does the job being talked about really. Gives a bit of rhythm without taking over. Also is louder than clapping and so gets people's attention.
Is it just a case of absence makes the heart grow fonder or is there more new people singing since we moved back to Friday? I have no idea who those 3 lads behind me were and those few very young lads in front of us seem to be relatively new. They all seem to have nothing to do with the promotion.
I'm pretty sure the 3 lads behind you were Ronan Finn's mates. The people that were signing infront of you always went on Friday nights before. There was supposed to be more but they didn't show up. I'd be fairly confident that a good few would go to Drogheda.
A lot of the younger ones were at the soccer camp, which was not that long ago and which gave out free season tickets. There are a fair few others though, like yer man who coined the greatest player nickname ever - "The Sammon of College"!
Must announce Drogheda over the PA.
Make sure this is working tomorrow and definitely get the bus to Drogheda announced over the PA.
We're blue,
We're white,
We're fúcking dynamite,
UCD, UCD.
Yes good point pineapple ;)