I get the feeling that Duff was being polite there - I think there might have been other more fundamental issues there which he didn't want to talk about publiclyQuote:
Originally Posted by livehead1
Printable View
I get the feeling that Duff was being polite there - I think there might have been other more fundamental issues there which he didn't want to talk about publiclyQuote:
If memory serves me right Mick was bag man rather than physio. He also has always had a great relationship with all the players. If he helps unify the team great. Lets just get behind Stan and the team, negative comments will acheive nothing and regardless of what anyone thinks or wants Stans the man for the next two years.
At the minute Mick has more big tournament experience than some of the players. I don't think that it's fair to knock him, or Staunton.
A ball has not been kicked. I for one am very excited by the new reign. Can't wait for Landsdowne on Weds.
Charlie O'Leary was the bag man for years, I'm not sure who has done the job recently. Mick Byrne has been the physio since before Charlton and would one of the gobsh1tes knocking him please provide some evidence as to his professional shortcomings as it appears to be mostly character attacks - if you can do that from your barstools. I don't recall any lawsuits brought against the FAI or Mick Byrne in over 20 years of service for Ireland.Quote:
Originally Posted by Forever Dreamin
I'm not sure what Duff means here. Let him be under no illusions - Ireland didn't qualify for the World Cup because a lot of players didn't give us big performances, Duff included. He came in for some ridiculous criticism on this forum and he's our most gifted player but a lot of the players just weren't there. It had nothing to do with the fans, who turned up faithfully to every game in Lansdowne and shelled out to travel around Europe supporting their millionaire heroes who sometimes played as if they were heavily hungover. And it had absolutely nothing to do with the media.Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilMcD
All this Mick Byrne talk is making me a bit uneasy - Niall Quinn's horrible description of the Charlton team in its boozy decline makes me fairly cynical of the merits of that era. Let me clarify that; I don't think that heavy drinking and little analysis of opponents helps to build a better team.
So what makes you think that Mick Byrne's call up is the harbinger of a drink sodden squad?
I didn't say that. It's all the talk of bringing back the old way of doing things.Quote:
Originally Posted by geysir
Yeah, they're all happy now because they don't have to watch Brian Kerr's DVDs. They can go out for a drink, sleep in and skip their breakfasts. Then there's Niall Quinn going on about the good old days under Jack, and how we should forget all this passing and 'put em under pressure'.
Say what you want about Brian Kerr, but he brought a lot of professionalism to the Ireland setup, both the senior team and the youth setup.
In a way the FAI have their man. Stan probably isn't going to complain when the Genesis Report is eventually flushed down the toilet for good. I have a feeling that we're staring down the barrel of another 1996-1998 period in Irish football. Stan even nearly said himself that he's planning for the 2010 World Cup. Well, in 2010 our four best players (Given, Finnan, Duff, Keane) will be 34, 34, 31 and 30. We should be planning for now.
There's a air of defeatism and "we're only in it for the craic" wafting over the Irish camp and I don't like the smell of it.
(Just getting my hopes down so that when we do eventually win it will be a pleasant surprise.)
Not really, Roy Keane couldn't praise Kerr enough. Some players don't get on with managers, some do. No big deal.Quote:
He's not a qualified physiotherapist. Need more proof?Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwerty
agree totally with the above post. the fai got their man alrite.god forbid any of the players would look at themselves and how much they contributed in the last campaign.
Okay he doesn't have a diploma in his back pocket.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge
Is that it?
Thus making him the perfect team physio in the new FAI way of doing things. :DQuote:
Sensitive issue for you Geysir? :)Quote:
Originally Posted by geysir
I don't think Staunton is being defeatist. I think he's being realistic about our chances and about when some of the promising youngsters will be at their peak. I don't doubt for a second that he's going to try as hard as anyone to qualify for 2008.
I think Roy Keane's praise for Kerr was mainly to put the knife into Mick & the "old ways". Carr publicly supported Kerr when he retired but word has it Carr was one of those most unhappy with Kerr's ways.
It seems that Staunton is bringing in a more relaxed mood to the squad. If the players are happy that's good for us. Duff has been more outspoken than most about the loss of team-spirit. Remember all the talk of a bust-up when the team bus broke down in Killiney a few years ago? Team spirit alone doesn't win anything, but any team that wins things has got to have it. Bobby Robson's presence will ensure that the necessary degree of professionalism will remain, I've no fears on that front.
To the best of my knowledge, nowhere has Staunton said we'll resort to primitive long-ball crap football. I'd ignore anything Niall Quinn says - nice enough bloke but not exactly an intellectual authority.
Mick Byrne is not a qualified physio and was not allowed handle a number of squad players in the past. He is the ultimate "hanger on". I can't imagine his role will involve anything other than improving team morale.
I believe from a GAA source that he is no longer welcome at a certain Dublin GAA club as well.
I think the players have looked at their own contribution. Witness Duff's interviews over the last couple of days. Witness the countless players interviews supporting Kerr before + after he was sacked saying performances were not good enough.Quote:
Originally Posted by klein4
I can't see the problem with Mick Byrne etc coming back. The players and management team are all comfortable with them. It just means that there may be a better atmostphere around the camp and better starting point to prepare for matches.
As a physio (qualified or not) you would think Byrne would know the dangers of drinking close to a game.
Anyway in the whole scheme of things these lads coming back is not going to have much effect on performance on the pitch.
Finally, there are a lot of people here who seem to be intent on denegrating anything that Staunton or the FAI do. Staunton doesn't deserve it. Give the man a chance for goodness sake.
I think he's made a pretty good start.
A good percentage of the squad won't know Mick Byrne so may not be as comfortable with him as you think. The whole thing makes me think of David Brent but I can't think why
ya he was involved with galway as well for a while when john omahony was in charge.
stuttgart you are usually the voice of reason but...
....as stated above our 4 main players will be hitting or in their thirties, for 2 of them they're peak would be around 26 - 29, especially for wingers/strikers. euro 2008 would be that time, plus take into account that we could possibly be 5th seeds by then, or at best probably 3rd if we dont qualify for euro 2008, so how can people be saying that the one to aim for is 2010, that is non-sensical and illogical given the possibilities. Even if 2 or 3 more players brake in, and that is a big if, as we have seen manys a time before. great aspirations for young players, only for nothing to come from it.Quote:
I think he's being realistic about our chances and about when some of the promising youngsters will be at their peak. I don't doubt for a second that he's going to try as hard as anyone to qualify for 2008.
Look Staunton knows him. Kelly knows him. A lot of the squad know him. Whats the problem?Quote:
Is Mick Byrne going to play or coach? He's not even physio. He seems to be a general dogs body. He's nothing to do with the football side of things.
FFS we'll be discussing whether or not the tea lady or washing powder should have been changed next.
This whole thread strikes me as people using anything to have a go at Staunton.
Give the man a chance.
I think if you read thru the thread you will find it was more a case of people using anything as a stick to beat brian kerr with. altho your right. it wont make an arse of a differance.