He made Phil Babb look good. That's all you need to know.
Printable View
He made Phil Babb look good. That's all you need to know.
For me he is the best player along with Keane we've had since I started watching (roughly the qualifiers for Italia 90). He is my favourtie player of all time. I think Keane stood out because he was head and shoulders above the majority of the players he played alongside. Whereas big Paul was part of an exceptional team, and he still stood out. If only he hadn't had the injuries and the booze issue. Players like him make the likes of Ferdinand look like an a$$.Quote:
Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
Paul McGrath could have graced any of the big teams comfortably in any league, if he hadn't had any of the problems that he experienced.
Totally agree. I have this game on video and I love watching it. There's a great 15 minute spell right before Quinn's goal where England can't get out of their own half. We just kept hustling and winning the ball back and the crowd get impatient. It's highlights all that was good about the Irish team at that time i.e. combine good work ethic with talented and experienced players and good things will happen.Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
Each time I watch the game I expect Houghton to put that chance away in the second half - sadly it never does.
Awesome performance - one of the best no doubt.
I'm not name-dropping 'cos I know most of youse have met Big Jack at some stage or other but....
Was it after Mick McCarthy took over that Ireland had a friendly with Sweden? and, as it happened, I had arranged a psychological test for one of my remedial kids in Dublin on the same day as that match. Pure coincidence, you understand.:D
Anyhoo, after that was finished, I wandered down Baggot Street and decided to drop in to The Baggot Inn for a pre-match pint or two.
Lo and behold, there was Jack himself, holding court with a shower of aul' wans hanging out of him, getting autographs, pictures taken and Jack lovin' it all.
So, I sauntered over in his direction and quietly asked him for his autograph.
I may add that that was the day (or week??) of the first big Lotto Jackpot - think it was around 5 million quid or something.
Jack was very nice and said "no problem, lad" but asked me to hang on for a second as a bunch of blokes (including his son John) were with him.
He said to me, "I won't be a second but I'm trying to persuade these kind gentlemen to buy me a Lotto ticket for that big jackpot".
Then he tipped me on the shoulder and winked at me saying, "And you all know how much I need the money".:D
Needless to say, that remark was meant for "the choir" - everyone was in knots laughing.
Gas man, Jack.
Anyone else got Jack sceals???
You have that on tape! I would pay good money for a copy of that! Seriously, PM me if interested.Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
my mate was tellin me jack charlton was at his brothers wedding and he got up and sang give it a lash jack. and he said he spent the whole nite posing for photos and signing autographs.