Ya but he's not going to fire himself is he? :o
Printable View
Ya but he's not going to fire himself is he? :o
Was trying ot think of a comparison -
if a GAA journalist wrote an article about how he was pining for the Inter-county championship and was so desperaet that he might have to start watching club games, he'd be s**t on by fans telling him where real hurling and football are played.... But Michael O'Muireartaigh or Liam Griffin would never do that, woudl they?
if a rugby journo was pining for the Heineken cup and started whinging about having to watch AIL matches, they'd be laughed out of it by rugby fans...But Gerry Thornley and George Hook etc. probably go to a junior match every week.
For that matter Tracey Piggott watches point-to-points in Doneraile in December and Jimmy Magee watches everything everywhere
In all cases the writers in other sports are real fans of the SPORT, not subscribers to a Sky Marketing package - as someone's tag line has it "press the red button Sky doesn't make you active" - doesn't make you a sports fan either
ya but you dont send death threats and explain what my sh1t list is to a newspaper :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
they aint delivering buddyQuote:
Cheers :DQuote:
Unless that list is copyrighted and trademarked I'll be using that list :cool: ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by exile
My letter
Dear Sir/Madam,
I am writing to express my disappointment at the article by Aidan Coughlan on July 12th. The tone of the article was demeaning and insulting to the legions of fans that are proud to support their local eircom League sides up and down the country.
Mr Coughlan compares the domestic game to the “poor man’s premiership”. Would that be the same Premiership which is the “poor man’s La Liga”? Years of hype and spin by BskyB have convinced the public both here and in the UK that they are somehow watching the greatest league in the world.
Whilst I am perfectly willing to allow Mr Coughlan to continue living in this bubble of oblivion and the comfort of his barstool, the need to damn the domestic game is uncalled for and a cheap shot.
There is a common expression of “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything”. There are numerous positives regarding the domestic game that I, and indeed Mr Coughlan could outline. Instead however he decides upon a jingoistic point scoring exercise against football in this country.
The next time you hear that Irish people are the best fans in the world, think about the fact that the vast majority of Irish people see no contradiction in supporting foreign teams in foreign lands whilst insulting the domestic product, as Mr Coughlan has. Pass me my leprechaun hat and inflatable hammer and I will be on my way.
Yours in Sport,
Kevin McDaid
Secretary,
Derry City Supporters Club,
Queens University Belfast
P.S Aidan if you are reading, I will be in Dalymount on Friday for Derry City v Shamrock Rovers if you want to sample that “poor man’s premiership”. Indeed I will even buy a ticket and a Crunchie bar.
Like Troy- bouncing back
Who's been using the Rico thesauris then? :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Maribor
Go to the link I posted up Maribor
Lads calm down
this article is written in the teenage kicks section
tales from the teenage frontline
this is only a baby we are talking about
he obviously doesnt know any better and is probably still chasing his
first kiss or trying to get his first lay
he doesnt know that santa,the tooth fairy or superwoman dont exsist
so leave him in his little world of make believe
Poor lad will realise what football is all about by the time
his balls drop or he grows some facial hair
Jingoistic? In what sense? Is he British? :confused:
Why didnt they run the Rovers story ? a real feel good story
Jingoistic as in the sense that as a "true" irish person these days you have to put down you own league at any opportunity.
Jingoism is all about national chauvinism. I don't think it works in the sense you're trying.Quote:
Originally Posted by Maribor
You're saying modern Irish trend is to arse lick the EPL, so he is being a true Irishman by doing so?
I'll take this to PM when I get the chance
Maribor - pop into the Hut on Friday, I'm pretty sure you're owed a few drinks from Rovers fans after our trip to Derry!
It is a non-entity of a paper. It's a form of cheap instant gratification. There's no news past the first 8 pages of so and even that is pure excrement usually.Quote:
Originally Posted by Cop on
To paraphrase Sir Hamish you can get far better bog roll in Lidl for far cheaper. :D
I suggest we boycott the Herald if philistines like this knob wrangler are writing about our league!!!
I just got a reply back from them (complete with wrong name... 'Connor' my arse) saying that I should write to info@unison.independent.ie
Least you got a reply :)