I agree.Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiseguy
The rule is a sham and I don't know what idiots though that it would be a good idea. However, Longford are doing nothing wrong, they are playing it by the book. Bloody Eircom League :mad:
Printable View
I agree.Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiseguy
The rule is a sham and I don't know what idiots though that it would be a good idea. However, Longford are doing nothing wrong, they are playing it by the book. Bloody Eircom League :mad:
The cliubs voted for the change & since only a few clubs have current u-21 internationals a majority of the other clubs must have voted for this.
With summer football is unlikely to occur for too many games but again should also be rule that clubs have to postpone games asap.
IMO no lcub should be allowed to postpone a game when less than say 2 weeks to play game & should also have to nominate rescheduled game at the same time.
Stupid rule. If there were 3 or 4 players I could see why the game would be off but one player?! Longford taking the p1ss there.
Everyone's a loser here. Derry will get a lower gate and not as many away fans on the night. Same old story 1 step forward 2 back.
kevin doyle also in the squad but city game going ahead
Is there a rule concerning the amount of notice that has to be given when requesting a postponement? If there isn't there probably should be. I'd like to know if there is and if Derry let them away with it, i.e. not using the rulebook to their advantage.Quote:
Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
Incidentally, what is the rulebook? Is there a link to it somewhere on the web?
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecorner
That because Don Givens is an árse-hole, and a damn good one at that.
Lads, the rule is in place to facilitate players in the league player for their country at every level. We'd be screaming blue murder if it wasn't place. It is up to the clubs to invoke the rule but they are totally entitled to do it. It is a case of damned if you do, damn if you dont. But the main thing is playerswho are good enough have the opportuntiy to play which is another reason for quality players to stay here, now that they are being picked [SIZE=1]even if Givens is a complete dirt-bag[/SIZE]
I'm pretty sure the rule came in as a result of Pat Dolan's complaints when John O'Flynn was called up for Ireland's U-21's.
In fairness, any player in the international U-21 set-up is probably going to be a key player for their eircom League team.
has he :confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by Cop on
I didn't know Dillon had been called up..Consider me suitably ashamed then if he has. He should be in the squad but that's a different matter.
Quote:
Are you sure? I thought it was just Murphy and Paisley from eL, with a late call for Doyle
Thats what I thought aswell :confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by noby
Don't think Dillo has been called up to be honest. I'm glad that the Derry game has been called off and I'm fully in favour of anything advantageous to Longford Town FC. We are coming off the back of two defeats. Things are not going according to plan so it's best for LTFC that this game is rescheduled.
Dillon was called into the U21 squad last year as a late replacement for Kevin Foley (Luton Town) for the friendly against Bulgaria, but was not included in the squad for the Israel game.
Did both of them play in your first game ??Quote:
Boy i didnt like Longford but i despise them even more now.
We took advantage of the rules, apologies to Derry but ye acted to your club's advantage with Thursday nights for years. I've said elsewhere we kept Derry City fully informed every step of the way as to our thinking, Jim Roddy accepted it, though he was naturally disappointed. If ye had six injuries and the option to call the game off I'd be very surprised if ye didn't.
We played 51 games last year, more than any other club and never called one off except our very first game due to a waterlogged pitch, don't slate us for using the rules to our advantage just once. I have sympathy for Derry I genuinely do, but it was in our best interest not to play and we acted within the rules by choosing not to, put pressure on your delegate to change it at the next AGM.
He's starting tomorrow night for the U21s at left full by the way
dont be such a drama queen , all town have done is taken advantage of the rules in place, end of story... and anyone who thought longford were a full time outfit knows f**k all bout the club, am i correct in saying were still the only prem division club with a part time manager???Quote:
Originally Posted by liambo