NoQuote:
Originally Posted by Dricky
Dolan is talking about facilities and you're talking about tactics.
Printable View
NoQuote:
Dolan is talking about facilities and you're talking about tactics.
WHERE did Dolan say that the training facilities were to blame for not winning the league?
WHERE did Dolan use the training facilities as an excuse for not winning the league?
Dolan is the manager of the club. He has an interest in everything. He feels the lack of proper training facilities meant that they could not perform. He makes a good point. Maybe those extra few % he could get out of the players would have made a difference in games.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
That's my point. Lennox will have to put his hand into his own pocket to fund a training facility - it takes time. So instead of Dolan moaning about it AGAIN should he not be focused on an alternative solution in the short-term or adapting these training routines so they can used?
The games where we dropped vital points were about a total lack of performance rather than a couple of percent IMO.Quote:
Originally Posted by harry crumb
Yes but the shortcomings that cost us points were his, if the facilities aren't there why should he even talk about three points, his job as manager is to get the best out of what he has, that is the hand a manager has to work from. There were certain matches that cost us points and he is talking about getting extra ones!!!!!Quote:
Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Don't spend currency you don't have.....
Playing for a draw in Dalymount was a very bad decission, we all saw what happened after that match. Should never have come to that. That is something Pat could and should of dealt with, fixing where we lost points first before making the jump to where he can get extra ones. Where is his comments on that, again he is not interested in that because it was a soundbite.
"Despite that, we’ve been able to have success"
What success? No leagues, no fai cup and no league cup. On the wider point, next season I just cant see Cork improving at a greater rate than shels or even bohs who will probably regroup under Farrelly. So in essence nothing has changed - despite all the soundbites.....
Being manager of the club shouldnt just be about first team performance.
I disagree. If he sees areas of the club which could be improved, surely he is within his rights to point this out? By making it public, maybe he's just putting extra pressure on those in charge to sort things out. Nothing more than that.Quote:
Again Training facilities are something he has no control over, the team he does, where are his comments on not dropping three point rather than gaining other. If, coulds and woulds don't win anything.Quote:
Originally Posted by harry crumb
He has put a quote out there and when you hear the mention of training facilities again it will because something wasn't achived.
He never mentions any of his shortcoming this is why it is a soundbite, it is a very onesided one.
Quote:
HE didn't make it public we have know about it for years and years, he was paid to do a job he is talking if and coulds. The things he can deal with, well some of them were down to him, he should talk about points dropped as his soundbite does nothing but provokes questions about the chairman, he has to look at his shortcomings, does he do that?
He state that we could be champions if we had training facilities that may give us three extra points.
Had he played to win instead of the draw he would of had more of a chance of beating some teams when instead we lost. They were things he could deal with in the here and now, that is what we paid him to do.
His talk of three points and winning and what could of been.
If his point was just about training facilities, it wouldn't have mentioned what could of beens. The fact he mentions it, changes things. Again where is he critical of himself? Why has his poor choices not come up in this peice? They were the things he should deal with ass a professional manager.
Thank you someone who knows where I'm coming from. Dealing with what is thereQuote:
Originally Posted by niamh
Thank you someone who knows where I'm coming from. Dealing with what is there has not come up from him.Quote:
Originally Posted by niamh
I can see where you're coming from, but what'd be the point? "We didn't win the league because I made too few subs at crucial stages" or whatever. So what? What's saying that publicly going to achieve? Whereas having a go at the facilities might provoke some action.Quote:
I'm sure he is looking at his own shortcomings as well, but there's nothing to be gained by opening your soul to the media surely?
My point is and always has been that that was a soundbite, something that had nothing to do with the preformance of the team last year. He knew when he signed his contract thats the way it was, his comments can be taken as if we had training facilities we may have won the el, if he puts this into the public domain well then comment will follow.Quote:
All he did was deflect attention away from the fact the a lot more then three points were dropped because of bad decissions, that has nothing to do with training facilities. To say things could of been different was a very poor comment to make because it leaves open the idea that if Lenox had the facilities in place it could of been the difference of 3 points. We knew they wouldn't be so why pass the comment?
Exactly .... i mean ... if you cant say this in the off season, when is the best time to say it ... seriously, we could all turn around at any time of the year and say he is being opportunistic.Quote:
Is it not better that he says it now and highlights the problem ?
Do you think that the training facilities should be addressed at all ?
Quote:
Dricky ... Niamh will be the first to admit she was never a fan of Dolans, she has a reasoned opinion and makes her point very well, but there is no getting away from it, (i hope you dont mind me saying it Niamh) ... she will never be heard singing his praises from high heaven.
And i've never heard you come out straight saying the same, infact (and dont get me wrong, you are entitled to your opinion, i am not suggesting that at all) i would of had both of you down as non pro-Dolan fans (i am not saying you are anti-Dolan, just saying that you'd both never sing his praises)
And with that ..... i'd read between the lines of both your posts. Sorry ... i dont mean to judge, but i ... well, err ....ahhmm ... i judge.
Never have I claimed to be a Dolan Fan but I have always said he is entitled to a chance but when he comes out with rubbish like "could it be three points" it smacks of Dolan all over, soundbites, nothing of substance in that statement. it is hearsay and that is one of the reason I don't think he is the pro manager to take Cork City where they should be going but then he has done enough to keep his job.Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
That soundbite is a Patdolanisim, he has said it so next season that quote is in everyones mind, the shortcomming last year were not down to trainning facilities as we didn't have them he knew that then. Had he come out with training facilities may be worth three points and save the club €150,000 in rental, then the comment would of been for a good reason and have some worth.
What I want to know is what was the point to his comment, if he throws that comment in, well he then needs to question where else the other points were not gained, that big finger is pointing at him as he is the manager. When he signed up he knew this
Should we have won the el last year, no we were not good enough I don't think many will disagree about that.
So what is the point in the sh:te of "could it of been worth three points"
We are more than three points off Shels. coulds ifs buts don't win points.
SHut up and do the job first, comment after. Now I ain't asking for a Guntherisation but deal with the hear and now that is what he signed up for.
Come out with "could it be worth three points?" Your the bloody manager you should know if it is or not..... stop the if and could.
Plenty of Pats fans would see his quote and laugh, laugh so hard that they'ed need a change.
We didn't win because we weren't registered, now that is an excuse and one that has a truth to it. (instead he went on a crusade of we won we won, here a medal we made for you)
One of Pats strengths is how he can handle press and fans. He knows what the fans want to hear.
Our weekness is we print what he says in full.
and see things in what he said that aren't there.Quote:
You still haven't pointed out where Dolan said that the training facilities were the reason City did not win the league last season.
Lads, ye are going around in circles.