I thought Flynn was joking with every answer he gave in that interview, I don't think it's our young players that are the problem, they should adapt and get better as the season goes on
Printable View
I thought Flynn was joking with every answer he gave in that interview, I don't think it's our young players that are the problem, they should adapt and get better as the season goes on
He was but I'm sure he was serious with that answer. From seeing Ben Mohammed play there's a bit of class about him and both he and Simon came to us with people within UCD saying they both had talent. I'm sure if Flynner was joking with that question he would of said himself or Conor Powell!!
Didn't maker Dayler due to other commitments, but it's ridiculous to be writing anyone (including the manager) off this soon into the season imo. We've had a decent start, with some decent performances from what I have seen. Even this whole Kevin O'Connor/ Set up debate is a bit OTT for me - he was my Town man of the match against Pats (not for the goal particularly), in that set up. He wasn't the weak link in the midfield anyway.
I'd have more concerns (and only concerns at this stage for the fact players are only adjusting to the higher level) about much more established players than teenagers with a few minutes under their belts for us. Give them a feckin chance!
It's been a satisfactory start to the season for me anyway. If you think back to how virtually the same starting 11 was totally outclassed away to Rovers in the cup last season, I'm impressed with how we've adjusted. Given the way Bray have picked up, it could be a dog fight yet, but we're hardly doing an Athlone on it. It's too early for this head wrecking negativity already.
Hunt isn't an issue. He was fine the other night. Yes he may have come for the second but it was fifty fifty.
Powell wasn't as bad as you like to believe and if you want someone to look at it would be Willie Tyrrell. He was shocking on Friday night and he'd want to take a good look at himself.
It is completely clear that Ben Mohammed and Simon were fantastic signings. Ben Mohammed is a class act and Simon is getting there. It was Simon that created Sully's chance in the second half. The lad he came on for was at **** all anyway.
For me, it has been a very long time since I left a game as disgusted as I was on Friday. A lot of passengers in that game. Very few can hold their heads up. Ben Mohammed was the man of the match on Friday last and will be a big player for us. I watched him a couple of times last year for UCD and he has improved a lot since.
Agree with you on Tyrell, his performance against pats was a total contrast to Friday night just like the rest of the team. I think the negativity on here is as a result of like you said Friday night being such a flat and disappointing performance and all we can hope is that there isn't too many more displays like that this season becuase up until then we have done well.
Penalty!!
Kalem Simon isnt up to this level at all! the only reason hes getting a go atall is due to the fact pender left!
I think it's still a case of teams underestimating Bohs. Their direct approach is tough to play against and they have the required experience to see out results.
Ben Mohammed is a great signing for ye and I expect bigger and better things from him this year btw.
The people that are saying that Kaleem Simon isn't up to this level are clowns. He hasn't played a full PD game for us yet. And he is 19. Get a grip.